$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

3 stars
9100 Gulf Freeway, 9100 Gulf Freeway, Houston, TX 77017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
59 reviews
Honeymoon Starter

We stayed here the night is our wedding because we were flying out for the real honeymoon the next... See full review

  • collumbrian
  • Oct 9, 2014
AWESOME stay

I absolutely enjoyed my stay this weekend at the Marriott. I was surprised the price was so... See full review

  • crystal n
  • Oct 6, 2014

The Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport caters to business guests flying in for a whirlwind trip, or leisure travelers seeking a convenient stop before moving on to their next destination. After a long day of teambuilding in the hotel meeting spaces, take a soak in the warm, relaxing whirlpool to wind down and freshen up for the evening. Gym facilities and a swimming pool ensure that guests looking to stay active can, and after burning off all those calories, treat yourself to fresh fish dishes or taste succulent steak cooked rare, medium or well done in the Spiritz Bar and Grill. Accommodations are equipped with Thann Aromatherapy products for sweet, dreamy bubble baths in each cool marble tub.

Key facts

  • Restaurant: Spiritz Bar and Grill
  • Atrium Cafe
  • Fitness center
  • Indoor swimming pool
  • ATM and sundry shop on-site
  • 24-hour complimentary airport shuttle
  • 287 deluxe guest rooms
  • 24-hour business center

Neighborhood
 Situated on the doorstep of Hobby Airport, the Marriott Hobby Airport Hotel Houston is set within southeast Houston. Guests can climb aboard a complimentary shuttle to catch a connecting flight from here, but it's also a good base for exploring the city, with downtown merely 15 minutes away. Glenbrook Park Golf Course is just over two miles north, so golfers can play18 holes amid woodland, water features and challenging sand traps. Souvenirs are offered at the Edgebrook Shopping Center, a small mall where fashion, gifts and spirits are offered, and visitors can visit the nearby Waffle House for an indulgent snack.
Hints and tips

If you are arriving late, after the restaurant has closed, phone the front desk in advance and ask if they can arrange for a light order at the bar.

Starbucks' devotees don't need to worry about missing their daily caffeine fix, because the hotel serves lattes, cappuccinos and specialty coffees from the household name-brand.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 7.2 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 7.2 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 7.2 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 8.7 mi
  • Hermann Park: 8.9 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 9 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 9 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 9.1 mi
  • Toyota Center: 9.1 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 9.1 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 9.2 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 9.2 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 9.3 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 9.4 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 9.4 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 7.2 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 7.2 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 7.2 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 8.7 mi
  • Hermann Park: 8.9 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 9 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 9 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 9.1 mi
  • Toyota Center: 9.1 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 9.1 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 9.2 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 9.2 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 9.3 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 9.4 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 9.4 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 9.5 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 9.5 mi
  • Market Square Park: 9.7 mi
  • Jones Hall: 9.7 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 9.8 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 9.8 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 9.8 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 9.9 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 9.9 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 10.1 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 10.2 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 12.1 mi
  • Beer Can House: 12.3 mi
  • Water Wall: 13.5 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 13.9 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 14.8 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 19.3 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 21.1 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 26.7 mi
  • Wortham Center: 28.1 mi

Dining

Spiritz Bar and Grill
Our Hobby Airport restaurant offers a relaxing atmosphere with 13 plasma screen TVs, so diners can catch the game while dining with friends. We serve the finest selection of seafood and steaks that leaves guests wanting more every time they finish a meal.
Atrium Cafe
Atrium Cafe features a breakfast buffet 7 days a week and lunch buffet Mon.-Fri.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (59)

Ratings and reviews for Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sfcarmybrat
Business
Tomah, WI
Sep 9, 2010

Terrific value

We got to the hotel much later than we anticipated and were not able to fully enjoy our evening there. But what we did experience was very nice. Friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Flores Dad
Business
San Antonio, Tx
Aug 23, 2010

relaxing time

The Hotel was very quite and comfortable. The kids loved the pool and weight room. The 3:00pm check-in time is a little late for me....Would like to see that changed if possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rondogreen
Business
New York
Aug 16, 2010

Dissapointed

Mainly I was at the hotel to shower and sleep, I spent most of my time in business meetings and at night I was enjoying the city of Houston and San Antonio. On my last night at the hotel I was coming back from a trip to San Antonio, I got to the hotel about 2:15AM, when I opened the door and turned the lights on, I was shocked of what was I seeing. On the wall a huge COCKROACH, the size of a water bug, I immediatly went downstairs to the front desk I told the lady there what I saw, she offered me to switch room, which I did, and then she cameback with me to the room where the cockroach was, and she saw it, she was not surprised, she told that bugs that size where common in Houston, I told her I don't care if they are common here, I did not ask that a cockroach was part of my hotel package. In the end, eventhough I was in another room, my last night at that hotel was a nightmare, because I could not sleep thinking that the same way I found a bug on my previous room what made they think the room I was moving to, did not have the same problem

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

I went to clubs in San Antonio

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Aug 8, 2010

"Sweet Luxury at a Great Price"

If you are looking for absolutely luxury at a reasonable price in Houston, Texas, look no further. The Hobby Airport Marriott is the place for you... and trust me, you will not be disappointed. Recently I visited Houston on vacation to meet a friend. One of the best parts of the trip was staying at the Hobby Airport Marriott. The hotel was easy to locate from the airport; the check-in process was simple; and the overall customer service was exceptional. We were very impressed by the nicely decorated room. The bed, pillows, and linens were so soft and plush that it was difficult to force ourselves to get up in the morning. It was nice to be able to watch movies on the large-screen television. The bathroom and shower were perfect, including a large shower and well-lit vanity area. Another favorite of ours was the pool and jacuzzi area. We enjoyed both of them each night... spending time in the warmth of the jacuzzi and then cooling down by swimming in the large pool. One thing that really impressed us is that we had 24 hour access to this area, which is a very nice perk for adults who want to avoid younger swimmers or are on a different time schedule.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Georgia Belle
Business
Hinesville, GA
Jul 26, 2010

Great stay!

I left very early one morning. Because it was dark, the kind manager walked me out to my car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ZLO
Jul 23, 2010

Marriot Houston

Just a pleasant hotel, central location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Space center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tat2guy
Business
B-ham,al
Jul 18, 2010

Check the schedule first..

The hotel had several large events going on all week, of which most of the people attending did not have rooms so they would just hang out taking up space and causing noise....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington Heights, Il
Jul 17, 2010

Close to airport and highway travels

Great hotel staff and very friendly in giving directions and help

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

By the airport with many restaurant and shopping choices within 5 miles of hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HOU Traveller
Business
MO
Jul 9, 2010

Houston Hobby Airport Marriott

Basically a nice, comfortable hotel. Well kept, but does show its age at times. For whatever reason, rooms frequently have a musty odor, though running the A/C takes care of that. I've stayed frequently and some rooms have a bit of a problem with controlling the room temp -- A/C is either on or off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Jun 26, 2010

Expensive internet - not great service

The hotel is beautiful and the staff is friendly, however, I had a broken stopper in my sink, which the repair guy never fixed. He pulled the stopper out, but didn't fix the handle which operates it. The hotel charges $13 for internet, instead of the usual $10. Also, on several days, the maid never replenished the coffe,tea bags, or cups in the room. I'd expect a bit better service from a hotel with this rating. There are more than enough hotels in the area to choose from, rather than this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top