$47 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Howard Johnson Houston

2 stars
2221 Greens Road, Houston, TX 77032
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
121 reviews
Excellent

good care, clean rooms and excellent service. the location of the hotel is very good See full review

  • JReyes
  • Apr 28, 2014
howard johnson greens rd

I honestly didn't have a bad experience. The only thing is that there is nothing close besides 2... See full review

  • Tosha816
  • Nov 6, 2014
Newly built, comfortable hotel close to major Houston airport

Howard Johnson Houston offers new construction and comfortable rooms, less than five miles from George Bush Intercontinental Airport. Thanks to a location near major highways, the hotel is well situated for business and leisure travelers. Guests enjoy budget-friendly amenities such as free Wi-Fi in every guest room and a complimentary breakfast served in the hotel's cheerful, bright dining room.

Highlights
  • Close to George Bush Intercontinental Airport
  • Near major highways
  • Free Wi-Fi and complimentary breakfast
Rooms

Howard Johnson Houston features rooms decorated in warm earth tones and dark wood accents. Every room offers a flat-screen TV, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, microwave and refrigerator. A work desk with ergonomic chair help business travelers get work done, and free Wi-Fi in every room lets guests stay in touch with friends, family and colleagues. Bathrooms are spacious and well-lit, with granite countertops and generously-sized mirrors.

Property features
Thanks to the hotel's location on a major highway, guests can easily and quickly get to many area attractions, including local Greens Point Mall, Houston Police Museum and downtown Houston.
Transportation
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Airport shuttle service (limited hours, fees apply)
  • Houston Hobby Airport (21.8 mi/35.1 km)

 
Nearby attractions
  • Houston Police Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Greens Point Mall (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Downtown Houston (13 mi/20.9 km)Minute Maid Park (18.4 mi/29.7 km)
  • Toyota Center (13.8 mi/22.3 km)
  • Houston museum district (18 mi/29 km) 
  • Reliant Stadium (18.6 mi/30 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Houston also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Houston Grand Opera: 13 mi
  • Market Square Park: 13 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 13.1 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 13.1 mi
  • Jones Hall: 13.2 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 13.3 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 13.3 mi
  • Beer Can House: 13.5 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 13.8 mi
  • Toyota Center: 13.8 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 13.9 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 14 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 15 mi
  • Wortham Center: 15.4 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 15.7 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 13 mi
  • Market Square Park: 13 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 13.1 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 13.1 mi
  • Jones Hall: 13.2 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 13.3 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 13.3 mi
  • Beer Can House: 13.5 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 13.8 mi
  • Toyota Center: 13.8 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 13.9 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 14 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 15 mi
  • Wortham Center: 15.4 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 15.7 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 15.7 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 15.7 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 15.7 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 15.7 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 15.9 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 15.9 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 15.9 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 16 mi
  • Water Wall: 16.1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 16.2 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 16.3 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 16.4 mi
  • Hermann Park: 16.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 16.5 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 16.6 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.5 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 18.2 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 18.5 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 18.7 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 20.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (121)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Houston

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Emerald City Man
Seattle, WA
Aug 12, 2012

Great stay

Great hotel, location, staff, quiet, relaxful. Very close to the airport. Excellent value. Will be back. I appreciate them letting me print my boarding pass from the front desk computer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Naquinte
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Dec 17, 2011

To expensive for bad attention

No comments,too mucho loud at the night, bad attention at front desk, cleans room, appear no good food there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Swilkins
Business
Monroe, LA, USA
Mar 17, 2012

Near airport, not near much else

The location is near G. Bush airport-- convenient for that but there is no restaurant nearby. The room was bearly acceptable. The carpet had a long black mark (grease?) on the right hand side of the bed -- did not seem clean. The door's deadbolt lock did not work and had to be shoved to close completely. Only stayed one night - could not have stayed longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mnpierce05
Business
Houston tx
Aug 30, 2012

horrible

bad room bad location horrible stay...door wouldn't lock air wouldn't stay on couldn't sleep

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

chinese delivery ok

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wrthelena
Business
Montana
Feb 24, 2013

noisy night

I had to overnight in Houston so I chose this hotel because it is close to the airport and in expensive. Unfortunately my flight was delayed and I missed the last hotel shuttle (10 pm) so I had to pay $23 for a 3 mile ride. The hotel room Seemed okay, but it soon became apparent that there was no sound insulation. It was a very noisy night topped off by a guy revving his engine at 4:30 am. Wouldn't' stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
001T
Business
Kentucky
Mar 1, 2013

Not acceptable

Is motel style (doors that open straight to the outside), stained carpets, stained couch, holes in the sheets, no comforter. Hotel is not near anything except a gas station and sketchy food mart. AIRPORT SHUTTLE ONLY RUNS LIMITED HOURS!! Do not stay here. Yuck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
beenallaround
Business
Florida
Mar 7, 2013

Spend Your Extra $$ for a Real hotel - What's Become of HOJO?

I was on a quick overnight for business trip and took the least expensive room in a close proximity to the airport. If I had realized that there was No Shuttle Before 5pm (I spent $20 on a cab 1 way) or that I was in the middle of No Where with Nothing around (I had to order Delivery Chinese food to my room or take another $40 r/t cab to go somewhere to eat a meal) - I would have Never chosen this Hotel. EVER. These are just a couple of points... I Should have spent the extra $40-$60 to stay in a Clean place in a Good Location and not been stressed out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Get the food Delivery from the Chinese Place

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
No Haward please
Business
Detroit, MI
Apr 23, 2013

Dont want to stay again

U dont want to stay here... Asked wake up call and no services. Shuttle bus at airport never showed up.. U dont want to stay here... Asked wake up call and no services. Shuttle bus at airport never showed up..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ted F
Business
New York
May 23, 2013

Don't even consider this place!

FIRST IMPRESSIONS LAST: An older-style motel in a mostly-barren neighborhood adjoining airport properties. Very few cars in the parking lot. Your website listing claimed new construction. Perhaps it's the portico and lobby pictured - it certainly was not evident in the 2 rooms we had. The deadbolt on the door of the first room would not engage. Our request for a replacement room was initially dismissed, but after persistence was given tentative status pending verification of malfunctioning door lock by hotel's driver(?). After that verification we were provided with a new room. The deadbolt worked but he swinging bar guard on the door was out of alignment (the door had to be open an inch to secure it, but it disengaged upon closing the door. We put the floor lamp and our luggage in front of the door as an extra measure of security. The room? Musty. Dark, even with 3 lamps. The beds? No blanket, just a sheet and stained bedspread. Bathroom fair to poor. During a mid-night trip to the bathroom I scraped my arm on the sharp-edged clothing hook mounted at hip-height on the inside of the door. Looking for the light switch I felt something sharp on the wall - a mounting plate for something, perhaps a hair dryer base. The shower curtain did not reach the bottom of the handicap-access shower so water spreading across the bathroom floor should have been no surprise, I suppose. The low-flow spigot on the sink let out little more than a mist. Coffee accessories were present in the bathroom but no coffee maker. My wife is upset with me for booking at this location. I've never been so pleased to leave a hotel room as I was at this check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RobMed
Business
Alabama
Sep 4, 2013

Ants and other unknown bugs in the bed and bath

The first night we had ants in the bed crawling on us. The last night we had ants and other bugs in the bed, not sure what the other bugs were, I call them bed bugs since they were in the bed with us. The bath room and whole room where dirty, we only slept there 4 nights, could not have stayed any longer. The door had a gap between the door and floor that needed it's own curtain to keep the street lights out, we used a towel to block it, most likely how the ants came in. Not a New Hotel/Motel as the website states, towels, sheets and carpet all show the age

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jimbo13
Business
Livingston Texas
Dec 10, 2013

2 Stars?

There was trash left in the room from a previous guest. The coffee maker carafe was full of mold and the old grounds were still in it. We had a 5:00 AM departure time and the staff finally brought us a new coffee machine about 11 at night. Will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top