$74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 10, 2015

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

2 stars
View map of 4602 Katy Freeway/I-10, Houston, TX 77007

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.4

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cong
Business
Honolulu, HI
May 15, 2007

My review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston

not that great. the room is too dark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are some restaurants on nearby street,but the foods aren't that great.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Business travler
Business
Westminster, CO
May 4, 2009

Dirty

Friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kylead84
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Dec 1, 2011

Very nice place for decent prices.

Pros-The rooms were more than I had expected very nice furniture and I didn't notice until the second day that they had three pillows of all different kinds. Soft and fluffy, one of a firmer pillow, and then the third was I nice big body pillow. The was very clean and not disgusting. Cons-The breakfast was horrible. They had very not so polite staff. Those are my only complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jediknightcub
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Feb 29, 2012

Great value

Pros: Great value. Clean. Convenient. Friendly and helpful front desk and housekeeping staff. Decent wifi. Cons: Parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
therivd
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Mar 17, 2012

Family vacation

Great location to the downtown children's museum and aquarium. Had a good variety of breakfast items just not much space in the lobby to eat. Not bad if you are just looking for a place to crash at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MISSION, TX
Mar 20, 2011

FORCED SIGN A BOUCHER WITH AMEX & LOSTED

I WAS FORCED TO SIGN A BOUCHER WITH MY AMEX DESPITE IT WAS ALREADY PAYED, AND AT THE CHECK OUT THEY DIDNT FIND THE BOUCHER, THIS IS ILEGAL, BECAUSE I ALREADY HAVE A FRAUD DONE BY A HOTEL IN MIAMI SIX YEARS AGO.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Houston Tx
Jan 11, 2011

Great stay

Drove to the airport and back and if you get on the wrong highway may need change for toll roads. Watched the Packer game on a flat screen TV!!! Packers won!!! Rooms were clean and easy on and off freeway. Rooms were very clean and the bed was incredibly comfortable. I would recommend to a friend and may stay there again. The office workers were great but the breakfast isn't much...so bring your own.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
svntwosix
Business
San Francisco, CA
Feb 19, 2012

Very clean place to sleep

Very clean hotel and is quite comfortable. The only gripe is the construction that did wake me at 6am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rick Hand
Business
Cookeville, Tennessee
Jun 25, 2012

Good Experience

My wife and I enjoyed our stay. The room was nice and the staff friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wichita
May 3, 2010

good value and location

This is a convenient, reasonably priced place for an out-of-towner with a car to stay. It's convenient to downtown, Montrose area and Galleria. Nice breakfast. Refrigerator in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top