$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: May 30, 2015

Hyatt Regency Houston

4 stars
View map of 1200 Louisiana St, HOUSTON, TX 77002

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
93 reviews
1st visit to Houston

Absolutely beautiful hotel. It exceeded our expectations. We had a great experience on our first... See full review

  • Cynthia C.
  • Apr 21, 2015
As good as it gets!

This is my second time staying at the Hyatt Regency in downtown Houston and it was amazing! The... See full review

  • Franklin G
  • Sep 12, 2014

When you first walk in, be sure to step back and take in the beautiful atrium at the Hyatt Regency Houston, which stretches 30 stories up. This is a great spot to sit back and quench your thirst with a quick drink inside the LobbiBar, before making your way to your room. Accommodations range from the Standard to Business Plan-designed with features for a productive stay away from the office-plus the top floor suite, where guests can absorb themselves in city views, listen to their vacation tracks on the iPod home stereo system, and have a soak in the deluxe marble bath. The heated outdoor pool deck has seats for sunbathing, and the restaurants offer selections for the discerning palate, from juicy steaks to Spindletop's Signature Paella. Luxury tops the agenda at this AAA four diamond hotel in Houston.

Key facts
  • 947 guestrooms
  • Over 70,000-square-feet of function space
  • All rooms come with Grand Beds
  • Audio checkout available
  • Daily newspaper
  • Spindletop - revolving rooftop dining
  • Shula's Steakhouse - available for breakfast, lunch or dinner
  • In-room dining available
  • Heated outdoor swimming pool
  • Sundeck along the 6th floor pool
  • Gym open 24 hours
Neighborhood
Set in downtown, the hotel is just three blocks from the Houston Pavilion, musical entertainment at the House of Blues, and a variety of restaurants and shopping experiences. Stroll a little further to reach the renowned theater district for performances from the Houston Ballet, the city symphony orchestra, musical theater and more. Families can head to the Downtown Aquarium to get closer to stingrays, turtles and sharks in a safe environment, while a round of golf can be arranged through the hotel concierge.
Hints and tips
Visiting the city for a special occasion? Celebrate with fine dining inside the Hyatt's revolving rooftop restaurant, Spindletop. Its glass walls make you feel as if you are literally floating above the city streets, gazing out on a different view every 45 minutes.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt Regency Houston also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hyatt Regency Houston Rooms

Concierge
Description not provided
Deluxe
1 King or 2 Double beds
Standard
ROH rooms have either one king bed or two double beds

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jogging track
Racquetball courts
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Sam Houston Park: 0.3 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.5 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.6 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.2 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.4 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.5 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.5 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 2.5 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.5 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.3 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.5 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.6 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.2 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.4 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.5 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.5 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 2.5 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.5 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.6 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 2.7 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.1 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 3.1 mi
  • Hermann Park: 3.1 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.5 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.7 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 5 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5.3 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 5.5 mi
  • Water Wall: 5.7 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 6.9 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 12.4 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 12.8 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.4 mi
  • Wortham Center: 18.5 mi

Dining

Einstein Bros Bagels and More
Einstein Bros Bagels and More offers all you need to satisfy your appetite, including savory soups and salads, flavorful deli sandwiches, fresh bagels, homemade pastries and of course, a delicious selection of your favorite coffee beverages. It???s the perfect place to catch up on a report, or sit and re
Spindletop
Spindletop revolving restaurant, seafood restaurant and fine dining experience, ideal for special occasion. Menu features American seafood with a southwest flair. Einstein Bros Bagels and more, perfect for a grab and go bite or a late night snack. Soups, salads, bagels, pastries and much more to choos

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Regency Houston

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Regency Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
reivaxcire
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Sep 7, 2012

Small vacations away from work.

Everything in this place is great, if you don't have the money just don't risk it. Too many people complain about parking that's a huge whatever, Valet Parking was fast and reliable, Staff was very friendly... like i said as long as you have the money you'll have a blast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Danielle Hebert
Business
Lafayette, LA
Jul 6, 2011

Horrible Experience

My family and I went for the Astros vs Red Sox game last weekend and had a horrible experience here. When we arrived Friday night, we went to the bar to get a beer but when I grabbed an orange the bartender came and slammed the lid closed. Then the Sat night after the game (around 9:15), my daughter wanted something to eat so we asked the clerk but she had no suggestions besides delivery pizza. I then noticed that there were 3 families with children sitting in the bar area so I asked the waitress if we could eat in there - she said sure. I was waiting on my bf so once he came back to meet me I started to walk into the area and was stopped by another waitress that told me that we couldn't sit in there with a child. I told her that the other waitress said it was fine and then I asked why were other children allowed. She said it was b/c they were here at dinner time!! It was 9:15 and there wasn't anything but drinks and nuts on their table! So I continued walking in and she told me that I couldn't sit at the bar with my daughter! Really?! and why not? Joking! Come on woman! As if that would ever have crossed my mind!!! We were supposed to stay Fri and Sat night but left at 10:30 Sat night and drove thru the night just to get away from this place!!! Not a very knowledgeable staff with their surroundings. Not many of them had suggestions of places to eat with children!! So people in Houston don't go to dinner with their children? I will NEVER stay at this location again to be treated disrepectful by someone who couldn't even speak proper English!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown Aquarium was a great place for kids!!! We had a great time :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
iolie45
Business
St Louis, MO
Feb 11, 2008

extreme dissapointment

The hotel has 3 restaurants to eat at. BUT...the lunch restaurant is only open m-f. I understand it is in the downtown' area. But first and foremost;A restaurant in a hotel should be open 7 days a week. The primo rest- aurant is also closed 2 days a week...Several more unpleasantness regarding dining experience in 2 of 3,there. The GOOD thing I will say;The manager of lobby restaurant was notified of problems we had. Not only did she contact me immediately. She bent backward to fix things as best she could. Shocked,appauled at how little this hotel offered. For the very HIGH cost of staying there. Will never stay at ANT Hyatt,ANYWHERE again. Nor would I reccomend it to anyone. I expected MUCH better from such a long established chain. (I was a working Chef for 14 years. Worked at two hotels. Sooo let down and disqusted...) Very little information available for quests. When told restaurants were closed,etc. No sug- about nearby eateries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

awesome skyline view from room. Great workout facility in basement. At no cost.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gdunc
Business
Texas
Jul 6, 2009

awful

Could not stand the place. No service, no nothing except a long walk from the car to the room. Will never stay there again. Brown water out of the taps. Absolutely lousy. Ten bucks for a drink at a lousy bar. I've stayed at places for three months before and never had a reason to complain. This is definitely not one of those.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Houston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chayen
Business
Houston
Sep 9, 2013

Ok stay

For what it cost to stay you would think to give u free wifi. Nope! You have to pay ten dollats extra. What in the room cost 3.50 a bottle. The employees were super nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Houston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sko
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 31, 2009

Few services available

Lovely room recently updated, but no restaurant onsite and broken vending machine and ice machine on our floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Houston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denton, Texas
Dec 6, 2010

Texas Womens Conference

The hotel had the wrong reservation- wasnt the luxury I was expecting for the rate of pay. Room service stunk!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Houston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 5, 2008

Maybe I Expected Too Much?

I did not feel that the room we were given was a good value for the money. It was quite small, and very sparsely appointed. It looked as if there had been a table or some other piece of furniture in the room at some point, as there was a marked spot, maybe a foot square in size--carpet replacement?--right in the middle of the floor. Also, the bathroom was not entirely clean. The air conditioning unit did not function well, and we were uncomfortably warm throughout the night. Everything at this hotel seemed over-priced, from the $27 a day for hotel parking, to the $7 bottled water--the very same bottle of water that costs $1.19 at Kroger. There was a plate of fruit on the desk--but we were afraid to eat it for fear we'd be charged for it! On the plus side, we did very much enjoy dining at the hotel's revolving restaurant, Spindletop. Great food, fabulous views, attentive service--wonderful. My wife and I came to the hotel for a romantic night away from the kids. The dinner at Spindeltop was the best and most memorable part. The room and accomodations? Forgettable...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sigh
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 2, 2014

Clean and Comfortable

It was clean and comfortable but the TV won't let you change channels properly and the hotel food wasn't great...edible but I should have just ordered a pizza rather than try to order shrimp tacos (which the hotel recommended). Also, there was a convention happening so it was really, really loud, even though I was on the 10th floor, I could hear people down in the bar. I was also irked that parking was $30 and the internet was like $10 or $15 a day - much over priced for both.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
QueenB7380
Business
Detroit, MI
Jun 7, 2012

Pool disappointment.

Great location - front desk staff was very helpful and cordial. Pool was never sunny - blocked by the surrounding buildings. I chose this hotel because of the outdoor pool and never used it - over crowed by kids and no sunshine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jwater
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 7, 2012

Poor chose

They charge for services which be included in the room rate. They charge 9.95 for WIFI and $25 per day for parking. I won't stay in any Hyatt again. It was a not a place to remember.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top