$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

4 stars
View map of 220 Main Street, 220 Main Street, Houston, TX 77002

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
83 reviews
Houston weekend trip

The hotel location is excellent, plenty of dinning options around the hotel area. The room was... See full review

  • Carmenza G.
  • Dec 30, 2014
Outstanding Getaway!

Booking was a little confusing. But after speaking to hotel and arriving, everything was... See full review

  • Daddy N Bluv
  • Jul 2, 2014
Located in downtown Houston, Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection offers opulence and style with exquisite accommodations and luxury service. The hotel is a $35 million renovation of the landmark United Nation Bank building and features 12 stories of custom-designed furnishings, chic decor and original artwork. Business and leisure travelers feel pampered by sumptuous rooms, gourmet cuisine and sophisticated lounge space. Hotel ICON is close to many Houston attractions, restaurants, businesses and entertainment options
Dining
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection is home to on-site restaurant Line & Lariat that features an elegant dining room and exemplary service, the restaurant offers modern American cuisine, with ingredients from South Texas and area farmers markets.
Rooms
Guest rooms at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection offer the ultimate in luxury, with rich colors, plush bedding, beautifully appointed baths and distinctive style. Every room features free Wi-Fi, seating area, down blanket, premium bed linen, oversized personal safes, twice-daily maid service and fully stocked refreshment center. Spacious, gorgeous bathrooms feature Gilchrist & Soames amenities and marble countertops. Superior king rooms boast downtown views and Jacuzzi tubs.

 

Property features
Guests recharge in the hotel's stylish fitness center, which features hardwood floors and exposed brick wall. The 24-hour center features Cybex, Precor and Nautilus circuit machines, free weights and personal entertainment consoles at some machines.

Relaxation abounds at the hotel's BALANCE Urban Spa. Guests luxuriate in massages, body wraps, facials and salon services.


The hotel provides a complimentary shuttle service going to areas in downtown Houston within three miles from the property.

Highlights
  • Located in downtown Houston
  • AAA Four Diamond hotel
  • Stylish, opulent furnishings
  • Renovated landmark building
Nearby attractions

  • Downtown Houston (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Toyota Center (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Houston museum district (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Minute Maid Park (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
  • Reliant Stadium (6.1 mi/9.8 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting facilities
  • Free Wi-Fi 

 

Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (9.6 mi/15.5 km)
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (15.4 mi/24.8 km)
  • Complimentary car service to areas within a three-mile radius, based on availability

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Market Square Park: 0.1 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.7 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.8 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.9 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 3 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.1 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.7 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.8 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.9 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 3 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 3.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 3.1 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 3.3 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 3.4 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.5 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 3.7 mi
  • Hermann Park: 3.7 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 4.1 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 5.5 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5.9 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 6.1 mi
  • Water Wall: 6.3 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 7.5 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 13 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 13.3 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.8 mi
  • Wortham Center: 18.7 mi

Dining

Line & Lariat
Line & Lariat celebrates the modern Texas cuisine influenced by the nearby Gulf coast and surrounding ranches

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 83
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Geauxsaintsfan
Business
Jackson, MS
Jul 4, 2011

If you like good service stay elsewhere!

This was one of the worst experiences I've had at a hotel. The rooms are worn, peeling lampshades and old televisions. Hallways and rooms were dark and dingy. The bathroom has limited light. One of the two elevators didn't work, and fighting over the other with hotel employees was frustrating. Room service sent wrong order one day; another day returned from outing late afternoon and maid had forgotten to clean room; no apology for either instance; another day was ignored at lobby bar which closes early at 10pm; management was not accommodating in any way; wireless Internet was sluggish at best; dirty dishes were left in hallways for entire days; not even close to luxury or 4 stars in my opinion. I suggest looking for other downtown options!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Baseball at Minute Maid Park

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mr & Mrs T
Business
TX
Jun 10, 2010

Not too thrilled about the service

The hotel itself was nice the rooms were on the small side but clean. We had the king room with jacuzzi. We requested ice shortly after arriving and did not get until after we requested it again 20 minutes later. We also requested the shuttle service and were told it would be a 15 min wait, 30 minutes later we asked about the shuttle and were told it would be another 15 min wait because of traffic delays. After that we requested a cab to be called. On the way back from our outing we called for the shuttle again and were told it would be there shortly 30 minutes later we called again and were told we should walk to a different intersection to meet with the shuttle...we are not from Houston so obviously do not know the streets. We informed them that we would wait where we were. Needless to say we were not too happy with the service!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are coming to enjoy the nightlife it is just a few blocks down Main Street.

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Katy,TX
Mar 14, 2010

Hotel Icon

Went to the rodeo with my significant other. The hotel was advertised as with a jacuzzi, this room had none. When asked at the lobby if the hotel had one, the reply was that jacuzzi's are only in the rooms. The hotel maid also tampered and threw away my significant other's anxiety medication, which we had to cut our trip early in order to get her a refill. When asking the customer relations about the maid, we were instructed that the hotel does not hire the maids themselves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BB2012
Business
Boston,MA
Jan 14, 2014

Mixed Bag

I wanted to stay in a luxury hotel so after some research I chose this property. The junior suite was a nice size and the large bathroom was why I initially chose this hotel. Large tub and shower but the faucets leaked and did not work properly. Also they made a lot if noise when turned on and off. In the morning we heard loud banging from the room next door that woke us up at 830 am. It was either pipes from their bathroom or housekeeping banging. Called the front desk and they did not seem too concerned. Room also had a musty smell to it and the windows were dirty along with the furniture in the room that had cup stains on it. Valet was fast and efficient. Room service quality was not good. The coffee was lukewarm. The hotel had character however for the price and bring part of the autograph collection it should have been impeccable. Not much to do in the area. It was like a ghost town on the Saturday afternoon we arrived. The rubber ducky in the bathroom is cute!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go or stay in Galleria area if you want food choices and shopping!

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kangaroo2
Business
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Nov 26, 2013

Enjoyed our stay

Room was beautiful and bathroom was roomy and beautifully decorated. Liked the cowboy rubber ducky for bath time:-). Room service food was delicious, even fruit plate for the most part was good. Didn't like having to pay for valet parking. Staff was friendly. Maid service was a little tardy, didn't come until late afternoon and by then we had already called up and had fresh towels delivered. Overall enjoyed. Would probably stay here again or try other of the same brand hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Food was good for hotel food.

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Uber travel weekender
Business
Cedar Hill, Texas
Sep 1, 2009

Had a great visit at Hotel Icon

We were quite comfortable and took several pictures in the hotel. We particularly enjoyed the complimentary valet driver taking us to fun hot spots and great nearby eateries. The rooms are relatively small, but they are decorated so cute and are so comfortable that you barely notice. So the only negative with Hotel Icon was that they didn't have a pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Hotel Icon desk recommended the Breakfast Klub restaurant for breakfast. The complimentary valet took us there, picked us up afterwards and the food was fast and yummy. When you visit the Breakfast Klub try the catfish and waffles.

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WellAlright
Business
Austin, TX
Jun 28, 2009

Beautiful Hotel

This is a lovely hotel has been beautifully restored and tastefully decorated. They did a wonderful job of highlighting the architectural details of this very old building while providing all of the modern amenities you'd expect from a luxury hotel. Definitely opt for the "King" rooms as the standard rooms are much smaller and only have full-sized (not queen-size) beds. When we book the room, the information on Orbitz incorrectly stated a queen-size bed. However, when I called Orbitz customer service, they informed me that the info was provided by the hotel. So, the Orbitz rep contacted the hotel and the hotel manager did not hesitate to upgrade us to a king room and noted that the information would be corrected swiftly. Well-handled by both Orbitz and the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveller Jim
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 6, 2009

Houston Trip

The hotel was in a great location, which was one of the primary factors affecting the decision to stay there. It was very expensive to valet park the car overnight, there was no pool, and items in the hotel were overly expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a guided tour of Minute Maid Park, home of the Houston Astros located within 5 blocks from the hotel.

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
Jul 15, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

none

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Campo, tx
May 24, 2009

10 yrs Anniversary

It was great, we were able to, dine, dance, and relax. The only thing bad, was the fact that our room faced a Jazz cafe across the street and we could here everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top