$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 23, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

2 stars
View map of 4602 Katy Freeway/I-10, Houston, TX 77007

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.4

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mollyapple
Business
Australia
Sep 30, 2011

Great for a short stay

I had a short weekend stop in Houston. From here it was easy to get anywhere.. downtown and around the city. Close to Freeway but not noisy. Room was clean and staff very helpful. Got shuttle bus to airport. I'd stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

To go to the airport take the shuttle bus. If traffic is bad it can keep moving on the HOV lane.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shreveport, LA
Mar 29, 2011

Affordable and clean

My room was clean and supplied well. Front desk was very helpful. Continental breakfast was a nice added bonus. I would stay at this hotel again and do recommend it if you are on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MISSION, TX
Mar 20, 2011

FORCED SIGN A BOUCHER WITH AMEX & LOSTED

I WAS FORCED TO SIGN A BOUCHER WITH MY AMEX DESPITE IT WAS ALREADY PAYED, AND AT THE CHECK OUT THEY DIDNT FIND THE BOUCHER, THIS IS ILEGAL, BECAUSE I ALREADY HAVE A FRAUD DONE BY A HOTEL IN MIAMI SIX YEARS AGO.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lighting Man
Business
Cranston, RI
Mar 15, 2011

First Trip to Houston

Service was good but not sure this hotel deserved the 3 star rating offered on the [...]web site. For the money, however, it fulfilled its purpose. Be aware of traffic of I10 and give yourself a few extra minutes if heading to the downtown area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Feb 1, 2011

Make yourself at home!

I really liked my staying at this hotel. They call you by your name and that made me feel important. The location is great too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Houston Tx
Jan 11, 2011

Great stay

Drove to the airport and back and if you get on the wrong highway may need change for toll roads. Watched the Packer game on a flat screen TV!!! Packers won!!! Rooms were clean and easy on and off freeway. Rooms were very clean and the bed was incredibly comfortable. I would recommend to a friend and may stay there again. The office workers were great but the breakfast isn't much...so bring your own.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wichita
May 3, 2010

good value and location

This is a convenient, reasonably priced place for an out-of-towner with a car to stay. It's convenient to downtown, Montrose area and Galleria. Nice breakfast. Refrigerator in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Texas
Mar 7, 2010

Never Again!!

We arrived about 7pm and upon going to our room we smelled fresh paint. When we tried to turn on air conditioning, knob was missing so had to call manager and he brought another knob. There were only 2 thin bathtowels so I had to go get some more. Each day I had to go get more. There is a refrigerator (which made a ticking noise all night), microwave, iron and ironing board and coffee maker but after the 1st day, no coffee was left and had to ask for it each day. There was not a mattress pad covering the bed which I found to be gross. Sheets were very thin and the bottom sheet was not fitted so the sheets were tangled all night. On our last night stay, a fitted sheet was put on but it was the wrong size so it kept coming off. Contential breakfast consisted of whole milk, asked for skim and told no, apples, powered donuts, coffee, juice, cereal and bread. Heard the train and traffic all night. There was free internet but did not feel safe about leaving it in the room. Last morning we were there, went to the lobby for breakfast and the lady (I found out it was the manager's wife) was walking around the lobby and outside bear footed and throwing water out the front door. We were never greeted when we came to the lobby; in fact, ignored. Upon checking out, I asked for a receipt and was told we didn't get one. I tried to tell the manager's wife this but she spoke no English and called her husband to talk to me. I explained that in ever hotel I have stayed, I always got a receipt for charges upon checkout. He said because I used a credit card, I didn't get one. It was the policy of Howard Johnson, eventhough there was a sign that said the hotel was independently owed. All I can say about my stay, is the room was cleaned everyday. Don't expect alot because you won't get it. Stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lana jane Preston
Business
Howard Johnson Inn Express
Nov 17, 2009

Not so Good....

it was in a scaery location. I asked the manager to come unclog the tub. He wanted to move us verses fixing it. I explained to him that my dad is in a wheelchair and that wasnt going to be a convenient solution. He still insisted on moving us verses just coming himself with a plunger. he said the repair guy was out. We checkout and moved to the Omni.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Providence, RI
Jul 17, 2009

Lousy

I was visiting Houston on business and was totally disappointed with this hotel. The "deluxe" continental breakfast was lousy coffee, cereal, mini donuts and wonder bread. I went to nearby breakfast restaurants instead, but I chose a place with breakfast included to keep costs down! The location was bad, the walls were paper thin, the staff was unpleasant at best, downright rude at worst. The bathroom was dirty, the toilet seat was broken. Every time I ran the water to brush my teeth or wash my hands I smelled sewage. When I arrived the A/C was off and the room was sweltering. Whenever another guest shut their door my room shook. And the trains came by tooting their horns all night. One positive was the wireless internet. It was fast and free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top