$124 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 2, 2014

Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

4 stars
220 Main Street, 220 Main Street, Houston, TX 77002
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
158 reviews
Amazing Weekend

My husband and I had never been to Houston before and had no idea what to expect. This hotel was... See full review

  • Tampa0427
  • Jun 6, 2014
Perfect nite

Staff was great, very helpful. Room was fantastic with a great veiw of the skyline! Perfect date-nite! See full review

  • Mike 77573
  • Apr 1, 2013
Stylish, opulent downtown Houston hotel in historic building
Located in downtown Houston, Hotel ICON offers opulence and style with exquisite accommodations and luxury service. The hotel is a $35 million renovation of the landmark United Nation Bank building and features 12 stories of custom-designed furnishings, chic decor and original artwork. Business and leisure travelers feel pampered by sumptuous rooms, gourmet cuisine and sophisticated lounge space. Hotel ICON is close to many Houston attractions, restaurants, businesses and entertainment options
Highlights
  • Located in downtown Houston
  • AAA Four Diamond hotel
  • Stylish, opulent furnishings
  • Renovated landmark building
Rooms
Guest rooms at Hotel ICON offer the ultimate in luxury, with rich colors, plush bedding, beautifully appointed baths and distinctive style. Every room features free Wi-Fi, seating area, down blanket, premium bed linen, oversized personal safes, twice-daily maid service and fully stocked refreshment center. Spacious, gorgeous bathrooms feature Gilchrist & Soames amenities and marble countertops. Superior king rooms boast downtown views and Jacuzzi tubs.

 

Property features
Guests recharge in the hotel's stylish fitness center, which features hardwood floors and exposed brick wall. The 24-hour center features Cybex, Precor and Nautilus circuit machines, free weights and personal entertainment consoles at some machines. Guests also have access to a personal trainer.

Relaxation abounds at the hotel's BALANCE Urban Spa. Guests luxuriate in massages, body wraps, facials and salon services.


Hotel ICON is close to numerous downtown Houston options for shopping, dining and entertainment.  The hotel provides a complimentary car service within a three-mile radius, based on availability.


Dining
Hotel ICON is home to VOICE Restaurant and Lounge, voted one of the top new restaurants in the state by Texas Monthly. With an elegant dining room and exemplary service, the restaurant offers modern American cuisine, with ingredients from South Texas and area farmers markets.
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (9.6 mi/15.5 km)
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (15.4 mi/24.8 km)
  • Complimentary car service to areas within a three-mile radius, based on availability
Nearby attractions

  • Downtown Houston (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Toyota Center (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Houston museum district (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Minute Maid Park (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
  • Reliant Stadium (6.1 mi/9.8 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting facilities
  • Free Wi-Fi 

 

Hotel Map

29.7625 -95.3606
Area served
Houston
Nearby airports
George Bush Intercontinental Airport, (IAH), 15.60, MI, S; William P Hobby Airport, (HOU), 9.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Oceanfront

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Market Square Park: 0.1 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.7 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.8 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.9 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 3 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.1 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.7 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.8 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.9 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 3 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 3.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 3.1 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 3.3 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 3.4 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.5 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 3.7 mi
  • Hermann Park: 3.7 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 4.1 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 5.5 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5.9 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 6.1 mi
  • Water Wall: 6.3 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 7.5 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 13 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 13.3 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.8 mi
  • Wortham Center: 18.7 mi

Dining

Line & Lariat
Line & Lariat celebrates the modern Texas cuisine influenced by the nearby Gulf coast and surrounding ranches

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (158)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 158
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Geauxsaintsfan
Jackson, MS
Jul 4, 2011

If you like good service stay elsewhere!

This was one of the worst experiences I've had at a hotel. The rooms are worn, peeling lampshades and old televisions. Hallways and rooms were dark and dingy. The bathroom has limited light. One of the two elevators didn't work, and fighting over the other with hotel employees was frustrating. Room service sent wrong order one day; another day returned from outing late afternoon and maid had forgotten to clean room; no apology for either instance; another day was ignored at lobby bar which closes early at 10pm; management was not accommodating in any way; wireless Internet was sluggish at best; dirty dishes were left in hallways for entire days; not even close to luxury or 4 stars in my opinion. I suggest looking for other downtown options!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Baseball at Minute Maid Park

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Geauxsaintsfan
Jackson, MS
Jul 4, 2011

If you like good service stay elsewhere!

This was one of the worst experiences I've had at a hotel. The rooms are worn, peeling lampshades and old televisions. Hallways and rooms were dark and dingy. The bathroom has limited light. One of the two elevators didn't work, and fighting over the other with hotel employees was frustrating. Room service sent wrong order one day; another day returned from outing late afternoon and maid had forgotten to clean room; no apology for either instance; another day was ignored at lobby bar which closes early at 10pm; management was not accommodating in any way; wireless Internet was sluggish at best; dirty dishes were left in hallways for entire days; not even close to luxury or 4 stars in my opinion. I suggest looking for other downtown options!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Baseball at Minute Maid Park

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Katy,TX
Mar 14, 2010

Hotel Icon

Went to the rodeo with my significant other. The hotel was advertised as with a jacuzzi, this room had none. When asked at the lobby if the hotel had one, the reply was that jacuzzi's are only in the rooms. The hotel maid also tampered and threw away my significant other's anxiety medication, which we had to cut our trip early in order to get her a refill. When asking the customer relations about the maid, we were instructed that the hotel does not hire the maids themselves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mr & Mrs T
TX
Jun 10, 2010

Not too thrilled about the service

The hotel itself was nice the rooms were on the small side but clean. We had the king room with jacuzzi. We requested ice shortly after arriving and did not get until after we requested it again 20 minutes later. We also requested the shuttle service and were told it would be a 15 min wait, 30 minutes later we asked about the shuttle and were told it would be another 15 min wait because of traffic delays. After that we requested a cab to be called. On the way back from our outing we called for the shuttle again and were told it would be there shortly 30 minutes later we called again and were told we should walk to a different intersection to meet with the shuttle...we are not from Houston so obviously do not know the streets. We informed them that we would wait where we were. Needless to say we were not too happy with the service!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are coming to enjoy the nightlife it is just a few blocks down Main Street.

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Katy,TX
Mar 14, 2010

Hotel Icon

Went to the rodeo with my significant other. The hotel was advertised as with a jacuzzi, this room had none. When asked at the lobby if the hotel had one, the reply was that jacuzzi's are only in the rooms. The hotel maid also tampered and threw away my significant other's anxiety medication, which we had to cut our trip early in order to get her a refill. When asking the customer relations about the maid, we were instructed that the hotel does not hire the maids themselves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mr & Mrs T
TX
Jun 10, 2010

Not too thrilled about the service

The hotel itself was nice the rooms were on the small side but clean. We had the king room with jacuzzi. We requested ice shortly after arriving and did not get until after we requested it again 20 minutes later. We also requested the shuttle service and were told it would be a 15 min wait, 30 minutes later we asked about the shuttle and were told it would be another 15 min wait because of traffic delays. After that we requested a cab to be called. On the way back from our outing we called for the shuttle again and were told it would be there shortly 30 minutes later we called again and were told we should walk to a different intersection to meet with the shuttle...we are not from Houston so obviously do not know the streets. We informed them that we would wait where we were. Needless to say we were not too happy with the service!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are coming to enjoy the nightlife it is just a few blocks down Main Street.

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DSG
NYC
Aug 18, 2009

More Ice Please... (Icon Hotel)

I am from Houston, but now live in NYC. I frequently enjoyed the bar at Hotel Icon and thought that my stay would be equally enjoyable. There were several occurrences that challenged that idea throughout my 3 night stay. The hotel "appears" to be an upscale hotel. The "book cover" is beautiful... the people are smiling, the lobby is spotless. However, "the contents of the book" do not reflect the cover. In other words, the service was less than 3-5 stars. Aside from constantly having to request ice (and we needed it...it was 100 degrees this past weekend), our room service order was wrong. I waited about an hour for a grilled cheese sandwich after being sent a different sandwich. Nothing similar was on the menu and the waiter repeated my order back to me... Additionally, they forgot the ice 4 times throughout my stay. To top it off, after returning back to the hotel from the sauna outside, our room had not been cleaned, our bed was not made and there were no clean towels on two occasions. We had to leave again so that our room could be cleaned... It was a lot for one weekend. We did sleep well. I'm just not sure if it was because of the heat, the frustration with the bad service or the comfortable little bed (it was small). Maybe it was all of the above! I will not stay there again and will not recommend it to anyone that I care about... Too much money, too little quality service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
South Carolina
Apr 1, 2011

Nice hotel with friendly staff

We had a short stay at Hotel Icon. The standard room is very small with a gorgeous bathroom, but if you're looking for more space then you might want to spend more money and get the larger package. For the cost of the room though, there was nothing extraordinary about the room, or the hotel. We didn't dine in Voice Lounge, but from what I heard it was supposed to be a wonderful experience...from glancing at the menu, it was ordinary. The staff at Hotel Icon is WONDERFUL though. The valet parking staff were so helpful. One of them gave us tour guide material and reviewed several options to make our visit to Houston comfortable and exciting. The complimentary parking is great as well. As long as you travel within a three mile radius, they will take you to your destination and pick you up in a timely fashion. That was certainly a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to III Forks. It was amazing with friendly waiters!

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WellAlright
Austin, TX
Jun 28, 2009

Beautiful Hotel

This is a lovely hotel has been beautifully restored and tastefully decorated. They did a wonderful job of highlighting the architectural details of this very old building while providing all of the modern amenities you'd expect from a luxury hotel. Definitely opt for the "King" rooms as the standard rooms are much smaller and only have full-sized (not queen-size) beds. When we book the room, the information on Orbitz incorrectly stated a queen-size bed. However, when I called Orbitz customer service, they informed me that the info was provided by the hotel. So, the Orbitz rep contacted the hotel and the hotel manager did not hesitate to upgrade us to a king room and noted that the information would be corrected swiftly. Well-handled by both Orbitz and the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
The Woodlands, TX
Jun 9, 2009

Well worth it!

I love the older buildings that have been converted in to hotels. This one surely delivers. Great downtown location, beautiful rooms and lobby, just a great place to relax. I'll be staying there again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't just stop at the first place you see. There are tons of restaurants and bars all within short walking distance. Great great area.

Back to menu Return to top