Howard Johnson Houston

2 stars
2221 Greens Road, Houston, TX 77032
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
116 reviews
Excellent

good care, clean rooms and excellent service. the location of the hotel is very good See full review

  • JReyes
  • Apr 28, 2014
Near Airport

This is a fine hotel stay if you're on a budget. Average breakfast with little things to do nearby... See full review

  • Epearlyyy
  • Aug 9, 2014
Newly built, comfortable hotel close to major Houston airport

Howard Johnson Houston offers new construction and comfortable rooms, less than five miles from George Bush Intercontinental Airport. Thanks to a location near major highways, the hotel is well situated for business and leisure travelers. Guests enjoy budget-friendly amenities such as free Wi-Fi in every guest room and a complimentary breakfast served in the hotel's cheerful, bright dining room.

Highlights
  • Close to George Bush Intercontinental Airport
  • Near major highways
  • Free Wi-Fi and complimentary breakfast
Rooms

Howard Johnson Houston features rooms decorated in warm earth tones and dark wood accents. Every room offers a flat-screen TV, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, microwave and refrigerator. A work desk with ergonomic chair help business travelers get work done, and free Wi-Fi in every room lets guests stay in touch with friends, family and colleagues. Bathrooms are spacious and well-lit, with granite countertops and generously-sized mirrors.

Property features
Thanks to the hotel's location on a major highway, guests can easily and quickly get to many area attractions, including local Greens Point Mall, Houston Police Museum and downtown Houston.
Transportation
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Airport shuttle service (limited hours, fees apply)
  • Houston Hobby Airport (21.8 mi/35.1 km)

 
Nearby attractions
  • Houston Police Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Greens Point Mall (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Downtown Houston (13 mi/20.9 km)Minute Maid Park (18.4 mi/29.7 km)
  • Toyota Center (13.8 mi/22.3 km)
  • Houston museum district (18 mi/29 km) 
  • Reliant Stadium (18.6 mi/30 km)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Map

29.9512 -95.358
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Houston Grand Opera: 13 mi
  • Market Square Park: 13 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 13.1 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 13.1 mi
  • Jones Hall: 13.2 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 13.3 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 13.3 mi
  • Beer Can House: 13.5 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 13.8 mi
  • Toyota Center: 13.8 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 13.9 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 14 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 15 mi
  • Wortham Center: 15.4 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 15.7 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 13 mi
  • Market Square Park: 13 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 13.1 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 13.1 mi
  • Jones Hall: 13.2 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 13.3 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 13.3 mi
  • Beer Can House: 13.5 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 13.8 mi
  • Toyota Center: 13.8 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 13.9 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 14 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 15 mi
  • Wortham Center: 15.4 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 15.7 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 15.7 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 15.7 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 15.7 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 15.7 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 15.9 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 15.9 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 15.9 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 16 mi
  • Water Wall: 16.1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 16.2 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 16.3 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 16.4 mi
  • Hermann Park: 16.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 16.5 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 16.6 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.5 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 18.2 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 18.5 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 18.7 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 20.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (116)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Houston

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
116 out of 116
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.8

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jackson 1
Business
Phenix City, AL.
Apr 13, 2014

Not goog for business travel

This hotel is run down. They rent to young guys, at least 6 to the room. Very noisy. I would not stay there aghain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mnpierce05
Houston tx
Aug 30, 2012

horrible

bad room bad location horrible stay...door wouldn't lock air wouldn't stay on couldn't sleep

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Not Applicable

chinese delivery ok

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
beenallaround
Business
Florida
Mar 7, 2013

Spend Your Extra $$ for a Real hotel - What's Become of HOJO?

I was on a quick overnight for business trip and took the least expensive room in a close proximity to the airport. If I had realized that there was No Shuttle Before 5pm (I spent $20 on a cab 1 way) or that I was in the middle of No Where with Nothing around (I had to order Delivery Chinese food to my room or take another $40 r/t cab to go somewhere to eat a meal) - I would have Never chosen this Hotel. EVER. These are just a couple of points... I Should have spent the extra $40-$60 to stay in a Clean place in a Good Location and not been stressed out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Get the food Delivery from the Chinese Place

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
001T
Business
Kentucky
Mar 1, 2013

Not acceptable

Is motel style (doors that open straight to the outside), stained carpets, stained couch, holes in the sheets, no comforter. Hotel is not near anything except a gas station and sketchy food mart. AIRPORT SHUTTLE ONLY RUNS LIMITED HOURS!! Do not stay here. Yuck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wrthelena
Montana
Feb 24, 2013

noisy night

I had to overnight in Houston so I chose this hotel because it is close to the airport and in expensive. Unfortunately my flight was delayed and I missed the last hotel shuttle (10 pm) so I had to pay $23 for a 3 mile ride. The hotel room Seemed okay, but it soon became apparent that there was no sound insulation. It was a very noisy night topped off by a guy revving his engine at 4:30 am. Wouldn't' stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Zarah
Dallas
Feb 24, 2014

Experience

It is not newly build. It is old motel. The picture shows on line is different but it is motel. not enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vlarr
Reno, NV
Apr 17, 2014

Can't believe Howard Johnson would give its name to this hotel

This is officially the 2nd worst b&b we've stayed at (yes- I found one even worse somewhere else). I booked a room with 2 queen beds, got a call 10 minutes later saying they don't have that room and they we'll get a king with a sofa. By the time we got there I got one queen and a tiny sofa. If I wouldn't have been so tired I would've found a different hotel right there. I don't know what it was but there was a sound of water coming on and off about every 5 minutes all night long. That was one of the reasons I couldn't sleep. No blankets were provided, only one top sheet. Froze all night and was too tired to find the heater. The towels provided were the smallest towels I've ever seen. I couldn't even wrap myself In one, and I'm a small girl. There were power outlets without socket covers- sort of dangerous. No where to charge my phone except for on the bathroom, but had to set my alarm so the bathroom was a bit far for that, I was barely able to hear it. Oh- the bathroom door wouldn't stay shut. We actually had to put something behind the door so it'd shut- which meant: I want in the bathroom and my husband had to put something and then remove it so I could get out. Pretty bad. I know the price was cheap and I was looking for something like a b&b just for that one night before flying out and by seeing Howard Johnson I though it'd be semi ok but noooooo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
suckerd
Fayetteville NC
Aug 6, 2014

Family Reunion

this hotel is dirty i entered my room and the first thing i noticed was busted cabinet next to bed and dirty walls/door there was stains on the comforter the curtains where missing hooks and hanging down the safety latch on door was broke and the bottom weather seal was gone allowing bugs to enter with the 2 inch gap at the floor i had to put a towel in front of door to stop air and bugs, there where dead bugs under the table it also had busted light switch cover which is a hazard, in the bathroom the toilet seat was busted which i repaired so i could use it the floor was filthy the four days there they never changed the comforter nor was the bathroom cleaned and carpets never vacuumed also the microwave was all in Spanish as i don't know Spanish i had to press all buttons to figure out how to use it, i will Never set foot in a Howard Johnson again the picture advertised for that hotel must have been from when it was first built as it looks nothing like that, run down dump

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Not Applicable

there is nothing around this hotel except two run down gas stations all dinning is 15 miles away and neighbor hood is desolate

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Swilkins
Monroe, LA, USA
Mar 17, 2012

Near airport, not near much else

The location is near G. Bush airport-- convenient for that but there is no restaurant nearby. The room was bearly acceptable. The carpet had a long black mark (grease?) on the right hand side of the bed -- did not seem clean. The door's deadbolt lock did not work and had to be shoved to close completely. Only stayed one night - could not have stayed longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
No Haward please
Business
Detroit, MI
Apr 23, 2013

Dont want to stay again

U dont want to stay here... Asked wake up call and no services. Shuttle bus at airport never showed up.. U dont want to stay here... Asked wake up call and no services. Shuttle bus at airport never showed up..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top