$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 16, 2014 Check-out: May 19, 2014

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

2 stars
4602 Katy Freeway/I-10, Houston, TX 77007
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
23 reviews
what a surprise

For a budgete hotel 3 miles form downtown, this couldnt get any better. Very clean room, friendly... See full review

  • paragon travels
  • Feb 9, 2013
great customer service

The desk clerk was very helpful with directions and restaurant ideas. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Oct 17, 2008
Gold Medal Hotel for 5 straight years FREE DELUXE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST FREE HIGH SPEED WIRELESS INTERNET IN ALL ROOMS EXPANDED CABLE TV W/ HBO, MICRO/FRIG, COFFEE MAKER DOWNTOWN HOUSTON 3 MI. GALLERIA MALL 3 MI MEMORIAL PARK 0.5 MI GEORGE BROWN CONVENTION CENTER 5.5 MI MUSEUM DISTRICT 9 MI MINUTE MAID STADIUM AND TOYOTA CENTER 4 MI UNIVERSITY OF HOUSTON 5 MI RELIANT PARK 16 MI NASA SPACE CENTER 25 MI TEXAS MEDICAL CENTER 14 MI RICE UNIVERSITY 7 MI Shuttle Service - 800 BLUE-VAN - 800-258-3826 Taxi - 713-236-1111

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.7779 -95.4074
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Beer Can House: 1.2 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 1.6 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 2.5 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 2.5 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 2.7 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 2.7 mi
  • Jones Hall: 2.8 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 2.8 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.8 mi
  • Market Square Park: 2.9 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 3 mi
  • Toyota Center: 3.3 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.7 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.7 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 3.7 mi
  • Beer Can House: 1.2 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 1.6 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 2.5 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 2.5 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 2.7 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 2.7 mi
  • Jones Hall: 2.8 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 2.8 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.8 mi
  • Market Square Park: 2.9 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 3 mi
  • Toyota Center: 3.3 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.7 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.7 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 3.7 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 3.8 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 3.9 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 4 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 4 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 4.2 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 4.3 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Water Wall: 4.3 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Hermann Park: 4.5 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 5.2 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 5.2 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 5.2 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 5.2 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 6.3 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 6.4 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 10.4 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 10.7 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 14.8 mi
  • Wortham Center: 15.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
01:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (23)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Overall score

2.9 / 5
23 out of 23
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.4

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

4
Rick Hand
Cookeville, Tennessee
Jun 25, 2012

Good Experience

My wife and I enjoyed our stay. The room was nice and the staff friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

1
Quilty One
Business
Chicago
Oct 29, 2013

Not Happy!

I am so angry I could scream. This motel was dirty and disheveled, the so-called continental breakfast area could only accommodate 4 people at a time, and the posted rate was 30% less than what we paid. This was not surprising, since most of the other patrons seemed to be there by the hour. If you don't mind coming home to pimps in the parking lot waiting for their "employees" to finish their jobs, then it might not be so bad. The owners were very nice, and I really felt kind of sorry for them, but I would not recommend this motel to my worst enemy. Sorry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Spaghetti Warehouse - good food, large portions, reasonable prices and nice atmosphere.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

1
Lana jane Preston
Howard Johnson Inn Express
Nov 17, 2009

Not so Good....

it was in a scaery location. I asked the manager to come unclog the tub. He wanted to move us verses fixing it. I explained to him that my dad is in a wheelchair and that wasnt going to be a convenient solution. He still insisted on moving us verses just coming himself with a plunger. he said the repair guy was out. We checkout and moved to the Omni.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Texas
Mar 7, 2010

Never Again!!

We arrived about 7pm and upon going to our room we smelled fresh paint. When we tried to turn on air conditioning, knob was missing so had to call manager and he brought another knob. There were only 2 thin bathtowels so I had to go get some more. Each day I had to go get more. There is a refrigerator (which made a ticking noise all night), microwave, iron and ironing board and coffee maker but after the 1st day, no coffee was left and had to ask for it each day. There was not a mattress pad covering the bed which I found to be gross. Sheets were very thin and the bottom sheet was not fitted so the sheets were tangled all night. On our last night stay, a fitted sheet was put on but it was the wrong size so it kept coming off. Contential breakfast consisted of whole milk, asked for skim and told no, apples, powered donuts, coffee, juice, cereal and bread. Heard the train and traffic all night. There was free internet but did not feel safe about leaving it in the room. Last morning we were there, went to the lobby for breakfast and the lady (I found out it was the manager's wife) was walking around the lobby and outside bear footed and throwing water out the front door. We were never greeted when we came to the lobby; in fact, ignored. Upon checking out, I asked for a receipt and was told we didn't get one. I tried to tell the manager's wife this but she spoke no English and called her husband to talk to me. I explained that in ever hotel I have stayed, I always got a receipt for charges upon checkout. He said because I used a credit card, I didn't get one. It was the policy of Howard Johnson, eventhough there was a sign that said the hotel was independently owed. All I can say about my stay, is the room was cleaned everyday. Don't expect alot because you won't get it. Stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Business
Providence, RI
Jul 17, 2009

Lousy

I was visiting Houston on business and was totally disappointed with this hotel. The "deluxe" continental breakfast was lousy coffee, cereal, mini donuts and wonder bread. I went to nearby breakfast restaurants instead, but I chose a place with breakfast included to keep costs down! The location was bad, the walls were paper thin, the staff was unpleasant at best, downright rude at worst. The bathroom was dirty, the toilet seat was broken. Every time I ran the water to brush my teeth or wash my hands I smelled sewage. When I arrived the A/C was off and the room was sweltering. Whenever another guest shut their door my room shook. And the trains came by tooting their horns all night. One positive was the wireless internet. It was fast and free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

2
Porscheguy
Business
Laredo, TX, USA
Mar 2, 2014

Least Expensive for a Reason

Older small motel. Rooms were clean but that's about it. The owners seem to be trying to spruce it up but there's not much to be done given the old design. Noisy with I 10 but very convenient to downtown. Will not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

2
FresshLuLu
Boulder, CO, USA
Nov 7, 2011

It is a functional two star motel.

Did not love this place and would not recommend it to anyone unless they had no other option. Bed and pillows were really REALLY soft, the towels and washcloths were stained and scratchy, the A/C smelled moldy which explained the funky stink in the room, the noise from the road was non-stop. Overall cleanliness was okay, but furnishings and paint were obviously old. For $68 a night I expect a lot more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Vietnam Restaurant had delicious, reasonably priced meals, fabulous service, BYOB.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

2
Business travler
Business
Westminster, CO
May 4, 2009

Dirty

Friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

2
Cong
Honolulu, HI
May 15, 2007

My review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston

not that great. the room is too dark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are some restaurants on nearby street,but the foods aren't that great.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

2
Vargas's
Austin Tx.
Mar 12, 2013

Good

Staff was very friendly, was a kind of small area for breakfast but service and quick attention make the difference

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

2
Lighting Man
Business
Cranston, RI
Mar 15, 2011

First Trip to Houston

Service was good but not sure this hotel deserved the 3 star rating offered on the [...]web site. For the money, however, it fulfilled its purpose. Be aware of traffic of I10 and give yourself a few extra minutes if heading to the downtown area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top