$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2014 Check-out: Sep 7, 2014

Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

3 stars
9100 Gulf Freeway, 9100 Gulf Freeway, Houston, TX 77017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
56 reviews
Fantastic location for graduation headquarters

Service at the hotel, including front desk, wait staff, bartenders and housekeeping were world... See full review

  • TSU parent
  • May 22, 2014
Perfect Time Ever!!!!!!

This was the Best Valentine Getaway Weekend.My wife and I loved it.Everything was fresh clean and... See full review

  • MasterKing
  • Feb 17, 2014

The Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport caters to business guests flying in for a whirlwind trip, or leisure travelers seeking a convenient stop before moving on to their next destination. After a long day of teambuilding in the hotel meeting spaces, take a soak in the warm, relaxing whirlpool to wind down and freshen up for the evening. Gym facilities and a swimming pool ensure that guests looking to stay active can, and after burning off all those calories, treat yourself to fresh fish dishes or taste succulent steak cooked rare, medium or well done in the Spiritz Bar and Grill. Accommodations are equipped with Thann Aromatherapy products for sweet, dreamy bubble baths in each cool marble tub.

Key facts

  • Restaurant: Spiritz Bar and Grill
  • Atrium Cafe
  • Fitness center
  • Indoor swimming pool
  • ATM and sundry shop on-site
  • 24-hour complimentary airport shuttle
  • 287 deluxe guest rooms
  • 24-hour business center

Neighborhood
 Situated on the doorstep of Hobby Airport, the Marriott Hobby Airport Hotel Houston is set within southeast Houston. Guests can climb aboard a complimentary shuttle to catch a connecting flight from here, but it's also a good base for exploring the city, with downtown merely 15 minutes away. Glenbrook Park Golf Course is just over two miles north, so golfers can play18 holes amid woodland, water features and challenging sand traps. Souvenirs are offered at the Edgebrook Shopping Center, a small mall where fashion, gifts and spirits are offered, and visitors can visit the nearby Waffle House for an indulgent snack.
Hints and tips

If you are arriving late, after the restaurant has closed, phone the front desk in advance and ask if they can arrange for a light order at the bar.

Starbucks' devotees don't need to worry about missing their daily caffeine fix, because the hotel serves lattes, cappuccinos and specialty coffees from the household name-brand.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.6581 -95.2555
Area served
Houston - Downtown
Nearby airports
William P Hobby Airport, (HOU), 1.00, MI, E; George Bush Intercontinental Airport, (IAH), 35.00, MI, S; Ellington Field, (EFD), 10.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Airport, Location Type: Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 7.2 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 7.2 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 7.2 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 8.7 mi
  • Hermann Park: 8.9 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 9 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 9 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 9.1 mi
  • Toyota Center: 9.1 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 9.1 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 9.2 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 9.2 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 9.3 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 9.4 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 9.4 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 7.2 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 7.2 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 7.2 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 8.7 mi
  • Hermann Park: 8.9 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 9 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 9 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 9.1 mi
  • Toyota Center: 9.1 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 9.1 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 9.2 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 9.2 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 9.3 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 9.4 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 9.4 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 9.5 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 9.5 mi
  • Market Square Park: 9.7 mi
  • Jones Hall: 9.7 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 9.8 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 9.8 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 9.8 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 9.9 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 9.9 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 10.1 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 10.2 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 12.1 mi
  • Beer Can House: 12.3 mi
  • Water Wall: 13.5 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 13.9 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 14.8 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 19.3 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 21.1 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 26.7 mi
  • Wortham Center: 28.1 mi

Dining

Spiritz Bar and Grill
Our Hobby Airport restaurant offers a relaxing atmosphere with 13 plasma screen TVs, so diners can catch the game while dining with friends. We serve the finest selection of seafood and steaks that leaves guests wanting more every time they finish a meal.
Atrium Cafe
Atrium Cafe features a breakfast buffet 7 days a week and lunch buffet Mon.-Fri.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
Aug 8, 2010

"Sweet Luxury at a Great Price"

If you are looking for absolutely luxury at a reasonable price in Houston, Texas, look no further. The Hobby Airport Marriott is the place for you... and trust me, you will not be disappointed. Recently I visited Houston on vacation to meet a friend. One of the best parts of the trip was staying at the Hobby Airport Marriott. The hotel was easy to locate from the airport; the check-in process was simple; and the overall customer service was exceptional. We were very impressed by the nicely decorated room. The bed, pillows, and linens were so soft and plush that it was difficult to force ourselves to get up in the morning. It was nice to be able to watch movies on the large-screen television. The bathroom and shower were perfect, including a large shower and well-lit vanity area. Another favorite of ours was the pool and jacuzzi area. We enjoyed both of them each night... spending time in the warmth of the jacuzzi and then cooling down by swimming in the large pool. One thing that really impressed us is that we had 24 hour access to this area, which is a very nice perk for adults who want to avoid younger swimmers or are on a different time schedule.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Georgia Belle
Hinesville, GA
Jul 26, 2010

Great stay!

I left very early one morning. Because it was dark, the kind manager walked me out to my car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
ZLO
Jul 23, 2010

Marriot Houston

Just a pleasant hotel, central location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Space center

Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tat2guy
B-ham,al
Jul 18, 2010

Check the schedule first..

The hotel had several large events going on all week, of which most of the people attending did not have rooms so they would just hang out taking up space and causing noise....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington Heights, Il
Jul 17, 2010

Close to airport and highway travels

Great hotel staff and very friendly in giving directions and help

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

By the airport with many restaurant and shopping choices within 5 miles of hotel

Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HOU Traveller
Business
MO
Jul 9, 2010

Houston Hobby Airport Marriott

Basically a nice, comfortable hotel. Well kept, but does show its age at times. For whatever reason, rooms frequently have a musty odor, though running the A/C takes care of that. I've stayed frequently and some rooms have a bit of a problem with controlling the room temp -- A/C is either on or off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Jun 26, 2010

Expensive internet - not great service

The hotel is beautiful and the staff is friendly, however, I had a broken stopper in my sink, which the repair guy never fixed. He pulled the stopper out, but didn't fix the handle which operates it. The hotel charges $13 for internet, instead of the usual $10. Also, on several days, the maid never replenished the coffe,tea bags, or cups in the room. I'd expect a bit better service from a hotel with this rating. There are more than enough hotels in the area to choose from, rather than this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Port Arthur, Texas
Jun 21, 2010

Dogs allowed? I think not...

I inquired 2 times regarding the issue of bringing my dog with me to the hotel, once on the phone the day before the trip and once at the check-in desk when I was paying. Not one time was I told that my dog would not qualify as the type of dog they allow. I paid the extra money to allow my dog to stay with me in the hotel. As I was unloading my belongings, the man at the entrance stopped us and told us that my dog was not allowed. My dog is a Staffordshire Bull Terrier and has been in my life for 8 years. He is far better behaved than most children I know and he would not have been a problem. I advised the man of this and the fact that nobody told me that he would not be allowed up until the point that they saw he was a Pit Bull and also advised him that I paid to allow him to stay. The man was still very rude and threatened me that I would pay for any damages. I no longer felt comfortable allowing my dog to stay in the room because I felt that they were looking to blame my dog for anything they felt he might have caused. My fiancee drove 2 hours back to our hometown to drop our dog off with friends and then 2 hours back to the hotel. It was a total inconvenience and I felt they had a bias against my dog because of his breed. I will never recommend this hotel nor will I stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rayn
Business
Camas, WA
Jun 7, 2010

Excellent Choice

Excellent choice. Loved the free internet business center, airline boarding pass kiosk in the lobby and first class fitness center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Gainesville,Fl
Jun 1, 2010

unbeatable location for the price

The staff was very friendly and considerate even when I slept in.If I had meet these people when I visited about two years ago,maybe I would still be living there and not just visiting. I have no complaints about this place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search