$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 11, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

JW Marriott Houston

4 stars
5150 Westheimer Road, 5150 Westheimer Road, Houston, TX 77056
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
66 reviews
Perfect for two

Clean, courteous, maid did fantastic job. Would definitely go back again. See full review

  • Zoomzoom123
  • Mar 26, 2013
One of my favorite JW's!

Wonderful staff! Very friendly and professional.Awesome appetizers/food for Marriott Award... See full review

  • Hawk7458
  • Jun 3, 2014
The JW Marriott Hotel Houston's modern design features bold color choices throughout the building, emphasizing the hotel's distinctive architectural details. Meet and mingle with fellow guests in the vibrant lobby area or pick up a Chai tea or espresso in the on-site Starbucks. Rooms feature brilliant styling that showcases comfort in every detail - from plush down comforters to warm wood tones. This AAA Four Diamond property also boasts an indoor/outdoor pool, plus weight and cardiovascular training equipment for guests who wish to work up a sweat in the fitness room.
Key facts
  • 489 guestrooms and 26 suites
  • Indoor and outdoor pool/whirlpool
  • Express video checkout
  • Fitness center
  • 25 meeting rooms
  • Free Wi-Fi in public areas
  • AAA Four Diamond Hotel
  • Starbucks
  • Restaurants: South Coast Grill and Destino
Neighborhood
A shopper's paradise can be found in this part of Houston, as guests will discover The Galleria Mall right across the street. Set on Westheimer Road, this exciting destination features some of the top fashion brands in the world, as well as upscale and casual dining options that appease even the most discerning palette. Indulge your sweet tooth with a visit to The Cheesecake Factory, or head out for a tempting Houston steak. Lakewood Church can be reached in around 20 minutes by car, while a short stroll takes activity seekers to Memorial Park for jogging, cycling and golf.
Hints and tips
Continental breakfast is served inside the South Coast Grill, where you can enjoy omelets tailored to taste, plus cereals, fresh fruit, waffles, pastries and meats.

Remember that Wi-Fi is only free in the lobby and other public areas, so try to limit computer access to these locations for savings during your stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.7411 -95.4662
Area served
The Galleria
Nearby airports
William P Hobby Airport, (HOU), 16.00, MI, NW; George Bush Intercontinental Airport, (IAH), 27.00, MI, SW;
Area description
Suburban, Location Type: Suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott Houston also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Wall: 0.4 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 1 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 1.9 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.2 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 4.1 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 4.1 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.7 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 4.7 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.7 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 4.8 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 4.9 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 4.9 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 5 mi
  • Water Wall: 0.4 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 1 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 1.9 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.2 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 4.1 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 4.1 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.7 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 4.7 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.7 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 4.8 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 4.9 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 4.9 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 5 mi
  • Hermann Park: 5 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 5 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 5.1 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5.2 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 5.8 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 6 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 6.2 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 6.2 mi
  • Jones Hall: 6.2 mi
  • Toyota Center: 6.3 mi
  • Market Square Park: 6.4 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 6.4 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 6.5 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 6.9 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 7.1 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 7.1 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 7.2 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 7.2 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 13.1 mi
  • Wortham Center: 15.3 mi

Dining

South Coast Grill
Start a day of Galleria shopping off right and enjoy our expansive breakfast buffet, fresh-made daily and featuring a delicious assortment of seasonal fruits and cereals as well as made-to-order omelets, waffles, plus breakfast meats, and pastries.
Destino
At our premier Houston Galleria restaurant, chef Robbin Murphy has partnered with local food artisans, organic farmers and sustainable fisheries to deliver authentic regional Texas cuisine with a fresh twist. Open for lunch and dinner.
Starbucks®
Perk up your day with all your favorite coffees, chai teas, cappuccinos, pastries and more!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Houston

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Plano, TX
Mar 28, 2010

J W Marriott

Was excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of JW Marriott Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lunar
Providence, RI, USA
Apr 16, 2012

Great hotel

I have been coming to houston for 3 days a month since January. Usually, I use a travel site for the best deal and this time it was the JW. I would stay here regardless. Very friendly staff, clean and comfortable room, great exercise room and very reasonable parking. Five big stars!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Galleria is across the street with every store imaginable

Review of JW Marriott Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MonaMonster
Tampico, Mexico
Jan 1, 2011

Comfy hotel experience

My husband and I stayed there for several days after christmas for a vacation, and the hotel was more than what we expected: it was clean, they gave an excellent service, they had beautiful comfy rooms, a Flat TV, and a useful safe box. We were lucky to have a great view of the city. The only "but" is that they charge you an extra daily rate for parking your car there, I think this service should be included in your room fee. Other than that everything was great, we would definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel was in front of the Galleria Mall, a walking distance. Excellent for shopping!

Review of JW Marriott Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shviguer
México
Sep 20, 2011

great location, comfortable stay, very nice people

I enjoyed the stay, i would come back. just the bathrooms are a bit small with a little remodeling it would be perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

if you are going shopping the galleria is across the street

Review of JW Marriott Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
oldsmar
Jun 22, 2010

impressive

this was a first class hotel located steps from the Galleria, Houston's premier shopping area. Staff was helpful, rooms very quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of JW Marriott Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Calliegirl25
Houston
Jul 31, 2013

Nice Stay

We enjoyed our overnight stay. Room was clean and had some nice amenities. Hotel was nice and had an interesting pool area. Work out room was amazing. Top notch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Der Jerry
Mexico
Feb 17, 2014

Great location

It is a great location, they are plenty of stores around and restaurants. The Galleria is just in front of the hotel so no need to take the car. The hotel is old, I´ved expected a little more luxorious but it is worth it. The breakfast is great and it is included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Galleria Mall is just in front of the street.

Review of JW Marriott Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cam baby
Memphis, TN, USA
Apr 19, 2012

Great Hotel

The hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff was helpful and friendly. The only drawback is that I did know that I had to pay for parking. $30 for valet and $20 for self parking per day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Check out the boardwalks at Galveston or Kemah.

Review of JW Marriott Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mother of the model
Business
houston
Aug 25, 2010

modeling trip

the pool was smaller than we thought but very relaxing and quiet (no kids yelling)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

great shopping right across the street

Review of JW Marriott Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Calliegirl25
Houston
Jul 23, 2013

Overnight Stay

The hotel was very nice and was very clean. I didn't notice a mold/mildew smell like I frequently do in hotels. We really enjoyed our stay. The proximity to the Galleria mall was nice so that we could run over for dinner without having to fight the traffic (which is horrible, especially on Friday evenings in the rain). The only thing I thought was odd was the pool. The pool/hot tub/exercise facility area were all very nice and very clean for the most part. The pool, however, had this weird (cheap?) vinyl lining-almost like they rolled it off a roll of flooring. It was textured and there was algae built up on the ridges and in the crevices by the stairs. The covering on the top step was bulging and bubbling, I can easily see someone tripping. Also, the indoor/outdoor pool was cool, but the flap blocking the airflow from the outside in was kind of ghetto looking for this hotel. Overall, we had a great stay, the hotel was quiet and clean. We would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top