Howard Johnson Houston

2 stars
View map of 2221 Greens Road, Houston, TX 77032

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Houston

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
115 out of 115
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.1
Value:
3.7

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
April A.
Business
Texas
Oct 6, 2010

Great price and great service

I booked this hotel for an overnight layover at IAH. I arrived late (& without luggage) and even though other hotels did not offer airport pick-ups at that hour, this HJ did. I had an early flight and got there on time thanks to the same friendly shuttle driver. The room was clean, neat and comfortable. I would recommend this hotel and will personally use it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a 24 hour gas station that has refreshments and snacks and some hot food only a short walk away from the hotel.

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
College Station, TX
Jun 6, 2010

Great for less money

It was a great experience. We stayed a night and had to leave 4am in the morning. We had free shuttle service to the airport and they hold our big and heavy luggages until we leave. It's newly remodelled. I cannot believe the price for this quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kessa R.
Business
N/A
Feb 24, 2015

great family trip

Staff friendly. Great location. Great amount of distance between from my family nd friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Busy business travel
Business
Los Angeles
Feb 3, 2014

Met my needs for business trip

Efficient, clean, great staff, comfortable bed, quiet. I was in need of simple, safe, economical hotel just to recharge my batteries during trip to Houston. This hotel fit the bill in every way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
r.j. gold
Business
mcallen
Feb 9, 2014

great stay

From the time you arrive you welcomed and feel right at home

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Easygoing2
Business
California
Feb 27, 2014

Good Place for Short Stay

The hotel, or actually Inn, was pretty good. The bed's toilets, showers were clean. The floor carpet was not so clean. but as far as one person staying one night for simple rest, its O.K. and recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You can find lots of places in John F. Kennedy Boulvard

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Unenthusiastic Traveler
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Nov 18, 2011

Convenient place to stay near IAH

The staff were very accommodating and helpful, letting us into the room before check-in time and giving us free toiletries that my wife had forgotten. Room was spacious and pleasant, with comfortable beds and a full-size ironing board and iron in the room. The location was very convenient, just a couple miles off JFK (main road into airport) and easy access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sejo
Business
Panama
Dec 28, 2011

Good hotel near the airport

i needed to stay overnight to catch a flight early in the morning. The attention was great, the hotel shutle picked me up at the airport shortly after my call and took me back for the flight at 5:00 am sharp. The room was clean and it had wi-fi. The hotel is a 10 minutes drive from the airport, has a couple of convenient stores at a walking distance and the price is right; very good overall value. Thanks to the night shift manager for his kind attention

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YourNickname
Business
South Carolina, USA
Jan 26, 2012

Great value

I was quite skeptical driving up to the Howard Johnson because it looked a little sketchy and slightly out of date but the inside was just fine. It was no different than any other hotel I have stayed in and it was very cheap. I was pleased with staying there. The continental breakfast was good as well. The trucks pulling up to the gas station next door make quite a lot of noise in the morning that woke me up a lot. That would be my only complaint.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oregon mom
Business
Pendleton, OR 97801, USA
Mar 7, 2012

Family medical visit

I had to take my daughter to a local medical facility and needed a motel close to the airport because our incoming flight got in after midnight and our outgoing flight departed at 5:57am. The shuttle service is a little iffy so be sure to leave plenty of time to get to the airport. The evening desk clerk was very friendly and helpful, which was great after a long day traveling. Unfortunately, our non-smoking room reeked of cigarettes and he was unable to get us a differrent room and we had to wait till the next morning to move. The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. For the price, it was a decent place to stay for a few nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top