$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 22, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

4 stars
220 Main Street, 220 Main Street, Houston, TX 77002
Best In Stay Elite
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
85 reviews
Amazing Weekend

My husband and I had never been to Houston before and had no idea what to expect. This hotel was... See full review

  • Tampa0427
  • Jun 6, 2014
Mixed Bag

I wanted to stay in a luxury hotel so after some research I chose this property. The junior suite... See full review

  • BB2012
  • Jan 14, 2014
Stylish, opulent downtown Houston hotel in historic building
Located in downtown Houston, Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection offers opulence and style with exquisite accommodations and luxury service. The hotel is a $35 million renovation of the landmark United Nation Bank building and features 12 stories of custom-designed furnishings, chic decor and original artwork. Business and leisure travelers feel pampered by sumptuous rooms, gourmet cuisine and sophisticated lounge space. Hotel ICON is close to many Houston attractions, restaurants, businesses and entertainment options
Highlights
  • Located in downtown Houston
  • AAA Four Diamond hotel
  • Stylish, opulent furnishings
  • Renovated landmark building
Rooms
Guest rooms at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection offer the ultimate in luxury, with rich colors, plush bedding, beautifully appointed baths and distinctive style. Every room features free Wi-Fi, seating area, down blanket, premium bed linen, oversized personal safes, twice-daily maid service and fully stocked refreshment center. Spacious, gorgeous bathrooms feature Gilchrist & Soames amenities and marble countertops. Superior king rooms boast downtown views and Jacuzzi tubs.

 

Property features
Guests recharge in the hotel's stylish fitness center, which features hardwood floors and exposed brick wall. The 24-hour center features Cybex, Precor and Nautilus circuit machines, free weights and personal entertainment consoles at some machines.

Relaxation abounds at the hotel's BALANCE Urban Spa. Guests luxuriate in massages, body wraps, facials and salon services.


The hotel provides a complimentary shuttle service going to areas in downtown Houston within three miles from the property.

Dining
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection is home to on-site restaurant Line & Lariat that features an elegant dining room and exemplary service, the restaurant offers modern American cuisine, with ingredients from South Texas and area farmers markets.
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (9.6 mi/15.5 km)
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (15.4 mi/24.8 km)
  • Complimentary car service to areas within a three-mile radius, based on availability
Nearby attractions

  • Downtown Houston (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Toyota Center (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Houston museum district (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Minute Maid Park (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
  • Reliant Stadium (6.1 mi/9.8 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting facilities
  • Free Wi-Fi 

 

Hotel Map

29.7625 -95.3606
Area served
Houston
Nearby airports
George Bush Intercontinental Airport, (IAH), 15.60, MI, S; William P Hobby Airport, (HOU), 9.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Market Square Park: 0.1 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.7 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.8 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.9 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 3 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.1 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.7 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.8 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.9 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 3 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 3.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 3.1 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 3.3 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 3.4 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.5 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 3.7 mi
  • Hermann Park: 3.7 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 4.1 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 5.5 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5.9 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 6.1 mi
  • Water Wall: 6.3 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 7.5 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 13 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 13.3 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.8 mi
  • Wortham Center: 18.7 mi

Dining

Line & Lariat
Line & Lariat celebrates the modern Texas cuisine influenced by the nearby Gulf coast and surrounding ranches

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JohnHenry56
Business
Santa Cruz, California
Oct 17, 2012

Houston Hotel Icon

Top shelf...really one of the finer properties I have stayed in for some time. Solid hotel...great room design...hugh tub... big shower with amazing water pressure. All the little things were done very very well. Food very nice, fine bar...good breakfast. On the edge of downtown close to light rail, theater district and about a mile from ballpark and basketball. Neighborhood just a bit edgy at night (not really) but...transitions quickly (1 block) to shopping district. I would HIGHLY recommend this property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Drew86
Business
Irvine, CA
Dec 17, 2012

Weekend getaway

Best shower I have ever experienced. I had to mention this first. I've stayed in many hotels and a good shower is right up there with having a clean room. I love the decor/style of the room. Staff was very helpful and made my stay very enjoyable. Only minor criticism are the pillows...just too small. I'm not looking for giant pillows but the pillows were child size. However this would not stop me from staying there every time I come to Houston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gina Mitchell
Business
Fort Collins, Colorado
Mar 4, 2013

Awesome experience

Customer service was exceptional. I will be staying here on our future trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike 77573
Business
League City, Texas
Apr 1, 2013

Perfect nite

Staff was great, very helpful. Room was fantastic with a great veiw of the skyline! Perfect date-nite!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tampa0427
Business
Florida
Jun 6, 2014

Amazing Weekend

My husband and I had never been to Houston before and had no idea what to expect. This hotel was everything we could have hoped for. The breakfast and create your own omelette bar were fabulous and the staff was extremely helpful from start to finish. Very impressed and we definitely will be coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
The Woodlands, TX
Dec 29, 2009

Hotel Icon

Outstanding!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mia Bella Italian on Main Street and restaurant in hotel are excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
brit boy
Business
austin
May 24, 2009

hotel icon

wonderful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tomball, TX
Nov 23, 2009

Very comfortable hotel

Very quiet room with very comfortable bed. A/C - heating unit kept room air at an exact tempurature with a good humidity level. The deep tub with attached hand shower was perfect for the days start and finish. Hot water was instantaneous and your whole body would be immersed to your neck, very relaxing. The shower was very clean and big. I highly recommend this hotel due to room comfort and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Opera Goers
Business
Berkeley, CA
Nov 9, 2009

Bowled Over

Heavenly bed, quiet room and we loved the huge walk-in shower! Plush robes! We asked for early housekeeping while we were at breakfast and the room was immaculate when we returned. Fabulous valet service - we needed bouquets for the cast members at Houston Grand Opera and the valet gave spot-on recommendation. We will definitely be back and recommend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Voice, the in hotel restaurant was fabulous. We dined at another downtown high-end restaurant and it was no where near the quality of food as Voice. Luscious soup and tremendous entrees. A CHEESE Menu! A real winner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Jun 12, 2009

Different View

We went to Houston for a Baseball game. Very close and easy to get from Minute Maid Park. We really enjoyed ourselves there! It was very unique! The bed was sooo wonderful, we got a great nights rest! We had a garden tub and a walk in shower both worked great! Room service was great! All the staff was very friendly, and helpful! Cant say enough good things!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Was in walking distance to Minute maid park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top