Howard Johnson Houston

2 stars
View map of 2221 Greens Road, Houston, TX 77032

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Houston

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
115 out of 115
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.1
Value:
3.7

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VKC1
Family
Sunnyvale, CA
Oct 8, 2012

inexpensive hotel close to the airport

I got a good rate at this place and like the fact that it is very close to the airport. Even though the place is new, but the room had a strong hotel smell. It is a basic motel with minimal amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ed from the boonies
Family
Lafayette Louisiana
Nov 2, 2012

Really close and conveniant to KIAH

We stayed overnight to make a flight. This hotel is less than five minutes from the airport on a local road and sits next to a gas station/ conveniane store that carried pretty much everything. I would definitely go back when I do my next flight out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Gas station next door. Everything else is a five mile local drive. Buy a street map of Houston before you go.

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bodance
Family
Austin
Dec 25, 2012

Nice staff, good location

The staff was very helpful. They picked us up at the airport and took us back. There was a very good continental breakfast served: Cereal, muffins, fruit and coffee. The room was quiet. They have satellite TV with many channels. There is a shell station and a convenience store across the street, in case you want anything else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RitaMason
Couples
Chicago
Dec 30, 2012

Very Nice Experience

I booked this hotel last minute and the pictures on the site were dead on to what I saw when I got to my room. Really nice staff, clean and comfortable room and having what seemed to be a new fridge and microwave in the room was wonderful for my three day stay. Especially since there weren't many restaurants close to this hotel, which was the only downside to staying here. I also was awaken in morning by semi's fueling at the gas station next door but overall I had a good experience. Will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are no restaurants within walking distance of this hotel and most places in this area stop delivering early for some reason. But a few miles away heading back toward IAH airport you will find fast food and some restaurants.

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shaybda1
Friends
Crockett, Tx
Feb 25, 2013

great room for the price

I have stayed here on several occasions and have had no complaints. Easy access to shopping and freeway! Would definitely recommend!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dayna912
Friends
Cameron, TX
Mar 11, 2013

Satisfied

Nice, clean and updated. Staff was very polite and courteous. Will definitely return. Access to the Beltway and freeway were excellent. The only negative experience was we asked for extra towels and never received them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Red Wing, Mn
Feb 10, 2011

close to airport car rental return

Nice trip to Galveston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
brians7364
Business
Chicago
Apr 13, 2010

brand new property

Brand new property right off Greens Rd. by IAH (Houston Intercontinental Bush airport). Price was great. Everything is new, obviously. TV was a nice flat screen in the room. Free wi-fi. Was a good place to crash as I had to fly out at 7 am the morning of checkout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vintagepao
Business
Canyon Country, Santa Clarita, CA 91351, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Business trip

The hotel room is very clean, the bed is extremely comfortable, and the staff is very friendly. I would like to stay here again once I have another chance to get back in Houston. Thank you Howard Johnson for making me feel at home in Houston, TX.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
funonthecheap
Single
pittsburgh, pa.
Aug 28, 2010

inTownforGraduation

hotel is new, staff very helpful, breakfast not bad. for the price, location and staff ....I will be back!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

1.5 miles from airport and greenspoint mall.

Back to menu Return to top