Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

3 stars
View map of 9100 Gulf Freeway, 9100 Gulf Freeway, Houston, TX 77017

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
54 reviews
Honeymoon Starter

We stayed here the night is our wedding because we were flying out for the real honeymoon the next... See full review

  • collumbrian
  • Oct 9, 2014
AWESOME stay

I absolutely enjoyed my stay this weekend at the Marriott. I was surprised the price was so... See full review

  • crystal n
  • Oct 6, 2014
Discover the Lone Star State during your stay at Houston Marriott South Hobby Airport. Our Houston Hobby Airport hotels 287 deluxe guest rooms offer 32-inch plasma TVs, HD programming, digital media interface capabilities and comfortable bedding for the ultimate in relaxation. Experience our hotel near Hobby Airport with newly updated health center featuring an indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and outdoor patio to help you unwind after a day of meetings or sightseeing. For added convenience, our Hobby Airport hotels amenities include a Concierge Level with private lounge, 24-hour business center, ATM, sundry shop, laundry services, complimentary parking and a 24-hour complimentary shuttle to Hobby Airport. Event hosts can wine and dine guests in 21,500 square feet of flexible meeting space that holds up to 1,000 people. Stay close to area attractions, including Toyota Center, Minute Maid Park, NRG Park, NASA, University of Houston, Kemah Boardwalk and Galveston to experience the best of Houston.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Hotel Map

29.6581 -95.2555
Area served
Houston - Downtown
Nearby airports
William P Hobby Airport, (HOU), 1.00, MI, E; George Bush Intercontinental Airport, (IAH), 35.00, MI, S; Ellington Field, (EFD), 10.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Airport, Location Type: Airport

Nearby points of interest

  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 7.2 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 7.2 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 7.2 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 8.7 mi
  • Hermann Park: 8.9 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 9 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 9 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 9.1 mi
  • Toyota Center: 9.1 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 9.1 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 9.2 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 9.2 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 9.3 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 9.4 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 9.4 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 7.2 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 7.2 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 7.2 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 8.7 mi
  • Hermann Park: 8.9 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 9 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 9 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 9.1 mi
  • Toyota Center: 9.1 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 9.1 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 9.2 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 9.2 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 9.3 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 9.4 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 9.4 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 9.5 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 9.5 mi
  • Market Square Park: 9.7 mi
  • Jones Hall: 9.7 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 9.8 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 9.8 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 9.8 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 9.9 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 9.9 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 10.1 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 10.2 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 12.1 mi
  • Beer Can House: 12.3 mi
  • Water Wall: 13.5 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 13.9 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 14.8 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 19.3 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 21.1 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 26.7 mi
  • Wortham Center: 28.1 mi

Dining

Spiritz Bar and Grill
Our Hobby Airport restaurant offers a relaxing atmosphere with 13 plasma screen TVs, so diners can catch the game while dining with friends. We serve the finest selection of seafood and steaks that leaves guests wanting more every time they finish a meal.
Atrium Cafe
Atrium Cafe features a breakfast buffet 7 days a week.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
ZLO
Jul 23, 2010

Marriot Houston

Just a pleasant hotel, central location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Space center

Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tat2guy
Single
B-ham,al
Jul 18, 2010

Check the schedule first..

The hotel had several large events going on all week, of which most of the people attending did not have rooms so they would just hang out taking up space and causing noise....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington Heights, Il
Jul 17, 2010

Close to airport and highway travels

Great hotel staff and very friendly in giving directions and help

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

By the airport with many restaurant and shopping choices within 5 miles of hotel

Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HOU Traveller
Business
MO
Jul 9, 2010

Houston Hobby Airport Marriott

Basically a nice, comfortable hotel. Well kept, but does show its age at times. For whatever reason, rooms frequently have a musty odor, though running the A/C takes care of that. I've stayed frequently and some rooms have a bit of a problem with controlling the room temp -- A/C is either on or off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Jun 26, 2010

Expensive internet - not great service

The hotel is beautiful and the staff is friendly, however, I had a broken stopper in my sink, which the repair guy never fixed. He pulled the stopper out, but didn't fix the handle which operates it. The hotel charges $13 for internet, instead of the usual $10. Also, on several days, the maid never replenished the coffe,tea bags, or cups in the room. I'd expect a bit better service from a hotel with this rating. There are more than enough hotels in the area to choose from, rather than this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Port Arthur, Texas
Jun 21, 2010

Dogs allowed? I think not...

I inquired 2 times regarding the issue of bringing my dog with me to the hotel, once on the phone the day before the trip and once at the check-in desk when I was paying. Not one time was I told that my dog would not qualify as the type of dog they allow. I paid the extra money to allow my dog to stay with me in the hotel. As I was unloading my belongings, the man at the entrance stopped us and told us that my dog was not allowed. My dog is a Staffordshire Bull Terrier and has been in my life for 8 years. He is far better behaved than most children I know and he would not have been a problem. I advised the man of this and the fact that nobody told me that he would not be allowed up until the point that they saw he was a Pit Bull and also advised him that I paid to allow him to stay. The man was still very rude and threatened me that I would pay for any damages. I no longer felt comfortable allowing my dog to stay in the room because I felt that they were looking to blame my dog for anything they felt he might have caused. My fiancee drove 2 hours back to our hometown to drop our dog off with friends and then 2 hours back to the hotel. It was a total inconvenience and I felt they had a bias against my dog because of his breed. I will never recommend this hotel nor will I stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rayn
Business
Camas, WA
Jun 7, 2010

Excellent Choice

Excellent choice. Loved the free internet business center, airline boarding pass kiosk in the lobby and first class fitness center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Gainesville,Fl
Jun 1, 2010

unbeatable location for the price

The staff was very friendly and considerate even when I slept in.If I had meet these people when I visited about two years ago,maybe I would still be living there and not just visiting. I have no complaints about this place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Houston, Texas
May 20, 2010

The staff at the Marriott were fantastic

It was a last minute trip for a funeral. My luggage did not arrive with me. The staff were very helpful and sympathetic. Rooms were spotless, quiet and very comfortable. I would love to atay here on a strictly pleasure trip next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HOU Traveller
Business
Houston, TX
May 13, 2010

Houston Hobby Airport Marriott

This is a very nice hotel and very well kept. It is very convenient to Houston Hobby and was convenient to my client. However, the area around it doesn't hold much of interest. Pool area and exercise room were nice and well kept, although the exercise room was a little bit like a sauna. Restaurant was fine for my purposes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top