$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 19, 2015 Check-out: Sep 20, 2015

Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

3 stars
View map of 9100 Gulf Freeway, 9100 Gulf Freeway, Houston, TX 77017

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ryan Trip
Business
Houston, TX
Oct 25, 2010

Great Hotel

The hotel was well run and the staff were cordial and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

There was a complimentary breakfast per day for two people if [...], you specified the promotion code. You can't do it after booking the hotel though.

Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Radolpho
Business
Paris, IL
May 11, 2011

Marriot South (Hobby Airport)

The stay was very pleasant and the staff was very attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Business Sense

Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nanc4
Family
Oklahoma City
Jul 7, 2014

great

No free breakfast was a negative. Over all great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WEZZIE10
Couples
SAN ANTONIO,TEX
Aug 21, 2011

WEEK END OVERNIGHT STAY

MARRIOTT HAS BEEN MY CHOICE OF HOTELS FOR SOMETIME NOW. THIS OF COURSE WASN'T MY FIRST STAY AT THIS PARTICULAR HOTEL. THE STAFF/DECOR /BEDS ARE GREAT. WE TRUELY ENJOY STAYING HERE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christopher H.
Couples
N/A
Jun 25, 2015

Family Trip

Cost was less than most comparable hotels. Staff was attentive and service oriented.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Random Pope
Couples
Denver, CO
May 6, 2013

A hotel close to Hobby

Stayed one night in May. Room was clean and comfortable. A bit of highway noise from the interstate but nothing that will keep you up at night. Staff was quick and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Jun 26, 2010

Expensive internet - not great service

The hotel is beautiful and the staff is friendly, however, I had a broken stopper in my sink, which the repair guy never fixed. He pulled the stopper out, but didn't fix the handle which operates it. The hotel charges $13 for internet, instead of the usual $10. Also, on several days, the maid never replenished the coffe,tea bags, or cups in the room. I'd expect a bit better service from a hotel with this rating. There are more than enough hotels in the area to choose from, rather than this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Port Arthur, Texas
Jun 21, 2010

Dogs allowed? I think not...

I inquired 2 times regarding the issue of bringing my dog with me to the hotel, once on the phone the day before the trip and once at the check-in desk when I was paying. Not one time was I told that my dog would not qualify as the type of dog they allow. I paid the extra money to allow my dog to stay with me in the hotel. As I was unloading my belongings, the man at the entrance stopped us and told us that my dog was not allowed. My dog is a Staffordshire Bull Terrier and has been in my life for 8 years. He is far better behaved than most children I know and he would not have been a problem. I advised the man of this and the fact that nobody told me that he would not be allowed up until the point that they saw he was a Pit Bull and also advised him that I paid to allow him to stay. The man was still very rude and threatened me that I would pay for any damages. I no longer felt comfortable allowing my dog to stay in the room because I felt that they were looking to blame my dog for anything they felt he might have caused. My fiancee drove 2 hours back to our hometown to drop our dog off with friends and then 2 hours back to the hotel. It was a total inconvenience and I felt they had a bias against my dog because of his breed. I will never recommend this hotel nor will I stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tat2guy
Single
B-ham,al
Jul 18, 2010

Check the schedule first..

The hotel had several large events going on all week, of which most of the people attending did not have rooms so they would just hang out taking up space and causing noise....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rondogreen
Business
New York
Aug 16, 2010

Dissapointed

Mainly I was at the hotel to shower and sleep, I spent most of my time in business meetings and at night I was enjoying the city of Houston and San Antonio. On my last night at the hotel I was coming back from a trip to San Antonio, I got to the hotel about 2:15AM, when I opened the door and turned the lights on, I was shocked of what was I seeing. On the wall a huge COCKROACH, the size of a water bug, I immediatly went downstairs to the front desk I told the lady there what I saw, she offered me to switch room, which I did, and then she cameback with me to the room where the cockroach was, and she saw it, she was not surprised, she told that bugs that size where common in Houston, I told her I don't care if they are common here, I did not ask that a cockroach was part of my hotel package. In the end, eventhough I was in another room, my last night at that hotel was a nightmare, because I could not sleep thinking that the same way I found a bug on my previous room what made they think the room I was moving to, did not have the same problem

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

I went to clubs in San Antonio

Back to menu Return to top