Howard Johnson Houston

2 stars
View map of 2221 Greens Road, Houston, TX 77032

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
126 reviews
great family trip

Staff friendly. Great location. Great amount of distance between from my family nd friends. See full review

  • Kessa R.
  • Feb 24, 2015
Good Place

They were quick and easy and was able to allow me early check in during my over night stay. See full review

  • Jennifer F.
  • Feb 21, 2015
Newly built, comfortable hotel close to major Houston airport

Howard Johnson Houston offers new construction and comfortable rooms, less than five miles from George Bush Intercontinental Airport. Thanks to a location near major highways, the hotel is well situated for business and leisure travelers. Guests enjoy budget-friendly amenities such as free Wi-Fi in every guest room and a complimentary breakfast served in the hotel's cheerful, bright dining room.

Highlights
  • Close to George Bush Intercontinental Airport
  • Near major highways
  • Free Wi-Fi and complimentary breakfast
Rooms

Howard Johnson Houston features rooms decorated in warm earth tones and dark wood accents. Every room offers a flat-screen TV, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, microwave and refrigerator. A work desk with ergonomic chair help business travelers get work done, and free Wi-Fi in every room lets guests stay in touch with friends, family and colleagues. Bathrooms are spacious and well-lit, with granite countertops and generously-sized mirrors.

Property features
Thanks to the hotel's location on a major highway, guests can easily and quickly get to many area attractions, including local Greens Point Mall, Houston Police Museum and downtown Houston.
Transportation
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Airport shuttle service (limited hours, fees apply)
  • Houston Hobby Airport (21.8 mi/35.1 km)

 
Nearby attractions
  • Houston Police Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Greens Point Mall (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Downtown Houston (13 mi/20.9 km)Minute Maid Park (18.4 mi/29.7 km)
  • Toyota Center (13.8 mi/22.3 km)
  • Houston museum district (18 mi/29 km) 
  • Reliant Stadium (18.6 mi/30 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Houston also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Houston Grand Opera: 13 mi
  • Market Square Park: 13 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 13.1 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 13.1 mi
  • Jones Hall: 13.2 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 13.3 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 13.3 mi
  • Beer Can House: 13.5 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 13.8 mi
  • Toyota Center: 13.8 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 13.9 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 14 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 15 mi
  • Wortham Center: 15.4 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 15.7 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 13 mi
  • Market Square Park: 13 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 13.1 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 13.1 mi
  • Jones Hall: 13.2 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 13.3 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 13.3 mi
  • Beer Can House: 13.5 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 13.8 mi
  • Toyota Center: 13.8 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 13.9 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 14 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 15 mi
  • Wortham Center: 15.4 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 15.7 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 15.7 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 15.7 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 15.7 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 15.7 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 15.9 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 15.9 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 15.9 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 16 mi
  • Water Wall: 16.1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 16.2 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 16.3 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 16.4 mi
  • Hermann Park: 16.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 16.5 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 16.6 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.5 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 18.2 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 18.5 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 18.7 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 20.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (126)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Houston

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
126 out of 126
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Emerald City Man
Seattle, WA
Aug 12, 2012

Great stay

Great hotel, location, staff, quiet, relaxful. Very close to the airport. Excellent value. Will be back. I appreciate them letting me print my boarding pass from the front desk computer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
No Haward please
Business
Detroit, MI
Apr 23, 2013

Dont want to stay again

U dont want to stay here... Asked wake up call and no services. Shuttle bus at airport never showed up.. U dont want to stay here... Asked wake up call and no services. Shuttle bus at airport never showed up..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
colonel 1
Business
louisiana
Apr 16, 2013

needs that special something

hotel should list "free parking" in its amenities, but also not list itself as "new construction" because its not. Shuttle service is limited to certain times. Carpet was stain and in very bad condition, major turn-off. Office staff very courteous. It was listed as a 3 star in Price line and its 2 star at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

affordable

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dayna912
Business
Cameron, TX
Mar 11, 2013

Satisfied

Nice, clean and updated. Staff was very polite and courteous. Will definitely return. Access to the Beltway and freeway were excellent. The only negative experience was we asked for extra towels and never received them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
beenallaround
Business
Florida
Mar 7, 2013

Spend Your Extra $$ for a Real hotel - What's Become of HOJO?

I was on a quick overnight for business trip and took the least expensive room in a close proximity to the airport. If I had realized that there was No Shuttle Before 5pm (I spent $20 on a cab 1 way) or that I was in the middle of No Where with Nothing around (I had to order Delivery Chinese food to my room or take another $40 r/t cab to go somewhere to eat a meal) - I would have Never chosen this Hotel. EVER. These are just a couple of points... I Should have spent the extra $40-$60 to stay in a Clean place in a Good Location and not been stressed out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Get the food Delivery from the Chinese Place

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
001T
Business
Kentucky
Mar 1, 2013

Not acceptable

Is motel style (doors that open straight to the outside), stained carpets, stained couch, holes in the sheets, no comforter. Hotel is not near anything except a gas station and sketchy food mart. AIRPORT SHUTTLE ONLY RUNS LIMITED HOURS!! Do not stay here. Yuck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shaybda1
Business
Crockett, Tx
Feb 25, 2013

great room for the price

I have stayed here on several occasions and have had no complaints. Easy access to shopping and freeway! Would definitely recommend!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wrthelena
Business
Montana
Feb 24, 2013

noisy night

I had to overnight in Houston so I chose this hotel because it is close to the airport and in expensive. Unfortunately my flight was delayed and I missed the last hotel shuttle (10 pm) so I had to pay $23 for a 3 mile ride. The hotel room Seemed okay, but it soon became apparent that there was no sound insulation. It was a very noisy night topped off by a guy revving his engine at 4:30 am. Wouldn't' stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RitaMason
Business
Chicago
Dec 30, 2012

Very Nice Experience

I booked this hotel last minute and the pictures on the site were dead on to what I saw when I got to my room. Really nice staff, clean and comfortable room and having what seemed to be a new fridge and microwave in the room was wonderful for my three day stay. Especially since there weren't many restaurants close to this hotel, which was the only downside to staying here. I also was awaken in morning by semi's fueling at the gas station next door but overall I had a good experience. Will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are no restaurants within walking distance of this hotel and most places in this area stop delivering early for some reason. But a few miles away heading back toward IAH airport you will find fast food and some restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bodance
Business
Austin
Dec 25, 2012

Nice staff, good location

The staff was very helpful. They picked us up at the airport and took us back. There was a very good continental breakfast served: Cereal, muffins, fruit and coffee. The room was quiet. They have satellite TV with many channels. There is a shell station and a convenience store across the street, in case you want anything else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
One Nighter from NJ
Business
Linden, New Jersey
Dec 15, 2012

One night stay

Needed a room for one night and the price was very good. Very close to the airport. There isn't much around the hotel besides a gas station and a food mart but there is always food delivery and the hotel supplies menus and complimentary breakfast. If you don't have a car, you can rely on taxis or the free shuttle to and from the airport. (You will need to call the hotel once you're at the airport and request that the shuttle pick you up.) The room was clean and comfortable but it was easy to hear what was going on outside my door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

If you need a place to stay for the United Inflight Training Information Session, the hotel provides a free shuttle to the interview place but does not offer a return shuttle. You will have to catch the free shuttle from the interview place to the airport and then call the hotel to shuttle you back to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top