Howard Johnson Houston

2 stars
2221 Greens Road, Houston, TX 77032
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
124 reviews
Awesome Family Trip

I love Haward Johnson Hotel. It's the best. I Always stay there and I hope you all could stay... See full review

  • Neneh Y.
  • Jan 6, 2015
Excellent

good care, clean rooms and excellent service. the location of the hotel is very good See full review

  • JReyes
  • Apr 28, 2014
Newly built, comfortable hotel close to major Houston airport

Howard Johnson Houston offers new construction and comfortable rooms, less than five miles from George Bush Intercontinental Airport. Thanks to a location near major highways, the hotel is well situated for business and leisure travelers. Guests enjoy budget-friendly amenities such as free Wi-Fi in every guest room and a complimentary breakfast served in the hotel's cheerful, bright dining room.

Highlights
  • Close to George Bush Intercontinental Airport
  • Near major highways
  • Free Wi-Fi and complimentary breakfast
Rooms

Howard Johnson Houston features rooms decorated in warm earth tones and dark wood accents. Every room offers a flat-screen TV, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, microwave and refrigerator. A work desk with ergonomic chair help business travelers get work done, and free Wi-Fi in every room lets guests stay in touch with friends, family and colleagues. Bathrooms are spacious and well-lit, with granite countertops and generously-sized mirrors.

Property features
Thanks to the hotel's location on a major highway, guests can easily and quickly get to many area attractions, including local Greens Point Mall, Houston Police Museum and downtown Houston.
Transportation
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Airport shuttle service (limited hours, fees apply)
  • Houston Hobby Airport (21.8 mi/35.1 km)

 
Nearby attractions
  • Houston Police Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Greens Point Mall (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Downtown Houston (13 mi/20.9 km)Minute Maid Park (18.4 mi/29.7 km)
  • Toyota Center (13.8 mi/22.3 km)
  • Houston museum district (18 mi/29 km) 
  • Reliant Stadium (18.6 mi/30 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Houston also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Houston Grand Opera: 13 mi
  • Market Square Park: 13 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 13.1 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 13.1 mi
  • Jones Hall: 13.2 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 13.3 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 13.3 mi
  • Beer Can House: 13.5 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 13.8 mi
  • Toyota Center: 13.8 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 13.9 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 14 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 15 mi
  • Wortham Center: 15.4 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 15.7 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 13 mi
  • Market Square Park: 13 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 13.1 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 13.1 mi
  • Jones Hall: 13.2 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 13.3 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 13.3 mi
  • Beer Can House: 13.5 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 13.8 mi
  • Toyota Center: 13.8 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 13.9 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 14 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 15 mi
  • Wortham Center: 15.4 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 15.7 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 15.7 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 15.7 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 15.7 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 15.7 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 15.9 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 15.9 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 15.9 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 16 mi
  • Water Wall: 16.1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 16.2 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 16.3 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 16.4 mi
  • Hermann Park: 16.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 16.5 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 16.6 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.5 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 18.2 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 18.5 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 18.7 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 20.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (124)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Houston

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
124 out of 124
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.7

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Neneh Y.
Business
Denton
Jan 6, 2015

Awesome Family Trip

I love Haward Johnson Hotel. It's the best. I Always stay there and I hope you all could stay there. It's safe, less expenses and good quality service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Keith D.
Business
Hays
Jan 5, 2015

It was OK

Web only stayed at the hotel because we had a layover. Wasn't a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Claudia V
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 20, 2014

Overnight Hotel Stay

I stayed in this hotel for one night while I had an overnight flight at IAH, it is a very convenient hotel since it is so close to the airport. But it is exactly that, only a place to stay a night for. Nothing special, not bad or good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tosha816
Business
Denver Colorado
Nov 6, 2014

howard johnson greens rd

I honestly didn't have a bad experience. The only thing is that there is nothing close besides 2 gas stations. I had to commute for food. But the shuttle picked me up from the airport within 20 mins. Not too bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VooVitti
Business
Chicago
Oct 20, 2014

don't do it

You have been warned! Very dirty. The WIFI sucks...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Room 116
Business
Houston, TX
Oct 4, 2014

Go to Days Inn

Never will i ever stay here again room to my room only to be greeted by a huge spider. Then once i got in my room I was then greeted by another falling from the ceiling in the bathroom. Tried to go to the car and was having trouble trying to close the door, went to the service counter to get a new room and the guy was giving me unnecessary And negative comments. The next room fridge didn't work and neither did the television. It was just horrible from the view shown on the Internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
yeah dawg
Business
Pittsburgh
Sep 25, 2014

Good Value

The Staff was very responsive with request from our family. Spacious room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DundyKVang
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 25, 2014

One Star Hotel for friendly staff

More disappointed with this travel website description of this hotel being newly renovated! There wasn't anything that worked properly. It was scary enough just traveling with a couple gf's for a weekend getaway, and we turn into something that looks like a run-down Motel! The Host was very nice though. Anyhow- we come in and the door hinge is broken- as if someone has already broke down the door- cabinets were all chipped, sink and tub handles were super wobbly- shower did not drain, white residue on iron, broken curtains... nothing close to what this travel website has described. I did not sleep this night as I was afraid of being bit by bed bugs or something breaking into our room! One star for the friendly staff- but I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone until this hotel is demolished and rebuilt! I don't understand how this well known hotel chain can fail so badly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Epearlyyy
Business
boulder, co
Aug 9, 2014

Near Airport

This is a fine hotel stay if you're on a budget. Average breakfast with little things to do nearby but it's perfect if you're catching a flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
suckerd
Business
Fayetteville NC
Aug 6, 2014

Family Reunion

this hotel is dirty i entered my room and the first thing i noticed was busted cabinet next to bed and dirty walls/door there was stains on the comforter the curtains where missing hooks and hanging down the safety latch on door was broke and the bottom weather seal was gone allowing bugs to enter with the 2 inch gap at the floor i had to put a towel in front of door to stop air and bugs, there where dead bugs under the table it also had busted light switch cover which is a hazard, in the bathroom the toilet seat was busted which i repaired so i could use it the floor was filthy the four days there they never changed the comforter nor was the bathroom cleaned and carpets never vacuumed also the microwave was all in Spanish as i don't know Spanish i had to press all buttons to figure out how to use it, i will Never set foot in a Howard Johnson again the picture advertised for that hotel must have been from when it was first built as it looks nothing like that, run down dump

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

there is nothing around this hotel except two run down gas stations all dinning is 15 miles away and neighbor hood is desolate

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top