$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 2, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

Houston Marriott Medical Center

4 stars
View map of 6580 Fannin Street, (Driveway Entrance on 1730 Dry, 6580 Fannin Street, Houston, TX 77030

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
51 reviews
Family trip

Excellent services, great kindliness, convenient location, not expensive. We'll stay again. See full review

  • YA.818
  • Jan 15, 2015
Great Stay

The stay was comfortable, convenient and met all of our needs. See full review

  • nasmars
  • Sep 22, 2014
Houston hotel near downtown and medical facilities
Whether travelers are in Houston to see a Texans football game or for business at one of the city's many renowned medical facilities, Houston Marriott at the Texas Medical Center offers supreme comfort and amenities. The 26-floor hotel offers a cozy atmosphere in which to relax on vacation or unwind after a day of business. Houston Marriott at the Texas Medical Center offers on-site amenities including luxurious bedding in guest rooms, spacious work areas, indoor pool and hot tub, Driscoll's restaurant, Starbuck's coffee house and Paladora Lounge.
Highlights
  • Connected to the Texas Medical Center area via a climate-controlled walkway
  • Pets welcomed (fees apply)
  • Indoor swimming pool and hot tub

Rooms

Whether staying for the weekend or for a longer-term visit, guests enjoy the luxury in the Houston Marriott at the Texas Medical Center guest rooms and suites. Room configurations range from the one king or two double city view rooms to the beautifully decorated Presidential Suite, which features a living room with sofa and chair with ottoman. All rooms contain such amenities as an all-marble bathroom, hair dryer, coffee and tea makers, high-speed Internet access (fees apply) and flat-screen TV with premium channels including HBO.

Property features

Houston Marriott at the Texas Medical Center offers a number of dining options, starting with an on-site Starbuck's to help guests get their day off to an energized start. The newly renovated Driscoll's offers cuisine with a Taste of Texas theme and is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Paladora Lounge, also newly renovated, serves up American fare and is open for lunch and dinner.

 

Houston Marriott at the Texas Medical Center is located in the heart of the Texas Medical Center and connects (by way of a climate-controlled skyway) to medical schools, Methodist Hospital and Scurlock and Smith Towers.

Transportation
  • Houston/William P. Hobby Airport (15 mi/24 km)

   

Nearby attractions
  • Rice University (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Houston Zoo (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Herrmann Park Golf Course (2 mi/3 km)
  • Reliant Stadium (2 mi/3 km)
  • Toyota Center (4 mi/7 km)
Business
  • 21 meeting rooms available
  • High-speed Internet available (fees apply)
  • 600-capacity ballroom available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Houston Marriott Medical Center also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Rice University Trail: 0.5 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Hermann Park: 0.8 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 1 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 1 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 1.3 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.3 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.3 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 1.4 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 1.6 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 1.9 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 3.2 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 0.5 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Hermann Park: 0.8 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 1 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 1 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 1.3 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.3 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.3 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 1.4 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 1.6 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 1.9 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 3.2 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 3.2 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 3.4 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Toyota Center: 3.7 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 3.9 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.9 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 4 mi
  • Water Wall: 4.1 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • Jones Hall: 4.1 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 4.2 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 4.2 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 4.2 mi
  • Market Square Park: 4.3 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 4.9 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 5.4 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 10.1 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 11.6 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.5 mi
  • Wortham Center: 19.4 mi

Dining

Driscoll's
Our casual restaurant near M.D. Anderson offers delicious, regionally-inspired cuisine freshly prepared to order. For those with special diets or restrictions, our chefs will be happy to try to accommodate your needs. Just ask us!
Starbucks®
Enjoy your favorite specialty coffees, frappuccinos, chais, and other beverages at our on-site Starbucks.
Paladora Lounge
Relax over cocktails, beer, a glass of wine or other beverage at our recently renovated contemporary lounge. Also available for private events.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for Houston Marriott Medical Center

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 51
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Houston Marriott Medical Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
YA.818
Business
Austin
Jan 15, 2015

Family trip

Excellent services, great kindliness, convenient location, not expensive. We'll stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Houston Marriott Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Aunt Shell
Business
Canyon Lake, TX
Jul 13, 2014

Walking Distance To The Medical Center

My daughter and I stayed while visiting family at the medical center. Convenient self parking for $9 a day, clean and comfortable bedroom. My only complaint in the hotel did not offer a continental breakfast or coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It is walking distance to the medical center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Houston Marriott Medical Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
beau diddeley
Business
michigan
Jun 26, 2014

first time grandparents

great location for all of Houston, great numerous staff all over hotel, would recommend always!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

brennans

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Houston Marriott Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mollydolly
Business
North Carolina
Aug 10, 2013

Visit sick relative at Methodist

Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Excellent location do to skywalks directly to hospital. Room cost during week seemed avlittle high but weekend rate was very reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Houston Marriott Medical Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Billyboy Joshua
Business
Arlington, Texas
Jun 24, 2013

Excellent location, but average hotel

The hotel could not be any more convient to The Medical Center or Rice University. Even has an enclosed walkway to Methodist Hospital. We were intown to interview at Rice University which was just a few blocks down the street. The transit line, which runs to downtown and to the stadiums stops at the front door. The staff were very pleasant and tried hard to please. Rooms were adequate, but nothing special, my bed needed a new mattress. Resturant is adequate, plain, with pleasant wait staff. I would stay again because of the convient location, but might shop around for other options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

In the middle of the Texas Medical Center Hospitals and right down the street from Rice University.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Houston Marriott Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Neehog
Business
Maysville, KY, USA
Feb 22, 2012

College visit trip for family

Everything was very enjoyable, aside from the room service experience on the morning of check-out. I phoned at 7:20 am to order 2 orders of pancakes (one special order of nutella), one hashbrown, and one eggwhite frittata, oj and milk. At about 7:30 the lady that took my order phoned back about which side did we want with the pancake order. I called at 7:55 and asked about the status of the order, as we needed to leave as close to 8 as possible, and she put me on hold, came back and said they are on their way up. At 8:15 I phoned back and the same lady said the guy was on the elevator. at 8:25 I was leaving the room with my luggage and almost on the elevator when the gentleman carrying my order passed me. I told him my kids were waiting on the order but that we were very late and I was going to pull the car around. All this and the tab was $70 for the breakfast. Unreal, to say the very least. While waiting on the food to arrive, I checked the menu and the room for any clause stating to allow for certain amount of time for delivery and found none. Just FYI. Thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Houston Marriott Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wisconsin
Jun 1, 2011

Over charge

Our hotel stay was fine. However, we were charged $199 for a night's stay that had been paid for[...] We certainly hope to be reimbursed for this amount.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This is a medical center hotel connected to hospitals by indoor walkways. Very convenient location. Helpful personal

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Houston Marriott Medical Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
pr
May 28, 2011

Marriot At the Texas Medical Center

Location Food and Service excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Houston Marriott Medical Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
meju
Business
Santa Monica CA
Apr 20, 2011

Clever Cost of Parking

Took this hotel because it was near Rice Univ. I have to attend events for my son's school recital. Parking service charges you around $30.00 a day (tax included). Self parking is difficult because the hotel is not very helpful in instructing customers...no signs at all to help them for self parking. There are more hotels ( Hilton or Holiday Inn) close by that may be better and more honest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Houston Marriott Medical Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin Texas
Mar 20, 2011

Rodeo weekend

great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top