$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

JW Marriott Houston

4 stars
5150 Westheimer Road, 5150 Westheimer Road, Houston, TX 77056
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
66 reviews
Perfect for two

Clean, courteous, maid did fantastic job. Would definitely go back again. See full review

  • Zoomzoom123
  • Mar 26, 2013
One of my favorite JW's!

Wonderful staff! Very friendly and professional.Awesome appetizers/food for Marriott Award... See full review

  • Hawk7458
  • Jun 3, 2014
The JW Marriott Hotel Houston's modern design features bold color choices throughout the building, emphasizing the hotel's distinctive architectural details. Meet and mingle with fellow guests in the vibrant lobby area or pick up a Chai tea or espresso in the on-site Starbucks. Rooms feature brilliant styling that showcases comfort in every detail - from plush down comforters to warm wood tones. This AAA Four Diamond property also boasts an indoor/outdoor pool, plus weight and cardiovascular training equipment for guests who wish to work up a sweat in the fitness room.
Key facts
  • 489 guestrooms and 26 suites
  • Indoor and outdoor pool/whirlpool
  • Express video checkout
  • Fitness center
  • 25 meeting rooms
  • Free Wi-Fi in public areas
  • AAA Four Diamond Hotel
  • Starbucks
  • Restaurants: South Coast Grill and Destino
Neighborhood
A shopper's paradise can be found in this part of Houston, as guests will discover The Galleria Mall right across the street. Set on Westheimer Road, this exciting destination features some of the top fashion brands in the world, as well as upscale and casual dining options that appease even the most discerning palette. Indulge your sweet tooth with a visit to The Cheesecake Factory, or head out for a tempting Houston steak. Lakewood Church can be reached in around 20 minutes by car, while a short stroll takes activity seekers to Memorial Park for jogging, cycling and golf.
Hints and tips
Continental breakfast is served inside the South Coast Grill, where you can enjoy omelets tailored to taste, plus cereals, fresh fruit, waffles, pastries and meats.

Remember that Wi-Fi is only free in the lobby and other public areas, so try to limit computer access to these locations for savings during your stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott Houston also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.7411 -95.4662
Area served
The Galleria
Nearby airports
William P Hobby Airport, (HOU), 16.00, MI, NW; George Bush Intercontinental Airport, (IAH), 27.00, MI, SW;
Area description
Suburban, Location Type: Suburban

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Wall: 0.4 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 1 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 1.9 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.2 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 4.1 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 4.1 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.7 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 4.7 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.7 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 4.8 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 4.9 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 4.9 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 5 mi
  • Water Wall: 0.4 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 1 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 1.9 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.2 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 4.1 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 4.1 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.7 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 4.7 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.7 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 4.8 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 4.9 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 4.9 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 5 mi
  • Hermann Park: 5 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 5 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 5.1 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5.2 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 5.8 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 6 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 6.2 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 6.2 mi
  • Jones Hall: 6.2 mi
  • Toyota Center: 6.3 mi
  • Market Square Park: 6.4 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 6.4 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 6.5 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 6.9 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 7.1 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 7.1 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 7.2 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 7.2 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 13.1 mi
  • Wortham Center: 15.3 mi

Dining

South Coast Grill
Start a day of Galleria shopping off right and enjoy our expansive breakfast buffet, fresh-made daily and featuring a delicious assortment of seasonal fruits and cereals as well as made-to-order omelets, waffles, plus breakfast meats, and pastries.
Destino
At our premier Houston Galleria restaurant, chef Robbin Murphy has partnered with local food artisans, organic farmers and sustainable fisheries to deliver authentic regional Texas cuisine with a fresh twist. Open for lunch and dinner.
Starbucks®
Perk up your day with all your favorite coffees, chai teas, cappuccinos, pastries and more!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Houston

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 66
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kat de B
Yucatan,, Mexico
Aug 14, 2013

No Wifi in the rooms!

JW Marriot is in a great location, is beautifully decorated and I love all the big soft pillows and the cozy beds! The problem with this hotel is that they do not offer free wireless in the rooms, we had to go to the lobby and if you have a car they charge you to use their parking lot!!!! Unacceptable in a four star hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are looking for a fast bite to eat, try Jason's deli on Westheimer. . . GREAT!!!!!

Review of JW Marriott Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Calliegirl25
Houston
Jul 31, 2013

Nice Stay

We enjoyed our overnight stay. Room was clean and had some nice amenities. Hotel was nice and had an interesting pool area. Work out room was amazing. Top notch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Calliegirl25
Houston
Jul 23, 2013

Overnight Stay

The hotel was very nice and was very clean. I didn't notice a mold/mildew smell like I frequently do in hotels. We really enjoyed our stay. The proximity to the Galleria mall was nice so that we could run over for dinner without having to fight the traffic (which is horrible, especially on Friday evenings in the rain). The only thing I thought was odd was the pool. The pool/hot tub/exercise facility area were all very nice and very clean for the most part. The pool, however, had this weird (cheap?) vinyl lining-almost like they rolled it off a roll of flooring. It was textured and there was algae built up on the ridges and in the crevices by the stairs. The covering on the top step was bulging and bubbling, I can easily see someone tripping. Also, the indoor/outdoor pool was cool, but the flap blocking the airflow from the outside in was kind of ghetto looking for this hotel. Overall, we had a great stay, the hotel was quiet and clean. We would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zoomzoom123
Ft lauderdale
Mar 26, 2013

Perfect for two

Clean, courteous, maid did fantastic job. Would definitely go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of JW Marriott Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Abbeyarden
Dayton, TX
Nov 5, 2012

Birthday getaway

My husband and I stayed at the JW Marriott for one night. It was a quick trip but we definitely enjoyed our stay. The staff was very friendly and welcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Galleria is within walking distance, which is awesome.

Review of JW Marriott Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cam baby
Memphis, TN, USA
Apr 19, 2012

Great Hotel

The hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff was helpful and friendly. The only drawback is that I did know that I had to pay for parking. $30 for valet and $20 for self parking per day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Check out the boardwalks at Galveston or Kemah.

Review of JW Marriott Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveler from Mexico
León de Los Aldama, GTO, México
Nov 15, 2011

Great Price, Excellent Location

Just across the street from the Galleria. Staff is very friendly and rooms are modern and spacious. I had a great time during my stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of JW Marriott Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DanTina
Woodbridge, VA
Jun 1, 2011

Mostly excellent

We travel once or twice per year to Houston, and this was our second time staying at the JW Marriott, across from the Galleria. The staff were friendly and attentive. We enjoyed the techno lounge setting, though paying over $11.00 for one cosmo was a bit high. Our room was nice, but we did have to call about a bad smell from the sink. We do like the JW Marriott, its location, and what it has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try "Bayou City" restaurant on Richmond Ave, and just a short drive from the Galleria area. Did you know Houston is a bayou city? Excellent crawfish and bread pudding. Mostly locals dine here as its off the beaten path for most tourists.

Review of JW Marriott Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DanTina
Woodbridge, VA
Jun 1, 2011

Mostly excellent

We travel once or twice per year to Houston, and this was our second time staying at the JW Marriott, across from the Galleria. The staff were friendly and attentive. We enjoyed the techno lounge setting, though paying over $11.00 for one cosmo was a bit high. Our room was nice, but we did have to call about a bad smell from the sink. We do like the JW Marriott, its location, and what it has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try "Bayou City" restaurant on Richmond Ave, and just a short drive from the Galleria area. Did you know Houston is a bayou city? Excellent crawfish and bread pudding. Mostly locals dine here as its off the beaten path for most tourists.

Review of JW Marriott Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
acs
DF
Mar 23, 2011

Excellent location

Excellent location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top