$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

4 stars
220 Main Street, 220 Main Street, Houston, TX 77002
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
158 reviews
Amazing Weekend

My husband and I had never been to Houston before and had no idea what to expect. This hotel was... See full review

  • Tampa0427
  • Jun 6, 2014
Perfect nite

Staff was great, very helpful. Room was fantastic with a great veiw of the skyline! Perfect date-nite! See full review

  • Mike 77573
  • Apr 1, 2013
Stylish, opulent downtown Houston hotel in historic building
Located in downtown Houston, Hotel ICON offers opulence and style with exquisite accommodations and luxury service. The hotel is a $35 million renovation of the landmark United Nation Bank building and features 12 stories of custom-designed furnishings, chic decor and original artwork. Business and leisure travelers feel pampered by sumptuous rooms, gourmet cuisine and sophisticated lounge space. Hotel ICON is close to many Houston attractions, restaurants, businesses and entertainment options
Highlights
  • Located in downtown Houston
  • AAA Four Diamond hotel
  • Stylish, opulent furnishings
  • Renovated landmark building
Rooms
Guest rooms at Hotel ICON offer the ultimate in luxury, with rich colors, plush bedding, beautifully appointed baths and distinctive style. Every room features free Wi-Fi, seating area, down blanket, premium bed linen, oversized personal safes, twice-daily maid service and fully stocked refreshment center. Spacious, gorgeous bathrooms feature Gilchrist & Soames amenities and marble countertops. Superior king rooms boast downtown views and Jacuzzi tubs.

 

Property features
Guests recharge in the hotel's stylish fitness center, which features hardwood floors and exposed brick wall. The 24-hour center features Cybex, Precor and Nautilus circuit machines, free weights and personal entertainment consoles at some machines. Guests also have access to a personal trainer.

Relaxation abounds at the hotel's BALANCE Urban Spa. Guests luxuriate in massages, body wraps, facials and salon services.


Hotel ICON is close to numerous downtown Houston options for shopping, dining and entertainment.  The hotel provides a complimentary car service within a three-mile radius, based on availability.


Dining
Hotel ICON is home to VOICE Restaurant and Lounge, voted one of the top new restaurants in the state by Texas Monthly. With an elegant dining room and exemplary service, the restaurant offers modern American cuisine, with ingredients from South Texas and area farmers markets.
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (9.6 mi/15.5 km)
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (15.4 mi/24.8 km)
  • Complimentary car service to areas within a three-mile radius, based on availability
Nearby attractions

  • Downtown Houston (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Toyota Center (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Houston museum district (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Minute Maid Park (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
  • Reliant Stadium (6.1 mi/9.8 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting facilities
  • Free Wi-Fi 

 

Hotel Map

29.7625 -95.3606
Area served
Houston
Nearby airports
George Bush Intercontinental Airport, (IAH), 15.60, MI, S; William P Hobby Airport, (HOU), 9.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Oceanfront

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Market Square Park: 0.1 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.7 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.8 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.9 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 3 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.1 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.7 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.8 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.9 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 3 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 3.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 3.1 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 3.3 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 3.4 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.5 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 3.7 mi
  • Hermann Park: 3.7 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 4.1 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 5.5 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5.9 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 6.1 mi
  • Water Wall: 6.3 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 7.5 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 13 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 13.3 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.8 mi
  • Wortham Center: 18.7 mi

Dining

Line & Lariat
Line & Lariat celebrates the modern Texas cuisine influenced by the nearby Gulf coast and surrounding ranches

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (158)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
158 out of 158
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JohnHenry56
Business
Santa Cruz, California
Oct 17, 2012

Houston Hotel Icon

Top shelf...really one of the finer properties I have stayed in for some time. Solid hotel...great room design...hugh tub... big shower with amazing water pressure. All the little things were done very very well. Food very nice, fine bar...good breakfast. On the edge of downtown close to light rail, theater district and about a mile from ballpark and basketball. Neighborhood just a bit edgy at night (not really) but...transitions quickly (1 block) to shopping district. I would HIGHLY recommend this property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
rosenberg
May 25, 2008

Romantic Night

This was a great hotel!! My boyfriend made it into town really early that day, and I was not sure we could get a early check-in esp. 1 at 10am. Surprisingly, they accomidated us and when we checked out, were not even charged for it. The lobby of the hotel was so aesthetically pleasing and the staff smiled and greeted you everywhere. I like the security feature of needing your hotel room card to use the elevator. Also, we asked for a late check out of 1:30pm, and were accomidated.No problem with getting our car from valet, and it is in an under cover garage, which for the Houston heat is great. Loved the rain shower, we ended up taking the longest showers just for that reason, its so relaxing. We will def be staying here again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Have Prospect - Will Travel
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 3, 2009

Great hotel!

It's a fun boutique hotel where I like to hold my business meetings. The location is convenient and the rates are reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, Texas
Jun 12, 2009

Different View

We went to Houston for a Baseball game. Very close and easy to get from Minute Maid Park. We really enjoyed ourselves there! It was very unique! The bed was sooo wonderful, we got a great nights rest! We had a garden tub and a walk in shower both worked great! Room service was great! All the staff was very friendly, and helpful! Cant say enough good things!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Was in walking distance to Minute maid park

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travel vet
Business
Austin, TX
Jan 14, 2011

Excellent location for downtown business

I travel frequently and the ICON is ideal. Have stayed here several times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JohnHenry56
Business
Santa Cruz, California
Oct 17, 2012

Houston Hotel Icon

Top shelf...really one of the finer properties I have stayed in for some time. Solid hotel...great room design...hugh tub... big shower with amazing water pressure. All the little things were done very very well. Food very nice, fine bar...good breakfast. On the edge of downtown close to light rail, theater district and about a mile from ballpark and basketball. Neighborhood just a bit edgy at night (not really) but...transitions quickly (1 block) to shopping district. I would HIGHLY recommend this property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Jun 29, 2009

Awesome, awesome, awesome.

Absolutely flawless service, excellent stay. I love the beautiful building and exquisitely decorated rooms. For $100 a night, WAY better than the bargain places!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lumberton, TEXAS
Jun 29, 2009

Hotel ICON

John and I enjoyed a delightful weekend (overnight) in Houston! Here's a quick recap: Iced tea and delicious little snack in very nice theater restaurant "Cabaret" matinee - great! Hotel check-in - Hotel ICON - a real beauty! Mom would LOVE it! Dinner - walked to tasty Italian place near hotel Astros game - walked to Minute Maid stadium from hotel only about 5 blcoks away) - My "treat" and alsa, we got free tickets! Astros won. Walked around checking out local music venues Listened to great live jazz at Black Cat Jazz Club - didn't chg. us cover 'cause we were hotel guests! AC was broken - ask John how hot it was! Enjoyed a free drink (on the hotel) at the very snazzy ICON lobby bar - you'd all like it there AM - room service breakfast Toured Houston Holocust Museum - quite awesome - could have spent much more time there and hope to return - free Went to Memorial Park and shared picnic lunch with birds Went to Japanese Garden to reminisce about time there with Raym and Judy Headed home in John's car with no AC (It was about 102 outside!) Jumped in our pool to cool off - water temp 94! We were only gone for an overnight, not even 48 hrs., but did a lot of varied, fun/interesting things. Wish we could have shared it all with YOU!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel provides ride to local spots....Dining ALL within two blocks.Nightlife ALL in walking distance.Museumn reach by rail train minutes from hotel..

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston TX
Oct 11, 2010

Hotel Icon

Very restful, peaceful, great rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Grapevine TX
Apr 22, 2009

Saturday Night at Hotel Icom

Wife and I got away for the weekend and wanted some place upscale and little shi-shi. The Hotel Icon impressed us on all levels. Great Service Fabulous rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sedona, AZ
Aug 20, 2009

ICON Hotel, Houston

I have seldom, if ever, seen a more courteous staff throughout from the doormen, front desk, wait staff, housekeeping. Without being overly solicitous, they all greeted with sincerity and always offered to help. When I couldn't get the elevator to operate (they have installed new card key security), the staff didn't just tell me and redirect me, with apologies for not being clear, the front desk person came to the elevator to be sure it worked. Several small instances like this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top