$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 2, 2015 Check-out: Mar 3, 2015

Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

4 stars
View map of 220 Main Street, 220 Main Street, Houston, TX 77002

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
86 reviews
Houston weekend trip

The hotel location is excellent, plenty of dinning options around the hotel area. The room was... See full review

  • Carmenza G.
  • Dec 30, 2014
Amazing Weekend

My husband and I had never been to Houston before and had no idea what to expect. This hotel was... See full review

  • Tampa0427
  • Jun 6, 2014
Stylish, opulent downtown Houston hotel in historic building
Located in downtown Houston, Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection offers opulence and style with exquisite accommodations and luxury service. The hotel is a $35 million renovation of the landmark United Nation Bank building and features 12 stories of custom-designed furnishings, chic decor and original artwork. Business and leisure travelers feel pampered by sumptuous rooms, gourmet cuisine and sophisticated lounge space. Hotel ICON is close to many Houston attractions, restaurants, businesses and entertainment options
Highlights
  • Located in downtown Houston
  • AAA Four Diamond hotel
  • Stylish, opulent furnishings
  • Renovated landmark building
Rooms
Guest rooms at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection offer the ultimate in luxury, with rich colors, plush bedding, beautifully appointed baths and distinctive style. Every room features free Wi-Fi, seating area, down blanket, premium bed linen, oversized personal safes, twice-daily maid service and fully stocked refreshment center. Spacious, gorgeous bathrooms feature Gilchrist & Soames amenities and marble countertops. Superior king rooms boast downtown views and Jacuzzi tubs.

 

Property features
Guests recharge in the hotel's stylish fitness center, which features hardwood floors and exposed brick wall. The 24-hour center features Cybex, Precor and Nautilus circuit machines, free weights and personal entertainment consoles at some machines.

Relaxation abounds at the hotel's BALANCE Urban Spa. Guests luxuriate in massages, body wraps, facials and salon services.


The hotel provides a complimentary shuttle service going to areas in downtown Houston within three miles from the property.

Dining
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection is home to on-site restaurant Line & Lariat that features an elegant dining room and exemplary service, the restaurant offers modern American cuisine, with ingredients from South Texas and area farmers markets.
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (9.6 mi/15.5 km)
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (15.4 mi/24.8 km)
  • Complimentary car service to areas within a three-mile radius, based on availability
Nearby attractions

  • Downtown Houston (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Toyota Center (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Houston museum district (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Minute Maid Park (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
  • Reliant Stadium (6.1 mi/9.8 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting facilities
  • Free Wi-Fi 

 

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Market Square Park: 0.1 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.7 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.8 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.9 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 3 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.1 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.7 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.8 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.9 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 3 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 3.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 3.1 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 3.3 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 3.4 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.5 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 3.7 mi
  • Hermann Park: 3.7 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 4.1 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 5.5 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5.9 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 6.1 mi
  • Water Wall: 6.3 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 7.5 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 13 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 13.3 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.8 mi
  • Wortham Center: 18.7 mi

Dining

Line & Lariat
Line & Lariat celebrates the modern Texas cuisine influenced by the nearby Gulf coast and surrounding ranches

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (86)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 8, 2009

Loved It!!

This hotel was fantastic!! The lobby has very cool decor, and the staff was so helpful! Love love loved the HUGE bathroom and the room in general. Location is in walking distance to the light rail that goes to the Reliant Center. The only negative thing that I have to say is that the housekeeping staff stocked my room with only DECAF coffee for the coffee maker. I mean, why even bother drinking coffee if it is decaf?!?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grapevine TX
Apr 22, 2009

Saturday Night at Hotel Icom

Wife and I got away for the weekend and wanted some place upscale and little shi-shi. The Hotel Icon impressed us on all levels. Great Service Fabulous rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin
Jul 1, 2008

Everything good but no buffet breakfast

Everything was good. Buffet breakfast would have been nice if they had it - business folks don't have too much time in the morning for a sit down breakfast IMHO.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
rosenberg
May 25, 2008

Romantic Night

This was a great hotel!! My boyfriend made it into town really early that day, and I was not sure we could get a early check-in esp. 1 at 10am. Surprisingly, they accomidated us and when we checked out, were not even charged for it. The lobby of the hotel was so aesthetically pleasing and the staff smiled and greeted you everywhere. I like the security feature of needing your hotel room card to use the elevator. Also, we asked for a late check out of 1:30pm, and were accomidated.No problem with getting our car from valet, and it is in an under cover garage, which for the Houston heat is great. Loved the rain shower, we ended up taking the longest showers just for that reason, its so relaxing. We will def be staying here again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 22, 2008

Icon says it all!

Cool hotel with funky decor. Bed was really comfortable, and the shower was over the top. I stopped at the bar for a late night snack, and the flatbread appetizer was incredible. The location is in an old part of downtown that is redevelpong, but it was easy to park or walk to nearby restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Alley Theatre is just a few blocks away for theater-goers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nghiem
Business
USA
Apr 20, 2008

Not as good as I thought it would be

Hotel Icon was very beautiful and the decor was gorgeous in lobby. The staff at the front desk was very nice and courteous, though the staff on the floor I was on was not helpful at all. I asked him where the ice was and he told me to check in some dirty janitor room and then preceded to tell me to go to the upper levels to get ice myself. None of the levels had ice and later when I called the room service, they sent the ice up for me. I found out later that the staff was responsible in getting the ice for me, instead he just brushed me off and made me get it myself. Other than the fact that they gave me a room for the handicapped, my stay was ok at Hotel Icon, but I don't think I'll be returning there any time soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Toyota Center and Minute Maid Park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top