$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 7, 2014 Check-out: Dec 10, 2014

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

2 stars
4602 Katy Freeway/I-10, Houston, TX 77007
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
23 reviews
what a surprise

For a budgete hotel 3 miles form downtown, this couldnt get any better. Very clean room, friendly... See full review

  • paragon travels
  • Feb 9, 2013
great customer service

The desk clerk was very helpful with directions and restaurant ideas. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Oct 17, 2008
Take the family to this Howard Johnson Inn Houston Downtown just off Interstate 10 near George R. Brown Convention Center, Downtown Aquarium, parks and sporting events. Space Center Houston, Johnson Space Center and NASA operations are less than a half hour away. Nearby restaurants offer a delivery service to this lodging. Wake up to a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast with hot items, stay up to date with the complimentary newspaper, and plan your exciting day with complimentary wireless Internet access. A business center with computer access is available to stay productive on the road. Comfortable guest rooms include refrigerator, microwave, work desk and coffee/tea maker. Smoke-free and handicapped-accessible rooms are also available. There is no charge for children 17 and under with an adult.

Hotel Map

29.7779 -95.4074
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Beer Can House: 1.2 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 1.6 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 2.5 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 2.5 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 2.7 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 2.7 mi
  • Jones Hall: 2.8 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 2.8 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.8 mi
  • Market Square Park: 2.9 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 3 mi
  • Toyota Center: 3.3 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.7 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.7 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 3.7 mi
  • Beer Can House: 1.2 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 1.6 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 2.5 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 2.5 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 2.7 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 2.7 mi
  • Jones Hall: 2.8 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 2.8 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.8 mi
  • Market Square Park: 2.9 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 3 mi
  • Toyota Center: 3.3 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.7 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.7 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 3.7 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 3.8 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 3.9 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 4 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 4 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 4.2 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 4.3 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Water Wall: 4.3 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Hermann Park: 4.5 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 5.2 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 5.2 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 5.2 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 5.2 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 6.3 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 6.4 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 10.4 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 10.7 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 14.8 mi
  • Wortham Center: 15.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
01:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (23)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 23
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
2.9
Value:
2.9

33% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Quilty One
Business
Chicago
Oct 29, 2013

Not Happy!

I am so angry I could scream. This motel was dirty and disheveled, the so-called continental breakfast area could only accommodate 4 people at a time, and the posted rate was 30% less than what we paid. This was not surprising, since most of the other patrons seemed to be there by the hour. If you don't mind coming home to pimps in the parking lot waiting for their "employees" to finish their jobs, then it might not be so bad. The owners were very nice, and I really felt kind of sorry for them, but I would not recommend this motel to my worst enemy. Sorry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Spaghetti Warehouse - good food, large portions, reasonable prices and nice atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Providence, RI
Jul 17, 2009

Lousy

I was visiting Houston on business and was totally disappointed with this hotel. The "deluxe" continental breakfast was lousy coffee, cereal, mini donuts and wonder bread. I went to nearby breakfast restaurants instead, but I chose a place with breakfast included to keep costs down! The location was bad, the walls were paper thin, the staff was unpleasant at best, downright rude at worst. The bathroom was dirty, the toilet seat was broken. Every time I ran the water to brush my teeth or wash my hands I smelled sewage. When I arrived the A/C was off and the room was sweltering. Whenever another guest shut their door my room shook. And the trains came by tooting their horns all night. One positive was the wireless internet. It was fast and free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Texas
Mar 7, 2010

Never Again!!

We arrived about 7pm and upon going to our room we smelled fresh paint. When we tried to turn on air conditioning, knob was missing so had to call manager and he brought another knob. There were only 2 thin bathtowels so I had to go get some more. Each day I had to go get more. There is a refrigerator (which made a ticking noise all night), microwave, iron and ironing board and coffee maker but after the 1st day, no coffee was left and had to ask for it each day. There was not a mattress pad covering the bed which I found to be gross. Sheets were very thin and the bottom sheet was not fitted so the sheets were tangled all night. On our last night stay, a fitted sheet was put on but it was the wrong size so it kept coming off. Contential breakfast consisted of whole milk, asked for skim and told no, apples, powered donuts, coffee, juice, cereal and bread. Heard the train and traffic all night. There was free internet but did not feel safe about leaving it in the room. Last morning we were there, went to the lobby for breakfast and the lady (I found out it was the manager's wife) was walking around the lobby and outside bear footed and throwing water out the front door. We were never greeted when we came to the lobby; in fact, ignored. Upon checking out, I asked for a receipt and was told we didn't get one. I tried to tell the manager's wife this but she spoke no English and called her husband to talk to me. I explained that in ever hotel I have stayed, I always got a receipt for charges upon checkout. He said because I used a credit card, I didn't get one. It was the policy of Howard Johnson, eventhough there was a sign that said the hotel was independently owed. All I can say about my stay, is the room was cleaned everyday. Don't expect alot because you won't get it. Stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Porscheguy
Business
Laredo, TX, USA
Mar 2, 2014

Least Expensive for a Reason

Older small motel. Rooms were clean but that's about it. The owners seem to be trying to spruce it up but there's not much to be done given the old design. Noisy with I 10 but very convenient to downtown. Will not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Business travler
Business
Westminster, CO
May 4, 2009

Dirty

Friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lighting Man
Business
Cranston, RI
Mar 15, 2011

First Trip to Houston

Service was good but not sure this hotel deserved the 3 star rating offered on the [...]web site. For the money, however, it fulfilled its purpose. Be aware of traffic of I10 and give yourself a few extra minutes if heading to the downtown area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
svntwosix
Business
San Francisco, CA
Feb 19, 2012

Very clean place to sleep

Very clean hotel and is quite comfortable. The only gripe is the construction that did wake me at 6am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shreveport, LA
Mar 29, 2011

Affordable and clean

My room was clean and supplied well. Front desk was very helpful. Continental breakfast was a nice added bonus. I would stay at this hotel again and do recommend it if you are on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
paragon travels
Business
dallas
Feb 9, 2013

what a surprise

For a budgete hotel 3 miles form downtown, this couldnt get any better. Very clean room, friendly management

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top