$47 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Howard Johnson Houston

2 stars
2221 Greens Road, Houston, TX 77032
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
122 reviews
Excellent

good care, clean rooms and excellent service. the location of the hotel is very good See full review

  • JReyes
  • Apr 28, 2014
howard johnson greens rd

I honestly didn't have a bad experience. The only thing is that there is nothing close besides 2... See full review

  • Tosha816
  • Nov 6, 2014
Newly built, comfortable hotel close to major Houston airport

Howard Johnson Houston offers new construction and comfortable rooms, less than five miles from George Bush Intercontinental Airport. Thanks to a location near major highways, the hotel is well situated for business and leisure travelers. Guests enjoy budget-friendly amenities such as free Wi-Fi in every guest room and a complimentary breakfast served in the hotel's cheerful, bright dining room.

Highlights
  • Close to George Bush Intercontinental Airport
  • Near major highways
  • Free Wi-Fi and complimentary breakfast
Rooms

Howard Johnson Houston features rooms decorated in warm earth tones and dark wood accents. Every room offers a flat-screen TV, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, microwave and refrigerator. A work desk with ergonomic chair help business travelers get work done, and free Wi-Fi in every room lets guests stay in touch with friends, family and colleagues. Bathrooms are spacious and well-lit, with granite countertops and generously-sized mirrors.

Property features
Thanks to the hotel's location on a major highway, guests can easily and quickly get to many area attractions, including local Greens Point Mall, Houston Police Museum and downtown Houston.
Transportation
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Airport shuttle service (limited hours, fees apply)
  • Houston Hobby Airport (21.8 mi/35.1 km)

 
Nearby attractions
  • Houston Police Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Greens Point Mall (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Downtown Houston (13 mi/20.9 km)Minute Maid Park (18.4 mi/29.7 km)
  • Toyota Center (13.8 mi/22.3 km)
  • Houston museum district (18 mi/29 km) 
  • Reliant Stadium (18.6 mi/30 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Houston also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Houston Grand Opera: 13 mi
  • Market Square Park: 13 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 13.1 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 13.1 mi
  • Jones Hall: 13.2 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 13.3 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 13.3 mi
  • Beer Can House: 13.5 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 13.8 mi
  • Toyota Center: 13.8 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 13.9 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 14 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 15 mi
  • Wortham Center: 15.4 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 15.7 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 13 mi
  • Market Square Park: 13 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 13.1 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 13.1 mi
  • Jones Hall: 13.2 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 13.3 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 13.3 mi
  • Beer Can House: 13.5 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 13.8 mi
  • Toyota Center: 13.8 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 13.9 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 14 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 15 mi
  • Wortham Center: 15.4 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 15.7 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 15.7 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 15.7 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 15.7 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 15.7 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 15.9 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 15.9 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 15.9 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 16 mi
  • Water Wall: 16.1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 16.2 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 16.3 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 16.4 mi
  • Hermann Park: 16.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 16.5 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 16.6 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.5 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 18.2 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 18.5 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 18.7 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 20.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (122)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Houston

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.7

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vintagepao
Business
Canyon Country, Santa Clarita, CA 91351, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Business trip

The hotel room is very clean, the bed is extremely comfortable, and the staff is very friendly. I would like to stay here again once I have another chance to get back in Houston. Thank you Howard Johnson for making me feel at home in Houston, TX.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
funonthecheap
Business
pittsburgh, pa.
Aug 28, 2010

inTownforGraduation

hotel is new, staff very helpful, breakfast not bad. for the price, location and staff ....I will be back!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

1.5 miles from airport and greenspoint mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Feb 24, 2010

Houston 0223

It was very nice. The hotel was clean and they provided complementary breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stow, OH
Jul 19, 2010

Everything Beer

It was an enjoyable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Pinas City, Metro Manila, Philippine
Jul 3, 2010

Excelent for Business Traveler

The room was big and had everything I needed including high speed internet, iron, microwave, refridgerator, hair dryer, laundry, and breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Very close to airport with easy access.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
spartywrx
Business
Detroit
Sep 27, 2011

Hojo Houston IAH

Newer hotel. Make sure to call when you land so they can send out the shuttle to get you. Room was clean with a microwave and a mini fridge. Breakfast was your normal hotel breakfast. Not in the greatest part of town, lots of welding shops, gas stations, etc... Close to Houston Parkway and the airport. Rent a car if you're staying here, not a whole lot of taxis or public transit in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Missoula Montana
Nov 3, 2010

Very Good Value

COMFORTABLE BED, VERY CLEAN AND NICE, stayed 6 days and compared with Hotels costing 3X...good value and great location for NE Houston, yet close to airport, friendly service, I'll stay again. TV, Microwave, Refrigerator and desk were top notch and appreciated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mamdo
Business
La Ceiba,Honduras
Nov 3, 2010

Nice hotel

Nice hotel. We only were there 10 hours. No restaurant on premises, although you can order room service before 8PM, but we arrived after that. Could get food delivered to the room, but it took more than an hour. Also internet did not work well, although that could be due to storms in the area. Manager was very friendly and helpful. 15 minute free courtesy shuttle to airport was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cwistal
Business
Brisbane, Australia
Jun 13, 2010

good price, close to airport

i just had a 10 hour layover on my way to Nicaragua so i was just after something not real expensive & close to the airport and i was travelling on my own so i didnt want to stay in a scary scungie place, so i read the reviews and it sounded good. the room was really clean, my flight was delayed so i only ended up being in the room for 4 hours, i turned up at 2:30am and the service was still great. would definately recomend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston
Mar 27, 2011

perfectly quiet

I went away just to have some peace & quiet. I had just what I wanted. There was no loud music, kids, or anything else to disturb me. The only thing that I think needs to change is the TV stations. There are not enough stations to watch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you need anything there is a little store where you can get food, gas or something you forgot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top