$47 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Howard Johnson Houston

2 stars
2221 Greens Road, Houston, TX 77032
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
122 reviews
Excellent

good care, clean rooms and excellent service. the location of the hotel is very good See full review

  • JReyes
  • Apr 28, 2014
howard johnson greens rd

I honestly didn't have a bad experience. The only thing is that there is nothing close besides 2... See full review

  • Tosha816
  • Nov 6, 2014
Newly built, comfortable hotel close to major Houston airport

Howard Johnson Houston offers new construction and comfortable rooms, less than five miles from George Bush Intercontinental Airport. Thanks to a location near major highways, the hotel is well situated for business and leisure travelers. Guests enjoy budget-friendly amenities such as free Wi-Fi in every guest room and a complimentary breakfast served in the hotel's cheerful, bright dining room.

Highlights
  • Close to George Bush Intercontinental Airport
  • Near major highways
  • Free Wi-Fi and complimentary breakfast
Rooms

Howard Johnson Houston features rooms decorated in warm earth tones and dark wood accents. Every room offers a flat-screen TV, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, microwave and refrigerator. A work desk with ergonomic chair help business travelers get work done, and free Wi-Fi in every room lets guests stay in touch with friends, family and colleagues. Bathrooms are spacious and well-lit, with granite countertops and generously-sized mirrors.

Property features
Thanks to the hotel's location on a major highway, guests can easily and quickly get to many area attractions, including local Greens Point Mall, Houston Police Museum and downtown Houston.
Transportation
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Airport shuttle service (limited hours, fees apply)
  • Houston Hobby Airport (21.8 mi/35.1 km)

 
Nearby attractions
  • Houston Police Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Greens Point Mall (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Downtown Houston (13 mi/20.9 km)Minute Maid Park (18.4 mi/29.7 km)
  • Toyota Center (13.8 mi/22.3 km)
  • Houston museum district (18 mi/29 km) 
  • Reliant Stadium (18.6 mi/30 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Houston also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Houston Grand Opera: 13 mi
  • Market Square Park: 13 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 13.1 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 13.1 mi
  • Jones Hall: 13.2 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 13.3 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 13.3 mi
  • Beer Can House: 13.5 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 13.8 mi
  • Toyota Center: 13.8 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 13.9 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 14 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 15 mi
  • Wortham Center: 15.4 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 15.7 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 13 mi
  • Market Square Park: 13 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 13.1 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 13.1 mi
  • Jones Hall: 13.2 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 13.3 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 13.3 mi
  • Beer Can House: 13.5 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 13.8 mi
  • Toyota Center: 13.8 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 13.9 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 14 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 15 mi
  • Wortham Center: 15.4 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 15.7 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 15.7 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 15.7 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 15.7 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 15.7 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 15.9 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 15.9 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 15.9 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 16 mi
  • Water Wall: 16.1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 16.2 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 16.3 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 16.4 mi
  • Hermann Park: 16.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 16.5 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 16.6 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.5 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 18.2 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 18.5 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 18.7 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 20.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (122)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Houston

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.7

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Galliano, LA
Jul 4, 2011

Nice hotel

Excellent amenities, good hospitallity and good service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fudduckers

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
April A.
Business
Texas
Oct 6, 2010

Great price and great service

I booked this hotel for an overnight layover at IAH. I arrived late (& without luggage) and even though other hotels did not offer airport pick-ups at that hour, this HJ did. I had an early flight and got there on time thanks to the same friendly shuttle driver. The room was clean, neat and comfortable. I would recommend this hotel and will personally use it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a 24 hour gas station that has refreshments and snacks and some hot food only a short walk away from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
College Station, TX
Jun 6, 2010

Great for less money

It was a great experience. We stayed a night and had to leave 4am in the morning. We had free shuttle service to the airport and they hold our big and heavy luggages until we leave. It's newly remodelled. I cannot believe the price for this quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chrisdcastleberry[@]
Business
Houston, TX
Oct 26, 2010

HoJo

Very quiet. Excellent internet and television...5 HBO channels, nice. Best value of any hotel I've ever stayed at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

stay at the hotel....again, best value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Kaleva, Michigan
May 19, 2011

Good business travel hotel

Nice place, about a year old. Everything in good condition. Manager very helpful and super friendly. Would definitely stay here again if on business in Houston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Unenthusiastic Traveler
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Nov 18, 2011

Convenient place to stay near IAH

The staff were very accommodating and helpful, letting us into the room before check-in time and giving us free toiletries that my wife had forgotten. Room was spacious and pleasant, with comfortable beds and a full-size ironing board and iron in the room. The location was very convenient, just a couple miles off JFK (main road into airport) and easy access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sejo
Business
Panama
Dec 28, 2011

Good hotel near the airport

i needed to stay overnight to catch a flight early in the morning. The attention was great, the hotel shutle picked me up at the airport shortly after my call and took me back for the flight at 5:00 am sharp. The room was clean and it had wi-fi. The hotel is a 10 minutes drive from the airport, has a couple of convenient stores at a walking distance and the price is right; very good overall value. Thanks to the night shift manager for his kind attention

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YourNickname
Business
South Carolina, USA
Jan 26, 2012

Great value

I was quite skeptical driving up to the Howard Johnson because it looked a little sketchy and slightly out of date but the inside was just fine. It was no different than any other hotel I have stayed in and it was very cheap. I was pleased with staying there. The continental breakfast was good as well. The trucks pulling up to the gas station next door make quite a lot of noise in the morning that woke me up a lot. That would be my only complaint.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oregon mom
Business
Pendleton, OR 97801, USA
Mar 7, 2012

Family medical visit

I had to take my daughter to a local medical facility and needed a motel close to the airport because our incoming flight got in after midnight and our outgoing flight departed at 5:57am. The shuttle service is a little iffy so be sure to leave plenty of time to get to the airport. The evening desk clerk was very friendly and helpful, which was great after a long day traveling. Unfortunately, our non-smoking room reeked of cigarettes and he was unable to get us a differrent room and we had to wait till the next morning to move. The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. For the price, it was a decent place to stay for a few nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VKC1
Business
Sunnyvale, CA
Oct 8, 2012

inexpensive hotel close to the airport

I got a good rate at this place and like the fact that it is very close to the airport. Even though the place is new, but the room had a strong hotel smell. It is a basic motel with minimal amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top