$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

JW Marriott Houston

4 stars
5150 Westheimer Road, 5150 Westheimer Road, Houston, TX 77056
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
66 reviews
Perfect for two

Clean, courteous, maid did fantastic job. Would definitely go back again. See full review

  • Zoomzoom123
  • Mar 26, 2013
One of my favorite JW's!

Wonderful staff! Very friendly and professional.Awesome appetizers/food for Marriott Award... See full review

  • Hawk7458
  • Jun 3, 2014
The JW Marriott Hotel Houston's modern design features bold color choices throughout the building, emphasizing the hotel's distinctive architectural details. Meet and mingle with fellow guests in the vibrant lobby area or pick up a Chai tea or espresso in the on-site Starbucks. Rooms feature brilliant styling that showcases comfort in every detail - from plush down comforters to warm wood tones. This AAA Four Diamond property also boasts an indoor/outdoor pool, plus weight and cardiovascular training equipment for guests who wish to work up a sweat in the fitness room.
Key facts
  • 489 guestrooms and 26 suites
  • Indoor and outdoor pool/whirlpool
  • Express video checkout
  • Fitness center
  • 25 meeting rooms
  • Free Wi-Fi in public areas
  • AAA Four Diamond Hotel
  • Starbucks
  • Restaurants: South Coast Grill and Destino
Neighborhood
A shopper's paradise can be found in this part of Houston, as guests will discover The Galleria Mall right across the street. Set on Westheimer Road, this exciting destination features some of the top fashion brands in the world, as well as upscale and casual dining options that appease even the most discerning palette. Indulge your sweet tooth with a visit to The Cheesecake Factory, or head out for a tempting Houston steak. Lakewood Church can be reached in around 20 minutes by car, while a short stroll takes activity seekers to Memorial Park for jogging, cycling and golf.
Hints and tips
Continental breakfast is served inside the South Coast Grill, where you can enjoy omelets tailored to taste, plus cereals, fresh fruit, waffles, pastries and meats.

Remember that Wi-Fi is only free in the lobby and other public areas, so try to limit computer access to these locations for savings during your stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott Houston also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.7411 -95.4662
Area served
The Galleria
Nearby airports
William P Hobby Airport, (HOU), 16.00, MI, NW; George Bush Intercontinental Airport, (IAH), 27.00, MI, SW;
Area description
Suburban, Location Type: Suburban

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Wall: 0.4 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 1 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 1.9 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.2 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 4.1 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 4.1 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.7 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 4.7 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.7 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 4.8 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 4.9 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 4.9 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 5 mi
  • Water Wall: 0.4 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 1 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 1.9 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.2 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 4.1 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 4.1 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.7 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 4.7 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.7 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 4.8 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 4.9 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 4.9 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 5 mi
  • Hermann Park: 5 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 5 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 5.1 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5.2 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 5.8 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 6 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 6.2 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 6.2 mi
  • Jones Hall: 6.2 mi
  • Toyota Center: 6.3 mi
  • Market Square Park: 6.4 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 6.4 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 6.5 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 6.9 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 7.1 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 7.1 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 7.2 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 7.2 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 13.1 mi
  • Wortham Center: 15.3 mi

Dining

South Coast Grill
Start a day of Galleria shopping off right and enjoy our expansive breakfast buffet, fresh-made daily and featuring a delicious assortment of seasonal fruits and cereals as well as made-to-order omelets, waffles, plus breakfast meats, and pastries.
Destino
At our premier Houston Galleria restaurant, chef Robbin Murphy has partnered with local food artisans, organic farmers and sustainable fisheries to deliver authentic regional Texas cuisine with a fresh twist. Open for lunch and dinner.
Starbucks®
Perk up your day with all your favorite coffees, chai teas, cappuccinos, pastries and more!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Houston

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Houston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 20, 2008

My review of JW Marriott Hotel Houston

Our stay at the JW Marriott was pretty average. The first thing that struck us was the intensive perfume smell in the lobby. We were there for 4 days and it never let up. We lost power in the hotel on the 2nd day and the clocks were never reset in the room. We were on the 13th floor and we had ants in the room. The staff offered to move us...which was nice, but nothing was ever corrected. We had the valet parking option and had pretty good service. We had to wait a while for the car a couple of times, but all in all the valet service was friendly. The hotel staff-front desk- were also friendly. When we arrived there were room service items on the floor outside of our door. It was there for several hours before it was removed. Housekeeping was also blocking the room entry. Not the best way to negotiate all of our bags, a handicapped person and a toddler. Also, no assistance was available for baggage. Very difficult upon arrival and departure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Galleria is directly accross the street.

Review of JW Marriott Houston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 20, 2008

My review of JW Marriott Hotel Houston

Our stay at the JW Marriott was pretty average. The first thing that struck us was the intensive perfume smell in the lobby. We were there for 4 days and it never let up. We lost power in the hotel on the 2nd day and the clocks were never reset in the room. We were on the 13th floor and we had ants in the room. The staff offered to move us...which was nice, but nothing was ever corrected. We had the valet parking option and had pretty good service. We had to wait a while for the car a couple of times, but all in all the valet service was friendly. The hotel staff-front desk- were also friendly. When we arrived there were room service items on the floor outside of our door. It was there for several hours before it was removed. Housekeeping was also blocking the room entry. Not the best way to negotiate all of our bags, a handicapped person and a toddler. Also, no assistance was available for baggage. Very difficult upon arrival and departure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Galleria is directly accross the street.

Review of JW Marriott Houston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
713babe
miami,florida
Jan 9, 2012

713babe

No mini fridge in room. Hard mattress. Self park NOT FREE. The good stuff: clean and great location. But I wouldn't stay here again b/c I thought if I paid more I would be happier but I wasn't so I wouldn't recommend. : (

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of JW Marriott Houston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Girl from ny
houston texas
Sep 3, 2012

for the name it should be better.

I recently went there for a wedding and honestly for the price i was paying the hotel stay wasnt that great. The towels in the bathroom wasn't washed properly. when i went to wipe the detergant was still on the towel. I had to take another shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The galleria mall was great its just across the street.

Review of JW Marriott Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas Texas
Oct 18, 2010

JW Marriott In Houston

The hotel was fine. Nothing too extraordinary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It's very close to the Houston Galleria.

Review of JW Marriott Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kat de B
Yucatan,, Mexico
Aug 14, 2013

No Wifi in the rooms!

JW Marriot is in a great location, is beautifully decorated and I love all the big soft pillows and the cozy beds! The problem with this hotel is that they do not offer free wireless in the rooms, we had to go to the lobby and if you have a car they charge you to use their parking lot!!!! Unacceptable in a four star hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are looking for a fast bite to eat, try Jason's deli on Westheimer. . . GREAT!!!!!

Review of JW Marriott Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Feb 7, 2011

Good value

Great fitness center and fitness amenities including basketball, racquetball court and swimming. Lobby was very nice. Location was great. Staff was friendly. Hotel rooms were below-average for a JW Marriott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Houston Galleria was adjacent.

Review of JW Marriott Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Feb 7, 2011

Good value

Great fitness center and fitness amenities including basketball, racquetball court and swimming. Lobby was very nice. Location was great. Staff was friendly. Hotel rooms were below-average for a JW Marriott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Houston Galleria was adjacent.

Review of JW Marriott Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas Texas
Oct 18, 2010

JW Marriott In Houston

The hotel was fine. Nothing too extraordinary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It's very close to the Houston Galleria.

Review of JW Marriott Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MonaMonster
Tampico, Mexico
Jan 1, 2011

Comfy hotel experience

My husband and I stayed there for several days after christmas for a vacation, and the hotel was more than what we expected: it was clean, they gave an excellent service, they had beautiful comfy rooms, a Flat TV, and a useful safe box. We were lucky to have a great view of the city. The only "but" is that they charge you an extra daily rate for parking your car there, I think this service should be included in your room fee. Other than that everything was great, we would definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel was in front of the Galleria Mall, a walking distance. Excellent for shopping!

Back to menu Return to top