$43 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 13, 2015 Check-out: May 16, 2015

Howard Johnson Houston

2 stars
View map of 2221 Greens Road, Houston, TX 77032

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Houston

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fernny
Business
Panama
Aug 2, 2013

Good location, nearly the international airport

When you just arrived in the city, you need a hotel for rest , it is closest hotel around the Airport. The service is average, enjoyed the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ted F
Business
New York
May 23, 2013

Don't even consider this place!

FIRST IMPRESSIONS LAST: An older-style motel in a mostly-barren neighborhood adjoining airport properties. Very few cars in the parking lot. Your website listing claimed new construction. Perhaps it's the portico and lobby pictured - it certainly was not evident in the 2 rooms we had. The deadbolt on the door of the first room would not engage. Our request for a replacement room was initially dismissed, but after persistence was given tentative status pending verification of malfunctioning door lock by hotel's driver(?). After that verification we were provided with a new room. The deadbolt worked but he swinging bar guard on the door was out of alignment (the door had to be open an inch to secure it, but it disengaged upon closing the door. We put the floor lamp and our luggage in front of the door as an extra measure of security. The room? Musty. Dark, even with 3 lamps. The beds? No blanket, just a sheet and stained bedspread. Bathroom fair to poor. During a mid-night trip to the bathroom I scraped my arm on the sharp-edged clothing hook mounted at hip-height on the inside of the door. Looking for the light switch I felt something sharp on the wall - a mounting plate for something, perhaps a hair dryer base. The shower curtain did not reach the bottom of the handicap-access shower so water spreading across the bathroom floor should have been no surprise, I suppose. The low-flow spigot on the sink let out little more than a mist. Coffee accessories were present in the bathroom but no coffee maker. My wife is upset with me for booking at this location. I've never been so pleased to leave a hotel room as I was at this check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
No Haward please
Business
Detroit, MI
Apr 23, 2013

Dont want to stay again

U dont want to stay here... Asked wake up call and no services. Shuttle bus at airport never showed up.. U dont want to stay here... Asked wake up call and no services. Shuttle bus at airport never showed up..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
colonel 1
Business
louisiana
Apr 16, 2013

needs that special something

hotel should list "free parking" in its amenities, but also not list itself as "new construction" because its not. Shuttle service is limited to certain times. Carpet was stain and in very bad condition, major turn-off. Office staff very courteous. It was listed as a 3 star in Price line and its 2 star at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

affordable

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dayna912
Business
Cameron, TX
Mar 11, 2013

Satisfied

Nice, clean and updated. Staff was very polite and courteous. Will definitely return. Access to the Beltway and freeway were excellent. The only negative experience was we asked for extra towels and never received them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
beenallaround
Business
Florida
Mar 7, 2013

Spend Your Extra $$ for a Real hotel - What's Become of HOJO?

I was on a quick overnight for business trip and took the least expensive room in a close proximity to the airport. If I had realized that there was No Shuttle Before 5pm (I spent $20 on a cab 1 way) or that I was in the middle of No Where with Nothing around (I had to order Delivery Chinese food to my room or take another $40 r/t cab to go somewhere to eat a meal) - I would have Never chosen this Hotel. EVER. These are just a couple of points... I Should have spent the extra $40-$60 to stay in a Clean place in a Good Location and not been stressed out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Get the food Delivery from the Chinese Place

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
001T
Business
Kentucky
Mar 1, 2013

Not acceptable

Is motel style (doors that open straight to the outside), stained carpets, stained couch, holes in the sheets, no comforter. Hotel is not near anything except a gas station and sketchy food mart. AIRPORT SHUTTLE ONLY RUNS LIMITED HOURS!! Do not stay here. Yuck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shaybda1
Business
Crockett, Tx
Feb 25, 2013

great room for the price

I have stayed here on several occasions and have had no complaints. Easy access to shopping and freeway! Would definitely recommend!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wrthelena
Business
Montana
Feb 24, 2013

noisy night

I had to overnight in Houston so I chose this hotel because it is close to the airport and in expensive. Unfortunately my flight was delayed and I missed the last hotel shuttle (10 pm) so I had to pay $23 for a 3 mile ride. The hotel room Seemed okay, but it soon became apparent that there was no sound insulation. It was a very noisy night topped off by a guy revving his engine at 4:30 am. Wouldn't' stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RitaMason
Business
Chicago
Dec 30, 2012

Very Nice Experience

I booked this hotel last minute and the pictures on the site were dead on to what I saw when I got to my room. Really nice staff, clean and comfortable room and having what seemed to be a new fridge and microwave in the room was wonderful for my three day stay. Especially since there weren't many restaurants close to this hotel, which was the only downside to staying here. I also was awaken in morning by semi's fueling at the gas station next door but overall I had a good experience. Will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are no restaurants within walking distance of this hotel and most places in this area stop delivering early for some reason. But a few miles away heading back toward IAH airport you will find fast food and some restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top