$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 25, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

2 stars
4602 Katy Freeway/I-10, Houston, TX 77007
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
33 reviews
what a surprise

For a budgete hotel 3 miles form downtown, this couldnt get any better. Very clean room, friendly... See full review

  • paragon travels
  • Feb 9, 2013
great customer service

The desk clerk was very helpful with directions and restaurant ideas. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Oct 17, 2008
Take the family to this Howard Johnson Inn Houston Downtown just off Interstate 10 near George R. Brown Convention Center, Downtown Aquarium, parks and sporting events. Space Center Houston, Johnson Space Center and NASA operations are less than a half hour away. Nearby restaurants offer a delivery service to this lodging. Wake up to a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast with hot items, stay up to date with the complimentary newspaper, and plan your exciting day with complimentary wireless Internet access. A business center with computer access is available to stay productive on the road. Comfortable guest rooms include refrigerator, microwave, work desk and coffee/tea maker. Smoke-free and handicapped-accessible rooms are also available. There is no charge for children 17 and under with an adult.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.7779 -95.4074
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Beer Can House: 1.2 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 1.6 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 2.5 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 2.5 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 2.7 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 2.7 mi
  • Jones Hall: 2.8 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 2.8 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.8 mi
  • Market Square Park: 2.9 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 3 mi
  • Toyota Center: 3.3 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.7 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.7 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 3.7 mi
  • Beer Can House: 1.2 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 1.6 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 2.5 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 2.5 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 2.7 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 2.7 mi
  • Jones Hall: 2.8 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 2.8 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.8 mi
  • Market Square Park: 2.9 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 3 mi
  • Toyota Center: 3.3 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.7 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.7 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 3.7 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 3.8 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 3.9 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 4 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 4 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 4.2 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 4.3 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Water Wall: 4.3 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Hermann Park: 4.5 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 5.2 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 5.2 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 5.2 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 5.2 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 6.3 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 6.4 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 10.4 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 10.7 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 14.8 mi
  • Wortham Center: 15.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
01:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (33)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 33
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.4

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vargas's
Austin Tx.
Mar 12, 2013

Good

Staff was very friendly, was a kind of small area for breakfast but service and quick attention make the difference

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
therivd
Dallas, TX, USA
Mar 17, 2012

Family vacation

Great location to the downtown children's museum and aquarium. Had a good variety of breakfast items just not much space in the lobby to eat. Not bad if you are just looking for a place to crash at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
MISSION, TX
Mar 20, 2011

FORCED SIGN A BOUCHER WITH AMEX & LOSTED

I WAS FORCED TO SIGN A BOUCHER WITH MY AMEX DESPITE IT WAS ALREADY PAYED, AND AT THE CHECK OUT THEY DIDNT FIND THE BOUCHER, THIS IS ILEGAL, BECAUSE I ALREADY HAVE A FRAUD DONE BY A HOTEL IN MIAMI SIX YEARS AGO.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
MISSION, TX
Mar 20, 2011

FORCED SIGN A BOUCHER WITH AMEX & LOSTED

I WAS FORCED TO SIGN A BOUCHER WITH MY AMEX DESPITE IT WAS ALREADY PAYED, AND AT THE CHECK OUT THEY DIDNT FIND THE BOUCHER, THIS IS ILEGAL, BECAUSE I ALREADY HAVE A FRAUD DONE BY A HOTEL IN MIAMI SIX YEARS AGO.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Feb 1, 2011

Make yourself at home!

I really liked my staying at this hotel. They call you by your name and that made me feel important. The location is great too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Feb 1, 2011

Make yourself at home!

I really liked my staying at this hotel. They call you by your name and that made me feel important. The location is great too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lana jane Preston
Howard Johnson Inn Express
Nov 17, 2009

Not so Good....

it was in a scaery location. I asked the manager to come unclog the tub. He wanted to move us verses fixing it. I explained to him that my dad is in a wheelchair and that wasnt going to be a convenient solution. He still insisted on moving us verses just coming himself with a plunger. he said the repair guy was out. We checkout and moved to the Omni.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lana jane Preston
Howard Johnson Inn Express
Nov 17, 2009

Not so Good....

it was in a scaery location. I asked the manager to come unclog the tub. He wanted to move us verses fixing it. I explained to him that my dad is in a wheelchair and that wasnt going to be a convenient solution. He still insisted on moving us verses just coming himself with a plunger. he said the repair guy was out. We checkout and moved to the Omni.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top