$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

4 stars
View map of 220 Main Street, 220 Main Street, Houston, TX 77002

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leabrook
Business
Newton, Massachusetts
Nov 19, 2012

Location and value

My work travel budget is restricted. I chose Hotel Icon because it is within walking distance of the Brown Convention Center and the Or--- reservation was far less expensive than staying at the Convention Center hotel or making a reservation directly with Hotel Icon. While the proximity of the hotel was perfect (20 minute walk), I felt uncomfortable walking around the neighborhood alone during daylight hours and would not do so after dark. My room's 3/4 bathroom included a shower alcove and thankfully I did not get any belongings wet from the resulting spread of water as there was no lip to prevent this. I was surprised that there was no maid service during my 2-night stay. The free wifi internet access did not work - my computer connected just fine but the service was so slow that even my email did not load. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. A tiny business center was available for printing out my boarding pass. The room's quaint decor was refreshing - an eclectic collection of antique and vintage furnishings. A big soft comforter and fluffy pillows helped me get a refreshing sleep, so important for business trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Look for on-line reservation discounts to take advantage of the close walking proximity of Hotel Icon to the Brown Convention Center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kangaroo2
Business
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Nov 26, 2013

Enjoyed our stay

Room was beautiful and bathroom was roomy and beautifully decorated. Liked the cowboy rubber ducky for bath time:-). Room service food was delicious, even fruit plate for the most part was good. Didn't like having to pay for valet parking. Staff was friendly. Maid service was a little tardy, didn't come until late afternoon and by then we had already called up and had fresh towels delivered. Overall enjoyed. Would probably stay here again or try other of the same brand hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Food was good for hotel food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston,Tx
May 24, 2010

Love this hotel!

Everything was perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
af140
Business
San Bruno, CA, USA
Sep 8, 2011

It's a nice hotel

It's a nice hotel, It's a old bank building change to classic hotel inside has newly remodel and room is comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Uber travel weekender
Business
Cedar Hill, Texas
Sep 1, 2009

Had a great visit at Hotel Icon

We were quite comfortable and took several pictures in the hotel. We particularly enjoyed the complimentary valet driver taking us to fun hot spots and great nearby eateries. The rooms are relatively small, but they are decorated so cute and are so comfortable that you barely notice. So the only negative with Hotel Icon was that they didn't have a pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Hotel Icon desk recommended the Breakfast Klub restaurant for breakfast. The complimentary valet took us there, picked us up afterwards and the food was fast and yummy. When you visit the Breakfast Klub try the catfish and waffles.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WellAlright
Business
Austin, TX
Jun 28, 2009

Beautiful Hotel

This is a lovely hotel has been beautifully restored and tastefully decorated. They did a wonderful job of highlighting the architectural details of this very old building while providing all of the modern amenities you'd expect from a luxury hotel. Definitely opt for the "King" rooms as the standard rooms are much smaller and only have full-sized (not queen-size) beds. When we book the room, the information on Orbitz incorrectly stated a queen-size bed. However, when I called Orbitz customer service, they informed me that the info was provided by the hotel. So, the Orbitz rep contacted the hotel and the hotel manager did not hesitate to upgrade us to a king room and noted that the information would be corrected swiftly. Well-handled by both Orbitz and the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveller Jim
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 6, 2009

Houston Trip

The hotel was in a great location, which was one of the primary factors affecting the decision to stay there. It was very expensive to valet park the car overnight, there was no pool, and items in the hotel were overly expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a guided tour of Minute Maid Park, home of the Houston Astros located within 5 blocks from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KPFISHING
Business
HOUSTON, TX
Mar 1, 2010

NICE

NICE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
solo downtown
Business
Texas
Jun 5, 2009

Hotel ICON June 2009

The staff was marvelous, kind and helpful. I always felt comfortable and safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of good restaurants, and the hotel staff will help you find one to your liking

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buzzsaws
Business
El Paso, TX
Jun 1, 2009

Elegant and comfortable

If you like the European style of hotel, you will like the ICON. The rooms are small but have high ceilings and everything is efficeintly arranged. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. In/out valet parking was very easy. For a downtown hotel that is very comfortable and affordable, this is the place. The only problem I had was finding it. The name on the hotel is tiny and obscure. Thank goodness for GPS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Places to eat close by were diverse in their cuisine and affordable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top