$43 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 13, 2015 Check-out: May 16, 2015

Howard Johnson Houston

2 stars
View map of 2221 Greens Road, Houston, TX 77032

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Houston

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
126 out of 126
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Emerald City Man
Seattle, WA
Aug 12, 2012

Great stay

Great hotel, location, staff, quiet, relaxful. Very close to the airport. Excellent value. Will be back. I appreciate them letting me print my boarding pass from the front desk computer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston
Mar 27, 2011

perfectly quiet

I went away just to have some peace & quiet. I had just what I wanted. There was no loud music, kids, or anything else to disturb me. The only thing that I think needs to change is the TV stations. There are not enough stations to watch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you need anything there is a little store where you can get food, gas or something you forgot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver ,Co
Mar 21, 2011

Terrible customer service

Would highly recommend staying away from this hotel .....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Tx
Mar 11, 2011

Average Room

Pros: Friendly staff. Sweet rolls and cereal for continental breakfast. Clean room and sheets. Cons: Air conditioner would not keep room cool. It would run for a few minutes, then stop and not restart. Grout from tile work in bathroom was not cleaned up when it was installed. There were globs of mortar everywhere that gave an unclean apperance. Continental breakfast area too small to seat more than 6 people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nebraska
Mar 2, 2011

Good hotel

Good value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle
Mar 1, 2011

So so

Nothing to do near there. We didn't have a car. They do not have airport pickup until after 5p.m. Room was nice but a little noisy. Old food was left in microwave which stank. No swimming pool. Very boring. Four miles from airport. Had to take metro transit to get anywhere. A less expensive motel would have been better. No one seemed to speak English. Asked for king, got two double beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Calgary, Alberta
Feb 28, 2011

The shuttle only works until 10 p.m.

This was a nightmare - the shuttle only runs until 10.p.m. and no-one answered the phone. Also make sure that you have a map of the airport area with you as the taxi-driver said he knew where it was - he didn't, The taxi ride should have taken 8 mins and it took us 45 minutes and only after I told the taxi driver to stop as a gas station and ask. Our flight was already over 1 hour late and this took us till 2:00 a.m. to reach the hotel and up again at 6:00 a.m. Never again. It was not the hotel's fault.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Erie, PA
Feb 17, 2011

Good for one night

Very friendly staff. Nice rooms, clean and modern. This is a good place to stay if you will be there for one night, waiting to catch a flight the following morning. It's far from the downtown area, and there are no restaurants around the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bozeman, MT
Feb 16, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

The location of the hotel was great lots of different shopping places as well as restaurants and entertainment, the rooms great very comfortable and the people at the hotel very nice and helpful, the breakfast very good and the room service food delicious, I will reccomend it to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Red Wing, Mn
Feb 10, 2011

close to airport car rental return

Nice trip to Galveston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stafford,TX
Jan 6, 2011

Average Clean...

The room is pretty spacious. It's a family owned hotel so it's well maintenance and clean except I saw some ants in the bathroom on the first day of morning...but the staff came to deal with it immediately. However, my room phone doesn't work and my coffee maker is broken too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top