$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

4 stars
220 Main Street, 220 Main Street, Houston, TX 77002
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
85 reviews
Amazing Weekend

My husband and I had never been to Houston before and had no idea what to expect. This hotel was... See full review

  • Tampa0427
  • Jun 6, 2014
Perfect nite

Staff was great, very helpful. Room was fantastic with a great veiw of the skyline! Perfect date-nite! See full review

  • Mike 77573
  • Apr 1, 2013
Stylish, opulent downtown Houston hotel in historic building
Located in downtown Houston, Hotel ICON offers opulence and style with exquisite accommodations and luxury service. The hotel is a $35 million renovation of the landmark United Nation Bank building and features 12 stories of custom-designed furnishings, chic decor and original artwork. Business and leisure travelers feel pampered by sumptuous rooms, gourmet cuisine and sophisticated lounge space. Hotel ICON is close to many Houston attractions, restaurants, businesses and entertainment options
Highlights
  • Located in downtown Houston
  • AAA Four Diamond hotel
  • Stylish, opulent furnishings
  • Renovated landmark building
Rooms
Guest rooms at Hotel ICON offer the ultimate in luxury, with rich colors, plush bedding, beautifully appointed baths and distinctive style. Every room features free Wi-Fi, seating area, down blanket, premium bed linen, oversized personal safes, twice-daily maid service and fully stocked refreshment center. Spacious, gorgeous bathrooms feature Gilchrist & Soames amenities and marble countertops. Superior king rooms boast downtown views and Jacuzzi tubs.

 

Property features
Guests recharge in the hotel's stylish fitness center, which features hardwood floors and exposed brick wall. The 24-hour center features Cybex, Precor and Nautilus circuit machines, free weights and personal entertainment consoles at some machines. Guests also have access to a personal trainer.

Relaxation abounds at the hotel's BALANCE Urban Spa. Guests luxuriate in massages, body wraps, facials and salon services.


Hotel ICON is close to numerous downtown Houston options for shopping, dining and entertainment.  The hotel provides a complimentary car service within a three-mile radius, based on availability.


Dining
Hotel ICON is home to VOICE Restaurant and Lounge, voted one of the top new restaurants in the state by Texas Monthly. With an elegant dining room and exemplary service, the restaurant offers modern American cuisine, with ingredients from South Texas and area farmers markets.
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (9.6 mi/15.5 km)
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (15.4 mi/24.8 km)
  • Complimentary car service to areas within a three-mile radius, based on availability
Nearby attractions

  • Downtown Houston (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Toyota Center (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Houston museum district (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Minute Maid Park (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
  • Reliant Stadium (6.1 mi/9.8 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting facilities
  • Free Wi-Fi 

 

Hotel Map

29.7625 -95.3606
Area served
Houston
Nearby airports
George Bush Intercontinental Airport, (IAH), 15.60, MI, S; William P Hobby Airport, (HOU), 9.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Market Square Park: 0.1 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.7 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.8 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.9 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 3 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.1 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.7 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.8 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.9 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 3 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 3.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 3.1 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 3.3 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 3.4 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.5 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 3.7 mi
  • Hermann Park: 3.7 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 4.1 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 5.5 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5.9 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 6.1 mi
  • Water Wall: 6.3 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 7.5 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 13 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 13.3 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.8 mi
  • Wortham Center: 18.7 mi

Dining

Line & Lariat
Line & Lariat celebrates the modern Texas cuisine influenced by the nearby Gulf coast and surrounding ranches

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Drew86
Irvine, CA
Dec 17, 2012

Weekend getaway

Best shower I have ever experienced. I had to mention this first. I've stayed in many hotels and a good shower is right up there with having a clean room. I love the decor/style of the room. Staff was very helpful and made my stay very enjoyable. Only minor criticism are the pillows...just too small. I'm not looking for giant pillows but the pillows were child size. However this would not stop me from staying there every time I come to Houston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston TX
May 25, 2009

Fantastic couple escape

Very professional staff, there was a mistake on the reservation and the first room they gave didn't match what we requested but they fixed it quickly and the new room was perfect.. the jacuzzi with a windows to the bedrooms is great. The service was great and the free downtown shuttle is super convenient (my wife is 8 1/2 month pregnant so no walking for her) Overall a great experience, we'll be back to the Icon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is on main street were most of the bars and club are. no need to drive just walk there.

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andreac
Bellville, Tx
May 25, 2009

Great Hotel!

I love the Hotel decor! It was a great and relaxing time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wandering
Austin, TX
May 24, 2009

Great option in the theater disctict

Very professional and friendly staff, unexepected room upgrade, highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

On street parking is free from 6 PM on Saturdays until Monday. Avoid valet fee and parallel park yourself right outside the door.

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
brit boy
austin
May 24, 2009

hotel icon

wonderful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
El Campo, tx
May 24, 2009

10 yrs Anniversary

It was great, we were able to, dine, dance, and relax. The only thing bad, was the fact that our room faced a Jazz cafe across the street and we could here everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
brit boy
austin
May 24, 2009

hotel icon houston, tx

beautiful hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City
May 10, 2009

Great spot

great spot, huge rooms, comfortable beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
El Paso, Tx
May 9, 2009

Lakers vs. Rockets Game #3

This hotel was found online, because I had gotten tickets for the Lakers vs. Rockets game #3 and was searching for a hotel to spend one night in after the game. I wanted something within walking distance of the Toyota Center and wanted to enjoy any night life activities after the game. This location was perfect as it was within 1 mile of the arena and very close to an assortment of bars, restaurants, and night clubs. The staff at the hotel was friendly and helpful with any questions about establishments were good for drinks and food. The hotel was very clean and quiet. The hotel had complimentary shuttle service in a Mercedes. Though we did not end up going to a bar or night club, we did however hang out at the bar in the hotel. It was a nice mellow atmosphere. The overall experience was good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that is in town to have a good time or in town to experience a lively night life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many restaurants located within a short distance of this hotel.

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Have Prospect - Will Travel
Business
Chicago, IL
May 8, 2009

Excellent!

It was a great value and I'd stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 8, 2009

Loved It!!

This hotel was fantastic!! The lobby has very cool decor, and the staff was so helpful! Love love loved the HUGE bathroom and the room in general. Location is in walking distance to the light rail that goes to the Reliant Center. The only negative thing that I have to say is that the housekeeping staff stocked my room with only DECAF coffee for the coffee maker. I mean, why even bother drinking coffee if it is decaf?!?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search