$43 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 13, 2015 Check-out: May 16, 2015

Howard Johnson Houston

2 stars
View map of 2221 Greens Road, Houston, TX 77032

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
126 reviews
great family trip

Staff friendly. Great location. Great amount of distance between from my family nd friends. See full review

  • Kessa R.
  • Feb 24, 2015
Good Place

They were quick and easy and was able to allow me early check in during my over night stay. See full review

  • Jennifer F.
  • Feb 21, 2015
Newly built, comfortable hotel close to major Houston airport

Howard Johnson Houston offers new construction and comfortable rooms, less than five miles from George Bush Intercontinental Airport. Thanks to a location near major highways, the hotel is well situated for business and leisure travelers. Guests enjoy budget-friendly amenities such as free Wi-Fi in every guest room and a complimentary breakfast served in the hotel's cheerful, bright dining room.

Highlights
  • Close to George Bush Intercontinental Airport
  • Near major highways
  • Free Wi-Fi and complimentary breakfast
Rooms

Howard Johnson Houston features rooms decorated in warm earth tones and dark wood accents. Every room offers a flat-screen TV, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, microwave and refrigerator. A work desk with ergonomic chair help business travelers get work done, and free Wi-Fi in every room lets guests stay in touch with friends, family and colleagues. Bathrooms are spacious and well-lit, with granite countertops and generously-sized mirrors.

Property features
Thanks to the hotel's location on a major highway, guests can easily and quickly get to many area attractions, including local Greens Point Mall, Houston Police Museum and downtown Houston.
Transportation
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Airport shuttle service (limited hours, fees apply)
  • Houston Hobby Airport (21.8 mi/35.1 km)

 
Nearby attractions
  • Houston Police Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Greens Point Mall (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Downtown Houston (13 mi/20.9 km)Minute Maid Park (18.4 mi/29.7 km)
  • Toyota Center (13.8 mi/22.3 km)
  • Houston museum district (18 mi/29 km) 
  • Reliant Stadium (18.6 mi/30 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Houston also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Houston Grand Opera: 13 mi
  • Market Square Park: 13 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 13.1 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 13.1 mi
  • Jones Hall: 13.2 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 13.3 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 13.3 mi
  • Beer Can House: 13.5 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 13.8 mi
  • Toyota Center: 13.8 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 13.9 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 14 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 15 mi
  • Wortham Center: 15.4 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 15.7 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 13 mi
  • Market Square Park: 13 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 13.1 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 13.1 mi
  • Jones Hall: 13.2 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 13.3 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 13.3 mi
  • Beer Can House: 13.5 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 13.8 mi
  • Toyota Center: 13.8 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 13.9 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 14 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 15 mi
  • Wortham Center: 15.4 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 15.7 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 15.7 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 15.7 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 15.7 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 15.7 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 15.9 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 15.9 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 15.9 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 16 mi
  • Water Wall: 16.1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 16.2 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 16.3 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 16.4 mi
  • Hermann Park: 16.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 16.5 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 16.6 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.5 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 18.2 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 18.5 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 18.7 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 20.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Houston

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 126
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
2.7
Value:
3.4

52% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jose123
Business
New Orleans, LA, USA
Jan 16, 2012

More than what I pay for

extremely clean, all stuff was new and comfortable. Its like 3o minutes to downtown, but actually everything in houston is far.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Emerald City Man
Business
Seattle, WA
Aug 12, 2012

Great stay

Great hotel, location, staff, quiet, relaxful. Very close to the airport. Excellent value. Will be back. I appreciate them letting me print my boarding pass from the front desk computer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Parkers
Business
Leesville, La
Apr 19, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

The motel was very clean, very reasonable room service. Had a little mixup with the room being cleaned. Maid knocked on the door when we had the do not disturb sign on. Then she didn't come to room while we were gone for the day. Manager was on top of the matter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
r.j. gold
Business
mcallen
Feb 9, 2014

great stay

From the time you arrive you welcomed and feel right at home

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Unenthusiastic Traveler
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Nov 18, 2011

Convenient place to stay near IAH

The staff were very accommodating and helpful, letting us into the room before check-in time and giving us free toiletries that my wife had forgotten. Room was spacious and pleasant, with comfortable beds and a full-size ironing board and iron in the room. The location was very convenient, just a couple miles off JFK (main road into airport) and easy access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RitaMason
Business
Chicago
Dec 30, 2012

Very Nice Experience

I booked this hotel last minute and the pictures on the site were dead on to what I saw when I got to my room. Really nice staff, clean and comfortable room and having what seemed to be a new fridge and microwave in the room was wonderful for my three day stay. Especially since there weren't many restaurants close to this hotel, which was the only downside to staying here. I also was awaken in morning by semi's fueling at the gas station next door but overall I had a good experience. Will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are no restaurants within walking distance of this hotel and most places in this area stop delivering early for some reason. But a few miles away heading back toward IAH airport you will find fast food and some restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Red Wing, Mn
Feb 10, 2011

close to airport car rental return

Nice trip to Galveston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Feb 24, 2010

Houston 0223

It was very nice. The hotel was clean and they provided complementary breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aislingcheeks
Business
Killeen, TX
May 17, 2010

Brand new and decor is fab!

Just a quick stop off after flying into Houston Intercontinental Airport. It's close-by and cheap! I stayed in a handicap room, as I had lung problems meaning I can't go upstairs. The parking was right infront of the door. It was spotless and the bathroom featured a lovely walk-in shower for wheelchair users. Fresh towels, and plenty of them. Modern decor and fancy TV. Bed was comfortable and pillow's were good. (I often struggle to get comfortable because of spine problems, so good pillows are a bonus.) There was breakfast on offer, but we didn't try it. Very good quality for the price you pay and one of the cheapest, if not, THE cheapest hotel near the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wajolihi
Business
LA
Aug 21, 2010

very reasonable price

The Hotel hsa just been remodeled lately. When we entered the room, we could easily find out it is quite new and clean. Even though it is offered wireless, the signal is unstable that we could not connect with that. The staff was very helpful to figure out this problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

wireless

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top