$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2015 Check-out: Aug 8, 2015

Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

3 stars
View map of 9100 Gulf Freeway, 9100 Gulf Freeway, Houston, TX 77017

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
54 reviews
Honeymoon Starter

We stayed here the night is our wedding because we were flying out for the real honeymoon the next... See full review

  • collumbrian
  • Oct 9, 2014
AWESOME stay

I absolutely enjoyed my stay this weekend at the Marriott. I was surprised the price was so... See full review

  • crystal n
  • Oct 6, 2014
Discover the Lone Star State during your stay at Houston Marriott South Hobby Airport. Our Houston Hobby Airport hotels 287 deluxe guest rooms offer 32-inch plasma TVs, HD programming, digital media interface capabilities and comfortable bedding for the ultimate in relaxation. Experience our hotel near Hobby Airport with newly updated health center featuring an indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and outdoor patio to help you unwind after a day of meetings or sightseeing. For added convenience, our Hobby Airport hotels amenities include a Concierge Level with private lounge, 24-hour business center, ATM, sundry shop, laundry services, complimentary parking and a 24-hour complimentary shuttle to Hobby Airport. Event hosts can wine and dine guests in 21,500 square feet of flexible meeting space that holds up to 1,000 people. Stay close to area attractions, including Toyota Center, Minute Maid Park, NRG Park, NASA, University of Houston, Kemah Boardwalk and Galveston to experience the best of Houston.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 7.2 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 7.2 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 7.2 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 8.7 mi
  • Hermann Park: 8.9 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 9 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 9 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 9.1 mi
  • Toyota Center: 9.1 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 9.1 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 9.2 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 9.2 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 9.3 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 9.4 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 9.4 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 7.2 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 7.2 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 7.2 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 8.7 mi
  • Hermann Park: 8.9 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 9 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 9 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 9.1 mi
  • Toyota Center: 9.1 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 9.1 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 9.2 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 9.2 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 9.3 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 9.4 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 9.4 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 9.5 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 9.5 mi
  • Market Square Park: 9.7 mi
  • Jones Hall: 9.7 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 9.8 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 9.8 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 9.8 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 9.9 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 9.9 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 10.1 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 10.2 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 12.1 mi
  • Beer Can House: 12.3 mi
  • Water Wall: 13.5 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 13.9 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 14.8 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 19.3 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 21.1 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 26.7 mi
  • Wortham Center: 28.1 mi

Dining

Spiritz Bar and Grill
Our Hobby Airport restaurant offers a relaxing atmosphere with 13 plasma screen TVs, so diners can catch the game while dining with friends. We serve the finest selection of seafood and steaks that leaves guests wanting more every time they finish a meal.
Atrium Cafe
Atrium Cafe features a breakfast buffet 7 days a week.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ROB OSBORN
Business
ARVADA, CO.
Jul 23, 2011

HORRIBLE.

MY HOTEL ROOM GOT ROBBED 1ST DAY THERE. SOMEONE WHO WORKS THERE TOOK MY STUFF. MANAGEMENT HAS HEAD IN BACKSIDE. HOTEL IS NOT SAFE AND WOULD NOT RECOMMEND ANYONE STAY THERE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver
May 3, 2011

Nice place

nice comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hector Escamilla
Business
N/A
Jul 14, 2015

Summer Getaway

The problems we had was the noise, you can hear everything from the lobby. I couldn't sleep. In the morning housekeeping had a 30 minute conversation outside our door at 10 am or so and the walkie-talkie went off about 8x. Room also needs an update I've stayed at many Marriott hotels and this one disappointed me, not updated at all I felt like I over payed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Random Pope
Business
Denver, CO
May 6, 2013

A hotel close to Hobby

Stayed one night in May. Room was clean and comfortable. A bit of highway noise from the interstate but nothing that will keep you up at night. Staff was quick and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Jun 26, 2010

Expensive internet - not great service

The hotel is beautiful and the staff is friendly, however, I had a broken stopper in my sink, which the repair guy never fixed. He pulled the stopper out, but didn't fix the handle which operates it. The hotel charges $13 for internet, instead of the usual $10. Also, on several days, the maid never replenished the coffe,tea bags, or cups in the room. I'd expect a bit better service from a hotel with this rating. There are more than enough hotels in the area to choose from, rather than this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Port Arthur, Texas
Jun 21, 2010

Dogs allowed? I think not...

I inquired 2 times regarding the issue of bringing my dog with me to the hotel, once on the phone the day before the trip and once at the check-in desk when I was paying. Not one time was I told that my dog would not qualify as the type of dog they allow. I paid the extra money to allow my dog to stay with me in the hotel. As I was unloading my belongings, the man at the entrance stopped us and told us that my dog was not allowed. My dog is a Staffordshire Bull Terrier and has been in my life for 8 years. He is far better behaved than most children I know and he would not have been a problem. I advised the man of this and the fact that nobody told me that he would not be allowed up until the point that they saw he was a Pit Bull and also advised him that I paid to allow him to stay. The man was still very rude and threatened me that I would pay for any damages. I no longer felt comfortable allowing my dog to stay in the room because I felt that they were looking to blame my dog for anything they felt he might have caused. My fiancee drove 2 hours back to our hometown to drop our dog off with friends and then 2 hours back to the hotel. It was a total inconvenience and I felt they had a bias against my dog because of his breed. I will never recommend this hotel nor will I stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tat2guy
Business
B-ham,al
Jul 18, 2010

Check the schedule first..

The hotel had several large events going on all week, of which most of the people attending did not have rooms so they would just hang out taking up space and causing noise....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rondogreen
Business
New York
Aug 16, 2010

Dissapointed

Mainly I was at the hotel to shower and sleep, I spent most of my time in business meetings and at night I was enjoying the city of Houston and San Antonio. On my last night at the hotel I was coming back from a trip to San Antonio, I got to the hotel about 2:15AM, when I opened the door and turned the lights on, I was shocked of what was I seeing. On the wall a huge COCKROACH, the size of a water bug, I immediatly went downstairs to the front desk I told the lady there what I saw, she offered me to switch room, which I did, and then she cameback with me to the room where the cockroach was, and she saw it, she was not surprised, she told that bugs that size where common in Houston, I told her I don't care if they are common here, I did not ask that a cockroach was part of my hotel package. In the end, eventhough I was in another room, my last night at that hotel was a nightmare, because I could not sleep thinking that the same way I found a bug on my previous room what made they think the room I was moving to, did not have the same problem

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

I went to clubs in San Antonio

Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Flores Dad
Business
San Antonio, Tx
Aug 23, 2010

relaxing time

The Hotel was very quite and comfortable. The kids loved the pool and weight room. The 3:00pm check-in time is a little late for me....Would like to see that changed if possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WEZZIE10
Business
SAN ANTONIO,TEX
Aug 21, 2011

WEEK END OVERNIGHT STAY

MARRIOTT HAS BEEN MY CHOICE OF HOTELS FOR SOMETIME NOW. THIS OF COURSE WASN'T MY FIRST STAY AT THIS PARTICULAR HOTEL. THE STAFF/DECOR /BEDS ARE GREAT. WE TRUELY ENJOY STAYING HERE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top