Howard Johnson Houston

2 stars
View map of 2221 Greens Road, Houston, TX 77032

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Houston

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
126 out of 126
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RAYD
Business
LA
Apr 13, 2012

MUST IMPROVE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST. DINING AREA IS TOO SMALL.

AVERAGE COMFORTABILITY IN ALL; RESPECT./ IT IS OKAY FOR A COUPLE DAYS OF STAY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vick B
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Mar 22, 2012

Price is right

I only stayed for one night so it did the trick. I liked the flat screen television. The hotel is near the airport but not near much else. The hotel receptionist couldn't find my reservation. The room was nice enough. The iron barely worked though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Swilkins
Business
Monroe, LA, USA
Mar 17, 2012

Near airport, not near much else

The location is near G. Bush airport-- convenient for that but there is no restaurant nearby. The room was bearly acceptable. The carpet had a long black mark (grease?) on the right hand side of the bed -- did not seem clean. The door's deadbolt lock did not work and had to be shoved to close completely. Only stayed one night - could not have stayed longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ryan N
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Mar 12, 2012

The basics done well

You get what you pay for, and maybe a little extra. Rooms were very clean and fairly updated. Wifi signal was weak and lost occasionally. Location isn't the greatest. Have to drive a couple miles to find a decent place to eat. Would stay there again if my work required a similar trip in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kaiden22
Business
seattle, wa
Mar 12, 2012

Weekend in Houston

We were visting Houston to prepare for our upcoming move. The price was quite low so you have to expect to get what you paid for. Overall, the staff was very nice, they had a free computer to use which was helpful with our real estate searches, and the entire room was updated with modern decor which was pleasing. I wouldn't have rated it so low if it werent for the followoing issues: the sink was clogged, the grout job on the bathroom tile was messy - grout wasn't wiped off of the tile so there were splatters all over the floor and shower, the toilet seat didn't fit the bowl so the rim stuck out, the blankets were too thin so we had to use the loud heater during the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
firsthoustonvisit
Business
California, USA
Mar 9, 2012

Did the job but probably wouldn't stay there again.

Overall it was fine. The bed was clean and comfortable and there was a nice TV in the room, but there were a few hairs in the bathroom that were not mine, and multiple people told me to be very careful because the location was a particularly bad area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oregon mom
Business
Pendleton, OR 97801, USA
Mar 7, 2012

Family medical visit

I had to take my daughter to a local medical facility and needed a motel close to the airport because our incoming flight got in after midnight and our outgoing flight departed at 5:57am. The shuttle service is a little iffy so be sure to leave plenty of time to get to the airport. The evening desk clerk was very friendly and helpful, which was great after a long day traveling. Unfortunately, our non-smoking room reeked of cigarettes and he was unable to get us a differrent room and we had to wait till the next morning to move. The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. For the price, it was a decent place to stay for a few nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
usacan
Business
Boise, ID, USA
Feb 8, 2012

Very nice property

Nice, clean and modern. Great price. Will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Very close to AIH.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
alan5
Business
jersey shore, nj
Feb 2, 2012

Clean and convenient

Room clean, staff friendly and helpful, good basic stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Nothing close . expect to drive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YourNickname
Business
South Carolina, USA
Jan 26, 2012

Great value

I was quite skeptical driving up to the Howard Johnson because it looked a little sketchy and slightly out of date but the inside was just fine. It was no different than any other hotel I have stayed in and it was very cheap. I was pleased with staying there. The continental breakfast was good as well. The trucks pulling up to the gas station next door make quite a lot of noise in the morning that woke me up a lot. That would be my only complaint.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top