$43 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 13, 2015 Check-out: May 16, 2015

Howard Johnson Houston

2 stars
View map of 2221 Greens Road, Houston, TX 77032

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Houston

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
long john silva
Business
st.petersburg fl
May 12, 2014

room was terrible

roaches in bathroom and tub.Room appeared to be trashed previously and damage not repaired .Chairs were broken unable to sit in them.tv selection was minimal.no espn or tnt carpet had massive stains and bedsheets were scary.I did not sleep in the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
thip
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Mar 24, 2014

ok

Hotel is old for Howard Johnson, does not have a wow!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Guatemala
Oct 4, 2010

problematic

The hotel was quiet and restful but that was it. The carpet and blankets appreared dirty. We contantly battled small ants in the bathroom. The A/C seemed to work right at times, other times the room was stuffy. The breakfast is nothing more than packaged sweet rolls and cereal, not interesting. For us the worst offense was that the internet would never work correctly. We called the office and they would do something with the router and it worked for a few minutes, but never long and many times in the middle of something it would drop you off. We must have called the office ten times or more and went down there twice. I would not visit here again. Breakfast and the internet were important to us and niether one was acceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mezzy
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Jan 10, 2012

Mediocre

It was not in a very nice location. Businesses close by had bullet proof windows. It was so so clean and the staff was nice but didn't do anything to impress us. I would not stay there again. In fact we canceled our night stay there on our way back from our cruise and stayed somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
firsthoustonvisit
Business
California, USA
Mar 9, 2012

Did the job but probably wouldn't stay there again.

Overall it was fine. The bed was clean and comfortable and there was a nice TV in the room, but there were a few hairs in the bathroom that were not mine, and multiple people told me to be very careful because the location was a particularly bad area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kaiden22
Business
seattle, wa
Mar 12, 2012

Weekend in Houston

We were visting Houston to prepare for our upcoming move. The price was quite low so you have to expect to get what you paid for. Overall, the staff was very nice, they had a free computer to use which was helpful with our real estate searches, and the entire room was updated with modern decor which was pleasing. I wouldn't have rated it so low if it werent for the followoing issues: the sink was clogged, the grout job on the bathroom tile was messy - grout wasn't wiped off of the tile so there were splatters all over the floor and shower, the toilet seat didn't fit the bowl so the rim stuck out, the blankets were too thin so we had to use the loud heater during the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nuca
Business
Beaumont, TX, USA
Apr 16, 2012

Intresting

Looked like someone broke in the room the week before had to switch rooms just wasnt really happy pictures dont match the room thinking it was by the airport it would be different i was wrong its a rent by the hour looking spot

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jerly
Business
Puerto Rico
Aug 26, 2012

Is ok for the price

Very nice staff, is good for the price that you paid

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
colonel 1
Business
louisiana
Apr 16, 2013

needs that special something

hotel should list "free parking" in its amenities, but also not list itself as "new construction" because its not. Shuttle service is limited to certain times. Carpet was stain and in very bad condition, major turn-off. Office staff very courteous. It was listed as a 3 star in Price line and its 2 star at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

affordable

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jdhaliwal
Business
Denver, CO
Jan 4, 2011

Good Price bad management attitude

The hotel was clean but that is all it had. The management at the front desk had the attitude you do not want when you are away from home. Some lights in the room did not work. Shower tub was clogged and management was no help. I felt like the management wanted my money but not me in their hotel. Although the place was clean, i would not recommend anyone staying there. i am sure you can find other place to stay for the same cost with a welcoming attitude from the front desk staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top