Howard Johnson Houston

2 stars
View map of 2221 Greens Road, Houston, TX 77032

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
115 reviews
great family trip

Staff friendly. Great location. Great amount of distance between from my family nd friends. See full review

  • Kessa R.
  • Feb 24, 2015
Over all go stay.

The hotel was easy to find. Only minutes from airport. It was clean and manager very nice. I would... See full review

  • Brenda S.
  • Jul 4, 2015

Howard Johnson Houston offers new construction and comfortable rooms, less than five miles from George Bush Intercontinental Airport. Thanks to a location near major highways, the hotel is well situated for business and leisure travelers. Guests enjoy budget-friendly amenities such as free Wi-Fi in every guest room and a complimentary breakfast served in the hotel's cheerful, bright dining room.

Rooms

Howard Johnson Houston features rooms decorated in warm earth tones and dark wood accents. Every room offers a flat-screen TV, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, microwave and refrigerator. A work desk with ergonomic chair help business travelers get work done, and free Wi-Fi in every room lets guests stay in touch with friends, family and colleagues. Bathrooms are spacious and well-lit, with granite countertops and generously-sized mirrors.

Property features
Thanks to the hotel's location on a major highway, guests can easily and quickly get to many area attractions, including local Greens Point Mall, Houston Police Museum and downtown Houston.
Highlights
  • Close to George Bush Intercontinental Airport
  • Near major highways
  • Free Wi-Fi and complimentary breakfast
Nearby attractions
  • Houston Police Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Greens Point Mall (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Downtown Houston (13 mi/20.9 km)Minute Maid Park (18.4 mi/29.7 km)
  • Toyota Center (13.8 mi/22.3 km)
  • Houston museum district (18 mi/29 km) 
  • Reliant Stadium (18.6 mi/30 km)
Transportation
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Airport shuttle service (limited hours, fees apply)
  • Houston Hobby Airport (21.8 mi/35.1 km)

 

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Houston also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Houston Grand Opera: 13 mi
  • Market Square Park: 13 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 13.1 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 13.1 mi
  • Jones Hall: 13.2 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 13.3 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 13.3 mi
  • Beer Can House: 13.5 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 13.8 mi
  • Toyota Center: 13.8 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 13.9 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 14 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 15 mi
  • Wortham Center: 15.4 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 15.7 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 13 mi
  • Market Square Park: 13 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 13.1 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 13.1 mi
  • Jones Hall: 13.2 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 13.3 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 13.3 mi
  • Beer Can House: 13.5 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 13.8 mi
  • Toyota Center: 13.8 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 13.9 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 14 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 15 mi
  • Wortham Center: 15.4 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 15.7 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 15.7 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 15.7 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 15.7 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 15.7 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 15.9 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 15.9 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 15.9 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 16 mi
  • Water Wall: 16.1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 16.2 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 16.3 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 16.4 mi
  • Hermann Park: 16.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 16.5 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 16.6 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.5 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 18.2 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 18.5 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 18.7 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 20.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Houston

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 115
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.9

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VooVitti
Business
Chicago
Oct 20, 2014

don't do it

You have been warned! Very dirty. The WIFI sucks...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Room 116
Business
Houston, TX
Oct 4, 2014

Go to Days Inn

Never will i ever stay here again room to my room only to be greeted by a huge spider. Then once i got in my room I was then greeted by another falling from the ceiling in the bathroom. Tried to go to the car and was having trouble trying to close the door, went to the service counter to get a new room and the guy was giving me unnecessary And negative comments. The next room fridge didn't work and neither did the television. It was just horrible from the view shown on the Internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
suckerd
Business
Fayetteville NC
Aug 6, 2014

Family Reunion

this hotel is dirty i entered my room and the first thing i noticed was busted cabinet next to bed and dirty walls/door there was stains on the comforter the curtains where missing hooks and hanging down the safety latch on door was broke and the bottom weather seal was gone allowing bugs to enter with the 2 inch gap at the floor i had to put a towel in front of door to stop air and bugs, there where dead bugs under the table it also had busted light switch cover which is a hazard, in the bathroom the toilet seat was busted which i repaired so i could use it the floor was filthy the four days there they never changed the comforter nor was the bathroom cleaned and carpets never vacuumed also the microwave was all in Spanish as i don't know Spanish i had to press all buttons to figure out how to use it, i will Never set foot in a Howard Johnson again the picture advertised for that hotel must have been from when it was first built as it looks nothing like that, run down dump

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

there is nothing around this hotel except two run down gas stations all dinning is 15 miles away and neighbor hood is desolate

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Expat Engineer
Business
KSA
Jun 9, 2014

Convenient

Good economical stay if you need to stay close to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Next to gas station.

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
thip
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Mar 24, 2014

ok

Hotel is old for Howard Johnson, does not have a wow!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
hotel connissure
Business
Portland, Oregon
Jan 24, 2014

ok

It was ok for the price and clean, continental breakfast could be better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The metro system is a super money saver you can buy a day pass for $3

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wrthelena
Business
Montana
Feb 24, 2013

noisy night

I had to overnight in Houston so I chose this hotel because it is close to the airport and in expensive. Unfortunately my flight was delayed and I missed the last hotel shuttle (10 pm) so I had to pay $23 for a 3 mile ride. The hotel room Seemed okay, but it soon became apparent that there was no sound insulation. It was a very noisy night topped off by a guy revving his engine at 4:30 am. Wouldn't' stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
One Nighter from NJ
Business
Linden, New Jersey
Dec 15, 2012

One night stay

Needed a room for one night and the price was very good. Very close to the airport. There isn't much around the hotel besides a gas station and a food mart but there is always food delivery and the hotel supplies menus and complimentary breakfast. If you don't have a car, you can rely on taxis or the free shuttle to and from the airport. (You will need to call the hotel once you're at the airport and request that the shuttle pick you up.) The room was clean and comfortable but it was easy to hear what was going on outside my door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

If you need a place to stay for the United Inflight Training Information Session, the hotel provides a free shuttle to the interview place but does not offer a return shuttle. You will have to catch the free shuttle from the interview place to the airport and then call the hotel to shuttle you back to the hotel.

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jerly
Business
Puerto Rico
Aug 26, 2012

Is ok for the price

Very nice staff, is good for the price that you paid

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dee weekend traveler
Business
Mission, tx
Jul 16, 2012

Good value

Hotel was great for the price. It Was very clean, spacious, and comfortable. Except for the bed, it was a little hard. Hotels at this price usually don't include a fridge or microwave. So, that was definitely a plus. The staff was nice and helpful. The location wasn't too great, but I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top