$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 13, 2014 Check-out: Nov 16, 2014

Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

3 stars
9100 Gulf Freeway, 9100 Gulf Freeway, Houston, TX 77017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
59 reviews
Honeymoon Starter

We stayed here the night is our wedding because we were flying out for the real honeymoon the next... See full review

  • collumbrian
  • Oct 9, 2014
AWESOME stay

I absolutely enjoyed my stay this weekend at the Marriott. I was surprised the price was so... See full review

  • crystal n
  • Oct 6, 2014

The Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport caters to business guests flying in for a whirlwind trip, or leisure travelers seeking a convenient stop before moving on to their next destination. After a long day of teambuilding in the hotel meeting spaces, take a soak in the warm, relaxing whirlpool to wind down and freshen up for the evening. Gym facilities and a swimming pool ensure that guests looking to stay active can, and after burning off all those calories, treat yourself to fresh fish dishes or taste succulent steak cooked rare, medium or well done in the Spiritz Bar and Grill. Accommodations are equipped with Thann Aromatherapy products for sweet, dreamy bubble baths in each cool marble tub.

Key facts

  • Restaurant: Spiritz Bar and Grill
  • Atrium Cafe
  • Fitness center
  • Indoor swimming pool
  • ATM and sundry shop on-site
  • 24-hour complimentary airport shuttle
  • 287 deluxe guest rooms
  • 24-hour business center

Neighborhood
 Situated on the doorstep of Hobby Airport, the Marriott Hobby Airport Hotel Houston is set within southeast Houston. Guests can climb aboard a complimentary shuttle to catch a connecting flight from here, but it's also a good base for exploring the city, with downtown merely 15 minutes away. Glenbrook Park Golf Course is just over two miles north, so golfers can play18 holes amid woodland, water features and challenging sand traps. Souvenirs are offered at the Edgebrook Shopping Center, a small mall where fashion, gifts and spirits are offered, and visitors can visit the nearby Waffle House for an indulgent snack.
Hints and tips

If you are arriving late, after the restaurant has closed, phone the front desk in advance and ask if they can arrange for a light order at the bar.

Starbucks' devotees don't need to worry about missing their daily caffeine fix, because the hotel serves lattes, cappuccinos and specialty coffees from the household name-brand.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.6581 -95.2555
Area served
Houston - Downtown
Nearby airports
William P Hobby Airport, (HOU), 1.00, MI, E; George Bush Intercontinental Airport, (IAH), 35.00, MI, S; Ellington Field, (EFD), 10.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Airport, Location Type: Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 7.2 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 7.2 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 7.2 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 8.7 mi
  • Hermann Park: 8.9 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 9 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 9 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 9.1 mi
  • Toyota Center: 9.1 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 9.1 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 9.2 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 9.2 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 9.3 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 9.4 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 9.4 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 7.2 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 7.2 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 7.2 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 8.7 mi
  • Hermann Park: 8.9 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 9 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 9 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 9.1 mi
  • Toyota Center: 9.1 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 9.1 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 9.2 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 9.2 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 9.3 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 9.4 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 9.4 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 9.5 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 9.5 mi
  • Market Square Park: 9.7 mi
  • Jones Hall: 9.7 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 9.8 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 9.8 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 9.8 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 9.9 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 9.9 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 10.1 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 10.2 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 12.1 mi
  • Beer Can House: 12.3 mi
  • Water Wall: 13.5 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 13.9 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 14.8 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 19.3 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 21.1 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 26.7 mi
  • Wortham Center: 28.1 mi

Dining

Spiritz Bar and Grill
Our Hobby Airport restaurant offers a relaxing atmosphere with 13 plasma screen TVs, so diners can catch the game while dining with friends. We serve the finest selection of seafood and steaks that leaves guests wanting more every time they finish a meal.
Atrium Cafe
Atrium Cafe features a breakfast buffet 7 days a week and lunch buffet Mon.-Fri.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (59)

Ratings and reviews for Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver
May 3, 2011

Nice place

nice comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
brhinojosa
Business
pasco washington
Mar 27, 2011

the best experiance ever

I loved this hotel the staff was wonderful the beds were extremely comfortable I would stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
R2D2
Business
JAL, MEXICO
Mar 17, 2011

Not a good experience.

Fire Alarm was activated. No bell boy at the Hotel. For Sleeping is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ninito
Business
miami,fl
Feb 28, 2011

my treap

Is very nice hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NY Girl
Business
Middletown, NY
Jan 26, 2011

Marriot was great!

I picked this hotel right off the [...], without ever having stayed there, because the price was reasonable and it had a pretty good rating. I went to Houston on business with a convention at the big convention center in Houston. This was only 10 miles from it. Other years I stayed within walking distance of the convention center, but this hotel was cheap enough that the difference almost fully paid for my rental of a nice mid-size car every day. I bought the whole package, plane, hotel & car from Cheap Tickets and would do it again next year, same hotel. The hotel was gorgeous, clean. Nice restaurant with a nice bar. The room was beautiful. My boyfriend thought the bed was too soft, but I loved it (all puffy and cushiony) and the bedding was all white and clean (down comforters). Fresh smelling room, no mold smell, etc. Good size bathroom had tons of counter space for personal items. By the way, I had read an article about how to check hotels for bedbugs and I did it, found none.A few times I had to call the desk for different things, the wait was only a few minutes to be accomodated. The desk people were friendly and pleasant. Several times they went out of their way, above and beyond. There was a beautiful clean pool and hot tub open 24 hrs, as long as you stay in the hotel and have a key. Also, a small business room with free internet. They had two computers and a printer for free use or you could plug in your own. I liked that because I HATE to pay for room internet, it gets expensive after several days. You used your key to access it 24 hrs. a day.Nice and quiet at night, seemed like lots of adults and business people, no one screaming in the halls at night. Also, there was a nice exercise room and it had a scale that I was able to weigh my luggage on (I brought back lots of catalogs from the show) to be able to divide my luggage properly by weight. We ate the breakfast buffet (11.99 per person) three days it was so good. VERY fresh and lots of fresh fruit also, including berries (expensive!). Waiters were great. Only complaint - the toaster took forever, they should get a new one, it was annoying. Also, it would have been nice to have a small fridge in the room, but it didn't have one, surprising, since the room was so nice otherwise.Lots of restaurants of all kinds along Gulf Freeway (the service road by the hotel) for miles. I'm going back next convention [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

My GPS didn't want to work around this area, even though it's always been accurate everywhere else. I have no idea why. It worked fine in downtown Houston, but had us going in circles near the hotel. I had to have the hotel print out directions for me for everything!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta
Dec 9, 2010

Nice Hotel

I loved my stay at Hobby Marriot. Will stay there in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo NY
Nov 23, 2010

Hotel Review

It was fine. Note noteable but met basic needs. I did not like the fact the hotle was charging for WIFI. I thought breakfast was complimentary when I booked and for the price should have been included. The hotel was well located for the purposes but find other hotels a better value. It is one reason I do not frequent this chain. Management was very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Be careful of the upcharges.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ryan Trip
Business
Houston, TX
Oct 25, 2010

Great Hotel

The hotel was well run and the staff were cordial and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

There was a complimentary breakfast per day for two people if [...], you specified the promotion code. You can't do it after booking the hotel though.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis
Oct 14, 2010

Nice Hotel.[...]

This was a very nice hotel with all the ammentities. Although I've stayed at nicer for less...it was convenient for this trip. The area around it's not the greatest, including a strip club a couple doors down...but worth staying if you have a car and travel. The area did seem safe...not to be confused with not the greatest retail area. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Just down the way from the Hotel are two Pappa's BBQ restaurants; they're part of the Pappa Deux family of restaurants. Just like Pappa Deux...an awesome dining experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Connecticut
Sep 26, 2010

The best hotel ever! Staff is wonderful

We do a lot of traveling. I have to say this was the most staff friendly hotel we have ever stayed at. Not just friendly, but helpful in every way. The places they recommended were perfect. The rooms spotless, and the most comfortable beds we have ever slept. The deserve more than 5 stars! Well done

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top