$47 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Howard Johnson Houston

2 stars
2221 Greens Road, Houston, TX 77032
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
163 reviews
Excellent

good care, clean rooms and excellent service. the location of the hotel is very good See full review

  • JReyes
  • Apr 28, 2014
Good Place for Short Stay

The hotel, or actually Inn, was pretty good. The bed's toilets, showers were clean. The floor... See full review

  • Easygoing2
  • Feb 27, 2014
Newly built, comfortable hotel close to major Houston airport

Howard Johnson Houston offers new construction and comfortable rooms, less than five miles from George Bush Intercontinental Airport. Thanks to a location near major highways, the hotel is well situated for business and leisure travelers. Guests enjoy budget-friendly amenities such as free Wi-Fi in every guest room and a complimentary breakfast served in the hotel's cheerful, bright dining room.

Highlights
  • Close to George Bush Intercontinental Airport
  • Near major highways
  • Free Wi-Fi and complimentary breakfast
Rooms

Howard Johnson Houston features rooms decorated in warm earth tones and dark wood accents. Every room offers a flat-screen TV, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, microwave and refrigerator. A work desk with ergonomic chair help business travelers get work done, and free Wi-Fi in every room lets guests stay in touch with friends, family and colleagues. Bathrooms are spacious and well-lit, with granite countertops and generously-sized mirrors.

Property features
Thanks to the hotel's location on a major highway, guests can easily and quickly get to many area attractions, including local Greens Point Mall, Houston Police Museum and downtown Houston.
Transportation
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Airport shuttle service (limited hours, fees apply)
  • Houston Hobby Airport (21.8 mi/35.1 km)

 
Nearby attractions
  • Houston Police Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Greens Point Mall (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Downtown Houston (13 mi/20.9 km)Minute Maid Park (18.4 mi/29.7 km)
  • Toyota Center (13.8 mi/22.3 km)
  • Houston museum district (18 mi/29 km) 
  • Reliant Stadium (18.6 mi/30 km)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Houston also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9512 -95.358
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Houston Grand Opera: 13 mi
  • Market Square Park: 13 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 13.1 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 13.1 mi
  • Jones Hall: 13.2 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 13.3 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 13.3 mi
  • Beer Can House: 13.5 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 13.8 mi
  • Toyota Center: 13.8 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 13.9 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 14 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 15 mi
  • Wortham Center: 15.4 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 15.7 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 13 mi
  • Market Square Park: 13 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 13.1 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 13.1 mi
  • Jones Hall: 13.2 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 13.3 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 13.3 mi
  • Beer Can House: 13.5 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 13.8 mi
  • Toyota Center: 13.8 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 13.9 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 14 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 15 mi
  • Wortham Center: 15.4 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 15.7 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 15.7 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 15.7 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 15.7 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 15.7 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 15.9 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 15.9 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 15.9 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 16 mi
  • Water Wall: 16.1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 16.2 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 16.3 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 16.4 mi
  • Hermann Park: 16.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 16.5 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 16.6 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.5 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 18.2 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 18.5 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 18.7 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 20.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (163)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Houston

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
163 out of 163
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.3
Value:
4

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jerusha
Miami, Florida
Jun 25, 2010

Howard Johnson far away!

When, I got there, I gave the woman behind the counter my reservation, which stated 2 double beds, but shw still sign me into a 1 king bed and did not mention, she did not have the room, they overbooked. I needed the 2 bed, she could not get me one until, I called [...]. After, that issue, they found a room and the stay was fine, just very far away from everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

In budget, but be prepared to drive everywhere.

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JudgeV
Indiana, USA
Oct 1, 2011

5 minutes from IAH

staff always helpful, room clean and sufficient, not fancy, great location as to IAH, stores and gas close, good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JudgeV
Indiana, USA
Oct 1, 2011

5 minutes from IAH

staff always helpful, room clean and sufficient, not fancy, great location as to IAH, stores and gas close, good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fernny
Business
Panama
Aug 2, 2013

Good location, nearly the international airport

When you just arrived in the city, you need a hotel for rest , it is closest hotel around the Airport. The service is average, enjoyed the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rollersim
Business
Hawaii, USA
Sep 15, 2011

Interesting

Randomness. Was in the middle of nowhere, but was next to a gas station so convenient yes, but still nothing else was around. Its a room, there was a washcloth left in my shower curtain...they stole my hand soap and replaced it even though I only used it once....waste and gave me new shampoo and conditioner even though i was clearly using the first. Bed was nice, the staff were nice. Can't complain about too much it was a nice place to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Carolina
Sep 26, 2010

Good price for location

Location was a little isolated and a car is needed. Breakfast buffet lacked low fat choices like skim milk. Price was good and a good value. Room was comfortable but truck stop next door made it a little noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Jul 13, 2010

Good for the price

The hotel was average but we got it at a great price. The floor and bedspread had juice stains on them. The bathroom also had ants in it. Other than that, the room was pretty clean and the hotel was quiet. When we were in Houston, we went to several of the museums and Spring Texas. Spring Texas is an old city that is a tourist attraction. It has a lot of shops. The main reason we went to Houston is to attend a wedding, so we did not sight see all that much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Oct 12, 2010

Convenient to airport and affordable

I was pleased with the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. I found that my room had a shower only and was moved to a room with a bathtub when I asked. Also, the airport shuttle service was very efficient and the driver was nice. It had a homey feel because of these nice people. It was also a clean and affordable place to stay near the airport while waiting for a connecting flight the next morning. My only problem was that the mattress was uncomfortable to me so I had a hard time sleeping, also the pillows were too tall in my opinion. With a more comfortable bed it would have been perfect for the occassion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cooperative Parent
Belton, Texas
Sep 14, 2010

Calm and Clean hotel

All was well at my stay however I did leave my ring on the nightstand and when I went back to look for it housekeeping had cleaned the room and my ring was gone. They are trying to locate it but housekeeping does not know anything about it.. odd.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Betawi
Houston, TX, USA
Dec 15, 2011

Great for the price

It was nice actually, but the street was too dark and nothing around

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top