$47 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2014 Check-out: Sep 28, 2014

Howard Johnson Houston

2 stars
2221 Greens Road, Houston, TX 77032
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
117 reviews
Excellent

good care, clean rooms and excellent service. the location of the hotel is very good See full review

  • JReyes
  • Apr 28, 2014
Near Airport

This is a fine hotel stay if you're on a budget. Average breakfast with little things to do nearby... See full review

  • Epearlyyy
  • Aug 9, 2014
Newly built, comfortable hotel close to major Houston airport

Howard Johnson Houston offers new construction and comfortable rooms, less than five miles from George Bush Intercontinental Airport. Thanks to a location near major highways, the hotel is well situated for business and leisure travelers. Guests enjoy budget-friendly amenities such as free Wi-Fi in every guest room and a complimentary breakfast served in the hotel's cheerful, bright dining room.

Highlights
  • Close to George Bush Intercontinental Airport
  • Near major highways
  • Free Wi-Fi and complimentary breakfast
Rooms

Howard Johnson Houston features rooms decorated in warm earth tones and dark wood accents. Every room offers a flat-screen TV, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, microwave and refrigerator. A work desk with ergonomic chair help business travelers get work done, and free Wi-Fi in every room lets guests stay in touch with friends, family and colleagues. Bathrooms are spacious and well-lit, with granite countertops and generously-sized mirrors.

Property features
Thanks to the hotel's location on a major highway, guests can easily and quickly get to many area attractions, including local Greens Point Mall, Houston Police Museum and downtown Houston.
Transportation
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Airport shuttle service (limited hours, fees apply)
  • Houston Hobby Airport (21.8 mi/35.1 km)

 
Nearby attractions
  • Houston Police Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Greens Point Mall (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Downtown Houston (13 mi/20.9 km)Minute Maid Park (18.4 mi/29.7 km)
  • Toyota Center (13.8 mi/22.3 km)
  • Houston museum district (18 mi/29 km) 
  • Reliant Stadium (18.6 mi/30 km)

Hotel Map

29.9512 -95.358
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Houston also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Houston Grand Opera: 13 mi
  • Market Square Park: 13 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 13.1 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 13.1 mi
  • Jones Hall: 13.2 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 13.3 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 13.3 mi
  • Beer Can House: 13.5 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 13.8 mi
  • Toyota Center: 13.8 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 13.9 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 14 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 15 mi
  • Wortham Center: 15.4 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 15.7 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 13 mi
  • Market Square Park: 13 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 13.1 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 13.1 mi
  • Jones Hall: 13.2 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 13.3 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 13.3 mi
  • Beer Can House: 13.5 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 13.8 mi
  • Toyota Center: 13.8 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 13.9 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 14 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 15 mi
  • Wortham Center: 15.4 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 15.7 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 15.7 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 15.7 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 15.7 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 15.7 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 15.9 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 15.9 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 15.9 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 16 mi
  • Water Wall: 16.1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 16.2 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 16.3 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 16.4 mi
  • Hermann Park: 16.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 16.5 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 16.6 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.5 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 18.2 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 18.5 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 18.7 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 20.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (117)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Houston

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 117
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
2.8
Value:
3.5

54% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mnpierce05
Houston tx
Aug 30, 2012

horrible

bad room bad location horrible stay...door wouldn't lock air wouldn't stay on couldn't sleep

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Not Applicable

chinese delivery ok

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Zarah
Dallas
Feb 24, 2014

Experience

It is not newly build. It is old motel. The picture shows on line is different but it is motel. not enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vlarr
Reno, NV
Apr 17, 2014

Can't believe Howard Johnson would give its name to this hotel

This is officially the 2nd worst b&b we've stayed at (yes- I found one even worse somewhere else). I booked a room with 2 queen beds, got a call 10 minutes later saying they don't have that room and they we'll get a king with a sofa. By the time we got there I got one queen and a tiny sofa. If I wouldn't have been so tired I would've found a different hotel right there. I don't know what it was but there was a sound of water coming on and off about every 5 minutes all night long. That was one of the reasons I couldn't sleep. No blankets were provided, only one top sheet. Froze all night and was too tired to find the heater. The towels provided were the smallest towels I've ever seen. I couldn't even wrap myself In one, and I'm a small girl. There were power outlets without socket covers- sort of dangerous. No where to charge my phone except for on the bathroom, but had to set my alarm so the bathroom was a bit far for that, I was barely able to hear it. Oh- the bathroom door wouldn't stay shut. We actually had to put something behind the door so it'd shut- which meant: I want in the bathroom and my husband had to put something and then remove it so I could get out. Pretty bad. I know the price was cheap and I was looking for something like a b&b just for that one night before flying out and by seeing Howard Johnson I though it'd be semi ok but noooooo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Swilkins
Monroe, LA, USA
Mar 17, 2012

Near airport, not near much else

The location is near G. Bush airport-- convenient for that but there is no restaurant nearby. The room was bearly acceptable. The carpet had a long black mark (grease?) on the right hand side of the bed -- did not seem clean. The door's deadbolt lock did not work and had to be shoved to close completely. Only stayed one night - could not have stayed longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jimbo13
Livingston Texas
Dec 10, 2013

2 Stars?

There was trash left in the room from a previous guest. The coffee maker carafe was full of mold and the old grounds were still in it. We had a 5:00 AM departure time and the staff finally brought us a new coffee machine about 11 at night. Will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ted F
New York
May 23, 2013

Don't even consider this place!

FIRST IMPRESSIONS LAST: An older-style motel in a mostly-barren neighborhood adjoining airport properties. Very few cars in the parking lot. Your website listing claimed new construction. Perhaps it's the portico and lobby pictured - it certainly was not evident in the 2 rooms we had. The deadbolt on the door of the first room would not engage. Our request for a replacement room was initially dismissed, but after persistence was given tentative status pending verification of malfunctioning door lock by hotel's driver(?). After that verification we were provided with a new room. The deadbolt worked but he swinging bar guard on the door was out of alignment (the door had to be open an inch to secure it, but it disengaged upon closing the door. We put the floor lamp and our luggage in front of the door as an extra measure of security. The room? Musty. Dark, even with 3 lamps. The beds? No blanket, just a sheet and stained bedspread. Bathroom fair to poor. During a mid-night trip to the bathroom I scraped my arm on the sharp-edged clothing hook mounted at hip-height on the inside of the door. Looking for the light switch I felt something sharp on the wall - a mounting plate for something, perhaps a hair dryer base. The shower curtain did not reach the bottom of the handicap-access shower so water spreading across the bathroom floor should have been no surprise, I suppose. The low-flow spigot on the sink let out little more than a mist. Coffee accessories were present in the bathroom but no coffee maker. My wife is upset with me for booking at this location. I've never been so pleased to leave a hotel room as I was at this check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RobMed
Alabama
Sep 4, 2013

Ants and other unknown bugs in the bed and bath

The first night we had ants in the bed crawling on us. The last night we had ants and other bugs in the bed, not sure what the other bugs were, I call them bed bugs since they were in the bed with us. The bath room and whole room where dirty, we only slept there 4 nights, could not have stayed any longer. The door had a gap between the door and floor that needed it's own curtain to keep the street lights out, we used a towel to block it, most likely how the ants came in. Not a New Hotel/Motel as the website states, towels, sheets and carpet all show the age

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kaiden22
seattle, wa
Mar 12, 2012

Weekend in Houston

We were visting Houston to prepare for our upcoming move. The price was quite low so you have to expect to get what you paid for. Overall, the staff was very nice, they had a free computer to use which was helpful with our real estate searches, and the entire room was updated with modern decor which was pleasing. I wouldn't have rated it so low if it werent for the followoing issues: the sink was clogged, the grout job on the bathroom tile was messy - grout wasn't wiped off of the tile so there were splatters all over the floor and shower, the toilet seat didn't fit the bowl so the rim stuck out, the blankets were too thin so we had to use the loud heater during the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle
Mar 1, 2011

So so

Nothing to do near there. We didn't have a car. They do not have airport pickup until after 5p.m. Room was nice but a little noisy. Old food was left in microwave which stank. No swimming pool. Very boring. Four miles from airport. Had to take metro transit to get anywhere. A less expensive motel would have been better. No one seemed to speak English. Asked for king, got two double beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Guatemala
Oct 4, 2010

problematic

The hotel was quiet and restful but that was it. The carpet and blankets appreared dirty. We contantly battled small ants in the bathroom. The A/C seemed to work right at times, other times the room was stuffy. The breakfast is nothing more than packaged sweet rolls and cereal, not interesting. For us the worst offense was that the internet would never work correctly. We called the office and they would do something with the router and it worked for a few minutes, but never long and many times in the middle of something it would drop you off. We must have called the office ten times or more and went down there twice. I would not visit here again. Breakfast and the internet were important to us and niether one was acceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search