$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

Howard Johnson Houston

2 stars
View map of 2221 Greens Road, Houston, TX 77032

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
136 reviews
great family trip

Staff friendly. Great location. Great amount of distance between from my family nd friends. See full review

  • Kessa R.
  • Feb 24, 2015
Good Place

They were quick and easy and was able to allow me early check in during my over night stay. See full review

  • Jennifer F.
  • Feb 21, 2015
Newly built, comfortable hotel close to major Houston airport

Howard Johnson Houston offers new construction and comfortable rooms, less than five miles from George Bush Intercontinental Airport. Thanks to a location near major highways, the hotel is well situated for business and leisure travelers. Guests enjoy budget-friendly amenities such as free Wi-Fi in every guest room and a complimentary breakfast served in the hotel's cheerful, bright dining room.

Highlights
  • Close to George Bush Intercontinental Airport
  • Near major highways
  • Free Wi-Fi and complimentary breakfast
Rooms

Howard Johnson Houston features rooms decorated in warm earth tones and dark wood accents. Every room offers a flat-screen TV, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, microwave and refrigerator. A work desk with ergonomic chair help business travelers get work done, and free Wi-Fi in every room lets guests stay in touch with friends, family and colleagues. Bathrooms are spacious and well-lit, with granite countertops and generously-sized mirrors.

Property features
Thanks to the hotel's location on a major highway, guests can easily and quickly get to many area attractions, including local Greens Point Mall, Houston Police Museum and downtown Houston.
Transportation
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Airport shuttle service (limited hours, fees apply)
  • Houston Hobby Airport (21.8 mi/35.1 km)

 
Nearby attractions
  • Houston Police Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Greens Point Mall (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Downtown Houston (13 mi/20.9 km)Minute Maid Park (18.4 mi/29.7 km)
  • Toyota Center (13.8 mi/22.3 km)
  • Houston museum district (18 mi/29 km) 
  • Reliant Stadium (18.6 mi/30 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Houston also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Houston Grand Opera: 13 mi
  • Market Square Park: 13 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 13.1 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 13.1 mi
  • Jones Hall: 13.2 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 13.3 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 13.3 mi
  • Beer Can House: 13.5 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 13.8 mi
  • Toyota Center: 13.8 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 13.9 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 14 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 15 mi
  • Wortham Center: 15.4 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 15.7 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 13 mi
  • Market Square Park: 13 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 13.1 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 13.1 mi
  • Jones Hall: 13.2 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 13.3 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 13.3 mi
  • Beer Can House: 13.5 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 13.8 mi
  • Toyota Center: 13.8 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 13.9 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 14 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 15 mi
  • Wortham Center: 15.4 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 15.7 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 15.7 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 15.7 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 15.7 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 15.7 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 15.9 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 15.9 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 15.9 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 16 mi
  • Water Wall: 16.1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 16.2 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 16.3 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 16.4 mi
  • Hermann Park: 16.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 16.5 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 16.6 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.5 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 18.2 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 18.5 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 18.7 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 20.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Houston

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
136 out of 136
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Emerald City Man
Seattle, WA
Aug 12, 2012

Great stay

Great hotel, location, staff, quiet, relaxful. Very close to the airport. Excellent value. Will be back. I appreciate them letting me print my boarding pass from the front desk computer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pamela C.
Business
N/A
May 19, 2015

Uncomfortable stay

The room had 2 full size beds and both of them were very uncomfortable. The bathroom wasn't completely stocked properly. We couldn't find the ice machine so I went to the store and got a bag of ice. The breakfast that was served Saturday morning was ridiculous small. I checked out of the hotel on Saturday morning. 5/16/15 before 11:00 a.m. cause I had to leave. I would like a refund on my credit card. I didn't stay 2 nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kessa R.
Business
N/A
Feb 24, 2015

great family trip

Staff friendly. Great location. Great amount of distance between from my family nd friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jennifer F.
Business
rogers
Feb 21, 2015

Good Place

They were quick and easy and was able to allow me early check in during my over night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Neneh Y.
Business
Denton
Jan 6, 2015

Awesome Family Trip

I love Haward Johnson Hotel. It's the best. I Always stay there and I hope you all could stay there. It's safe, less expenses and good quality service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Keith D.
Business
Hays
Jan 5, 2015

It was OK

Web only stayed at the hotel because we had a layover. Wasn't a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Claudia V
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 20, 2014

Overnight Hotel Stay

I stayed in this hotel for one night while I had an overnight flight at IAH, it is a very convenient hotel since it is so close to the airport. But it is exactly that, only a place to stay a night for. Nothing special, not bad or good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tosha816
Business
Denver Colorado
Nov 6, 2014

howard johnson greens rd

I honestly didn't have a bad experience. The only thing is that there is nothing close besides 2 gas stations. I had to commute for food. But the shuttle picked me up from the airport within 20 mins. Not too bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VooVitti
Business
Chicago
Oct 20, 2014

don't do it

You have been warned! Very dirty. The WIFI sucks...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Room 116
Business
Houston, TX
Oct 4, 2014

Go to Days Inn

Never will i ever stay here again room to my room only to be greeted by a huge spider. Then once i got in my room I was then greeted by another falling from the ceiling in the bathroom. Tried to go to the car and was having trouble trying to close the door, went to the service counter to get a new room and the guy was giving me unnecessary And negative comments. The next room fridge didn't work and neither did the television. It was just horrible from the view shown on the Internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
yeah dawg
Business
Pittsburgh
Sep 25, 2014

Good Value

The Staff was very responsive with request from our family. Spacious room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top