Howard Johnson Houston

2 stars
View map of 2221 Greens Road, Houston, TX 77032

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Houston

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
126 out of 126
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
thip
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Mar 24, 2014

ok

Hotel is old for Howard Johnson, does not have a wow!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Easygoing2
Business
California
Feb 27, 2014

Good Place for Short Stay

The hotel, or actually Inn, was pretty good. The bed's toilets, showers were clean. The floor carpet was not so clean. but as far as one person staying one night for simple rest, its O.K. and recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You can find lots of places in John F. Kennedy Boulvard

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Zarah
Business
Dallas
Feb 24, 2014

Experience

It is not newly build. It is old motel. The picture shows on line is different but it is motel. not enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
r.j. gold
Business
mcallen
Feb 9, 2014

great stay

From the time you arrive you welcomed and feel right at home

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Busy business travel
Business
Los Angeles
Feb 3, 2014

Met my needs for business trip

Efficient, clean, great staff, comfortable bed, quiet. I was in need of simple, safe, economical hotel just to recharge my batteries during trip to Houston. This hotel fit the bill in every way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
hotel connissure
Business
Portland, Oregon
Jan 24, 2014

ok

It was ok for the price and clean, continental breakfast could be better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The metro system is a super money saver you can buy a day pass for $3

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jimbo13
Business
Livingston Texas
Dec 10, 2013

2 Stars?

There was trash left in the room from a previous guest. The coffee maker carafe was full of mold and the old grounds were still in it. We had a 5:00 AM departure time and the staff finally brought us a new coffee machine about 11 at night. Will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RobMed
Business
Alabama
Sep 4, 2013

Ants and other unknown bugs in the bed and bath

The first night we had ants in the bed crawling on us. The last night we had ants and other bugs in the bed, not sure what the other bugs were, I call them bed bugs since they were in the bed with us. The bath room and whole room where dirty, we only slept there 4 nights, could not have stayed any longer. The door had a gap between the door and floor that needed it's own curtain to keep the street lights out, we used a towel to block it, most likely how the ants came in. Not a New Hotel/Motel as the website states, towels, sheets and carpet all show the age

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fernny
Business
Panama
Aug 2, 2013

Good location, nearly the international airport

When you just arrived in the city, you need a hotel for rest , it is closest hotel around the Airport. The service is average, enjoyed the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ted F
Business
New York
May 23, 2013

Don't even consider this place!

FIRST IMPRESSIONS LAST: An older-style motel in a mostly-barren neighborhood adjoining airport properties. Very few cars in the parking lot. Your website listing claimed new construction. Perhaps it's the portico and lobby pictured - it certainly was not evident in the 2 rooms we had. The deadbolt on the door of the first room would not engage. Our request for a replacement room was initially dismissed, but after persistence was given tentative status pending verification of malfunctioning door lock by hotel's driver(?). After that verification we were provided with a new room. The deadbolt worked but he swinging bar guard on the door was out of alignment (the door had to be open an inch to secure it, but it disengaged upon closing the door. We put the floor lamp and our luggage in front of the door as an extra measure of security. The room? Musty. Dark, even with 3 lamps. The beds? No blanket, just a sheet and stained bedspread. Bathroom fair to poor. During a mid-night trip to the bathroom I scraped my arm on the sharp-edged clothing hook mounted at hip-height on the inside of the door. Looking for the light switch I felt something sharp on the wall - a mounting plate for something, perhaps a hair dryer base. The shower curtain did not reach the bottom of the handicap-access shower so water spreading across the bathroom floor should have been no surprise, I suppose. The low-flow spigot on the sink let out little more than a mist. Coffee accessories were present in the bathroom but no coffee maker. My wife is upset with me for booking at this location. I've never been so pleased to leave a hotel room as I was at this check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top