$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Hyatt Regency Houston

4 stars
1200 Louisiana St, HOUSTON, TX 77002
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
85 reviews
As good as it gets!

This is my second time staying at the Hyatt Regency in downtown Houston and it was amazing! The... See full review

  • Franklin G
  • Sep 12, 2014
LSU Grand!

Great staff, great bar, great room, great restaurant and great value. Easy walk to the tram. Went... See full review

  • Tompy45
  • Sep 1, 2014

When you first walk in, be sure to step back and take in the beautiful atrium at the Hyatt Regency Houston, which stretches 30 stories up. This is a great spot to sit back and quench your thirst with a quick drink inside the LobbiBar, before making your way to your room. Accommodations range from the Standard to Business Plan-designed with features for a productive stay away from the office-plus the top floor suite, where guests can absorb themselves in city views, listen to their vacation tracks on the iPod home stereo system, and have a soak in the deluxe marble bath. The heated outdoor pool deck has seats for sunbathing, and the restaurants offer selections for the discerning palate, from juicy steaks to Spindletop's Signature Paella. Luxury tops the agenda at this AAA four diamond hotel in Houston.

Key facts
  • 947 guestrooms
  • Over 70,000-square-feet of function space
  • All rooms come with Grand Beds
  • Audio checkout available
  • Daily newspaper
  • Spindletop - revolving rooftop dining
  • Shula's Steakhouse - available for breakfast, lunch or dinner
  • In-room dining available
  • Heated outdoor swimming pool
  • Sundeck along the 6th floor pool
  • Gym open 24 hours
Neighborhood
Set in downtown, the hotel is just three blocks from the Houston Pavilion, musical entertainment at the House of Blues, and a variety of restaurants and shopping experiences. Stroll a little further to reach the renowned theater district for performances from the Houston Ballet, the city symphony orchestra, musical theater and more. Families can head to the Downtown Aquarium to get closer to stingrays, turtles and sharks in a safe environment, while a round of golf can be arranged through the hotel concierge.
Hints and tips
Visiting the city for a special occasion? Celebrate with fine dining inside the Hyatt's revolving rooftop restaurant, Spindletop. Its glass walls make you feel as if you are literally floating above the city streets, gazing out on a different view every 45 minutes.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.7569 -95.3695
Nearby airports
William P. Hobby Airport, (HOU), 12.00, MI, N; George Bush Intercontinental Airport, (IAH), 22.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt Regency Houston also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hyatt Regency Houston Rooms

Standard
ROH rooms have either one king bed or two double beds

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jogging track
Racquetball courts
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Sam Houston Park: 0.3 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.5 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.6 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.2 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.4 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.5 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.5 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 2.5 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.5 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.3 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.5 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.6 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.2 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.4 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.5 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.5 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 2.5 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.5 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.6 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 2.7 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.1 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 3.1 mi
  • Hermann Park: 3.1 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.5 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.7 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 5 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5.3 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 5.5 mi
  • Water Wall: 5.7 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 6.9 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 12.4 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 12.8 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.4 mi
  • Wortham Center: 18.5 mi

Dining

Einstein Bros Bagels and More
Einstein Bros Bagels and More offers all you need to satisfy your appetite, including savory soups and salads, flavorful deli sandwiches, fresh bagels, homemade pastries and of course, a delicious selection of your favorite coffee beverages. It???s the pe
Spindletop
Spindletop revolving restaurant, seafood restaurant and fine dining experience, ideal for special occasion. Menu features American seafood with a southwest flair. Einstein Bros Bagels and more, perfect for a grab and go bite or a late night snack. Soup

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Regency Houston

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 85
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Regency Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Danielle Hebert
Business
Lafayette, LA
Jul 6, 2011

Horrible Experience

My family and I went for the Astros vs Red Sox game last weekend and had a horrible experience here. When we arrived Friday night, we went to the bar to get a beer but when I grabbed an orange the bartender came and slammed the lid closed. Then the Sat night after the game (around 9:15), my daughter wanted something to eat so we asked the clerk but she had no suggestions besides delivery pizza. I then noticed that there were 3 families with children sitting in the bar area so I asked the waitress if we could eat in there - she said sure. I was waiting on my bf so once he came back to meet me I started to walk into the area and was stopped by another waitress that told me that we couldn't sit in there with a child. I told her that the other waitress said it was fine and then I asked why were other children allowed. She said it was b/c they were here at dinner time!! It was 9:15 and there wasn't anything but drinks and nuts on their table! So I continued walking in and she told me that I couldn't sit at the bar with my daughter! Really?! and why not? Joking! Come on woman! As if that would ever have crossed my mind!!! We were supposed to stay Fri and Sat night but left at 10:30 Sat night and drove thru the night just to get away from this place!!! Not a very knowledgeable staff with their surroundings. Not many of them had suggestions of places to eat with children!! So people in Houston don't go to dinner with their children? I will NEVER stay at this location again to be treated disrepectful by someone who couldn't even speak proper English!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown Aquarium was a great place for kids!!! We had a great time :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
iolie45
Business
St Louis, MO
Feb 11, 2008

extreme dissapointment

The hotel has 3 restaurants to eat at. BUT...the lunch restaurant is only open m-f. I understand it is in the downtown' area. But first and foremost;A restaurant in a hotel should be open 7 days a week. The primo rest- aurant is also closed 2 days a week...Several more unpleasantness regarding dining experience in 2 of 3,there. The GOOD thing I will say;The manager of lobby restaurant was notified of problems we had. Not only did she contact me immediately. She bent backward to fix things as best she could. Shocked,appauled at how little this hotel offered. For the very HIGH cost of staying there. Will never stay at ANT Hyatt,ANYWHERE again. Nor would I reccomend it to anyone. I expected MUCH better from such a long established chain. (I was a working Chef for 14 years. Worked at two hotels. Sooo let down and disqusted...) Very little information available for quests. When told restaurants were closed,etc. No sug- about nearby eateries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

awesome skyline view from room. Great workout facility in basement. At no cost.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DaGa
Business
plano TX
Sep 4, 2012

Good location

went with the kids for a weekend, hotel location was great, nice outdiir pool. the breakfast at Shula's was too crowded, waited realy long time in line, couldn't go again to take more food because of the long line of new people , never came back the next mornings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monterey, CA
Sep 28, 2009

Friendly staff

Easy check-out, nice check-in, room was clean, but you could hear outside noise. No free internet for non-business travelers (come on people!). My daughter thought the Fitness Center was just ok. I don't think we'd stay here again because there just didn't seem to be anything that set this place apart.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PhillyJoe
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 20, 2012

Lovely room, excellent service

We were very happy with the hotel, its location and its services. Especially nice was the street-level self-park option, which let us come and go as we pleased after paying once. My only complaint is that on Saturday night, late, somewhere there were some rather raucous guests, whose enthusiasm for whatever they were doing was quite audible from within our room on the 9th floor. It was probably just someone in the lobby, but as all the rooms overlook the atrium, the noise was disturbing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Never been to Houston
Business
Austin, Tx
Sep 6, 2009

Hyatt Regency Houston

We walked over to a fantastic Indian food restaurant that the concergie told us about. We slept in! The room was one of the new ones and it was great. We never made it to the pool so I cannot comment on that. Our daughter loved the glass elevators. Everyone was friendly and helpful. No weird smells! Nice pillow choices too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk over to have a delicious Indian dinner at Yatra about 5-7 blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LindyStar
Business
Crawfordsville, IN
May 19, 2014

Great Price, Service and Cleanliness

This hotel had great service all around. The room was very nice and clean. All of the employees, from the front desk to valet parking, were very helpful. The price and location were great. It's within walking distance to almost everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Troyjer
Business
Albany, NY
Sep 8, 2009

Luxury at an affordable price.

The trip included attending 2 Astros baseball games at Minute Maid Park. It is accessible by walking and there are many parking options available around the ballpark. We like ease and accesible points within the hotel. Time was limited for the weekend, getting around entailed driving to locations up to 30 minutes away. Better pre planning would have made for productive time spent going to attractions like the Zoo and the NASA space center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Plan your options in advance of traveling outside the downtown area. Get as much driving info, hours open, days open, etc. Most downtown restaurants are only open weekdays.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kjones18
Business
Arlington,Tx
Apr 30, 2014

Very impressed!

I was searching for a great place for me&my family to stay&I must say I was definitely impressed!!! This hotel had a lot of space&i loved the view of my room. We had to valet&it was well worth it. My only complaint was the beds. I was expecting it to be queen size beds but instead they were full size beds. But other than that I loved my stay. I plan on going back there this summer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
God Almighty
Business
North Carolina
May 2, 2014

family visit

The driving up to check in was nice and smooth transaction for a valet service was great! The Hotel was so attractive in the lobby made it very pleasant when checking in. The hotel was very elegant and very clean. The restaurant Shula's was very impeccable and pretty appealing....and th4 FOOD was the BEST. My hotel room was very clean and very elegant.,..i love the einstein room service and also the guest services were fast and accommodating. Best hotel in town for price!!! I would stay @ this Hyatt again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Valet parking is the best and fast!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top