$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

4 stars
View map of 220 Main Street, 220 Main Street, Houston, TX 77002

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 90
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carmenza G.
Business
San Antonio
Dec 30, 2014

Houston weekend trip

The hotel location is excellent, plenty of dinning options around the hotel area. The room was clean and the staff friendly, the only negative observation is the hotel food. We ordered breakfast and it was overpriced and the food had no flavor. At night we went to the hotel bar and ordered food, same, the food was overpriced and no flavor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Hotel is excellent, but don't eat their food, it is overpriced and no flavor.

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Daddy N Bluv
Business
Town
Jul 2, 2014

Outstanding Getaway!

Booking was a little confusing. But after speaking to hotel and arriving, everything was resolved. Excellent staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BB2012
Business
Boston,MA
Jan 14, 2014

Mixed Bag

I wanted to stay in a luxury hotel so after some research I chose this property. The junior suite was a nice size and the large bathroom was why I initially chose this hotel. Large tub and shower but the faucets leaked and did not work properly. Also they made a lot if noise when turned on and off. In the morning we heard loud banging from the room next door that woke us up at 830 am. It was either pipes from their bathroom or housekeeping banging. Called the front desk and they did not seem too concerned. Room also had a musty smell to it and the windows were dirty along with the furniture in the room that had cup stains on it. Valet was fast and efficient. Room service quality was not good. The coffee was lukewarm. The hotel had character however for the price and bring part of the autograph collection it should have been impeccable. Not much to do in the area. It was like a ghost town on the Saturday afternoon we arrived. The rubber ducky in the bathroom is cute!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go or stay in Galleria area if you want food choices and shopping!

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wandering
Business
Austin, TX
May 24, 2009

Great option in the theater disctict

Very professional and friendly staff, unexepected room upgrade, highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

On street parking is free from 6 PM on Saturdays until Monday. Avoid valet fee and parallel park yourself right outside the door.

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
.LG.
Business
Western Massachusetts
Sep 29, 2012

Great and convenient downtown location, great value

Hotel is very convenient to downtown locations. Convenient location to a lot of nearby restaurants. The hotel recently (July 2012) went through a renovation so everything is clean and fresh. Style of the hotel is eclectic but nice, has a luxury feel to it. Complimentary coffee in the lobby is the best coffee I've had in a hotel, hands down. It's almost *$s quality. Your experience will vary based on the room you get. The "entry" level rooms are very small, so I would pony up the extra money and upgrade the room a bit - that's where the real value to the place is. The beds were comfortable - I travelled with some colleagues and the feedback was the same - beds are good, but some didn't like the "hallway" feeling to the rooms and the bathroom being small (again for their entry level room). The fitness center is pretty nice. No dip bars, and it only has an e-z curl bar, but beyond that you can pretty much do just about anything if you are into free weights. It has pull up bars, cables, free weights, treadmills, and some machines. Really quite a bit for the size of the fitness center. There is no pool so bear that in mind if that is a requirement for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Backstreet Cafe is less than four miles away and it is one of the best restaurants we visited in Houston. Their patio area is very nice, and their food was amazing. Hugo's (same owner) is an awesome continental mexican restaurant. Their Carne Brava and Lechon options were amazing.

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leabrook
Business
Newton, Massachusetts
Nov 19, 2012

Location and value

My work travel budget is restricted. I chose Hotel Icon because it is within walking distance of the Brown Convention Center and the Or--- reservation was far less expensive than staying at the Convention Center hotel or making a reservation directly with Hotel Icon. While the proximity of the hotel was perfect (20 minute walk), I felt uncomfortable walking around the neighborhood alone during daylight hours and would not do so after dark. My room's 3/4 bathroom included a shower alcove and thankfully I did not get any belongings wet from the resulting spread of water as there was no lip to prevent this. I was surprised that there was no maid service during my 2-night stay. The free wifi internet access did not work - my computer connected just fine but the service was so slow that even my email did not load. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. A tiny business center was available for printing out my boarding pass. The room's quaint decor was refreshing - an eclectic collection of antique and vintage furnishings. A big soft comforter and fluffy pillows helped me get a refreshing sleep, so important for business trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Look for on-line reservation discounts to take advantage of the close walking proximity of Hotel Icon to the Brown Convention Center.

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kangaroo2
Business
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Nov 26, 2013

Enjoyed our stay

Room was beautiful and bathroom was roomy and beautifully decorated. Liked the cowboy rubber ducky for bath time:-). Room service food was delicious, even fruit plate for the most part was good. Didn't like having to pay for valet parking. Staff was friendly. Maid service was a little tardy, didn't come until late afternoon and by then we had already called up and had fresh towels delivered. Overall enjoyed. Would probably stay here again or try other of the same brand hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Food was good for hotel food.

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston,Tx
May 24, 2010

Love this hotel!

Everything was perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
af140
Business
San Bruno, CA, USA
Sep 8, 2011

It's a nice hotel

It's a nice hotel, It's a old bank building change to classic hotel inside has newly remodel and room is comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Uber travel weekender
Business
Cedar Hill, Texas
Sep 1, 2009

Had a great visit at Hotel Icon

We were quite comfortable and took several pictures in the hotel. We particularly enjoyed the complimentary valet driver taking us to fun hot spots and great nearby eateries. The rooms are relatively small, but they are decorated so cute and are so comfortable that you barely notice. So the only negative with Hotel Icon was that they didn't have a pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Hotel Icon desk recommended the Breakfast Klub restaurant for breakfast. The complimentary valet took us there, picked us up afterwards and the food was fast and yummy. When you visit the Breakfast Klub try the catfish and waffles.

Back to menu Return to top