$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

4 stars
View map of 220 Main Street, 220 Main Street, Houston, TX 77002

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 90
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Aug 26, 2009

Eclectic, modern, elegant, and relaxing!

I found the room to be a great get away after a long day of work!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sedona, AZ
Aug 20, 2009

ICON Hotel, Houston

I have seldom, if ever, seen a more courteous staff throughout from the doormen, front desk, wait staff, housekeeping. Without being overly solicitous, they all greeted with sincerity and always offered to help. When I couldn't get the elevator to operate (they have installed new card key security), the staff didn't just tell me and redirect me, with apologies for not being clear, the front desk person came to the elevator to be sure it worked. Several small instances like this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DSG
Business
NYC
Aug 18, 2009

More Ice Please... (Icon Hotel)

I am from Houston, but now live in NYC. I frequently enjoyed the bar at Hotel Icon and thought that my stay would be equally enjoyable. There were several occurrences that challenged that idea throughout my 3 night stay. The hotel "appears" to be an upscale hotel. The "book cover" is beautiful... the people are smiling, the lobby is spotless. However, "the contents of the book" do not reflect the cover. In other words, the service was less than 3-5 stars. Aside from constantly having to request ice (and we needed it...it was 100 degrees this past weekend), our room service order was wrong. I waited about an hour for a grilled cheese sandwich after being sent a different sandwich. Nothing similar was on the menu and the waiter repeated my order back to me... Additionally, they forgot the ice 4 times throughout my stay. To top it off, after returning back to the hotel from the sauna outside, our room had not been cleaned, our bed was not made and there were no clean towels on two occasions. We had to leave again so that our room could be cleaned... It was a lot for one weekend. We did sleep well. I'm just not sure if it was because of the heat, the frustration with the bad service or the comfortable little bed (it was small). Maybe it was all of the above! I will not stay there again and will not recommend it to anyone that I care about... Too much money, too little quality service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DSG
Business
NYC
Aug 18, 2009

More Ice Please... (Icon Hotel)

I am from Houston, but now live in NYC. I frequently enjoyed the bar at Hotel Icon and thought that my stay would be equally enjoyable. There were several occurrences that challenged that idea throughout my 3 night stay. The hotel "appears" to be an upscale hotel. The "book cover" is beautiful... the people are smiling, the lobby is spotless. However, "the contents of the book" do not reflect the cover. In other words, the service was less than 3-5 stars. Aside from constantly having to request ice (and we needed it...it was 100 degrees this past weekend), our room service order was wrong. I waited about an hour for a grilled cheese sandwich after being sent a different sandwich. Nothing similar was on the menu and the waiter repeated my order back to me... Additionally, they forgot the ice 4 times throughout my stay. To top it off, after returning back to the hotel from the sauna outside, our room had not been cleaned, our bed was not made and there were no clean towels on two occasions. We had to leave again so that our room could be cleaned... It was a lot for one weekend. We did sleep well. I'm just not sure if it was because of the heat, the frustration with the bad service or the comfortable little bed (it was small). Maybe it was all of the above! I will not stay there again and will not recommend it to anyone that I care about... Too much money, too little quality service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington D.C.
Aug 17, 2009

Exceptional brunch!

We stayed here for a wedding of which the reception was held in the ballroom of the hotel. The room was lovely, the decor was very beautiful and certainly made the occasion that much more special. The brunch at the hotel restaurant, Voice, was SO GOOD (go for the french toast). The only complaint I had was that upon checking in, I was told that they would be charging an additional $70 to my card to cover any expenses that might be incurred during my stay. When I inquired further, I still could not get an answer as to the point of this charge (I assumed that any room service, other services etc. would be viewed on my final bill). Thankfully, it was refunded (it didn't show up on my credit card statement at all), but was a little weird. Also, and I am sure this is with any hotel, just don' touch the mini-bar. I brought home leftovers from the rehearsal dinner and wanted to put them in the fridge. I carefully moved three of the items and was promptly billed. Thankfully, they were very good about removing the charges once I explained the situation. Overall quite an enjoyable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
france
Aug 5, 2009

VERY CHARMING HOTEL

Excellent food enjoyed my dinners

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

If you want to go shopping you need to take the hotel limo to go to the Galleria

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin
Jul 28, 2009

ICON See Myself Staying Again!

Historic yet trendy; interesting room layout; great location for my particular business needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sdrozdz
Business
Bossier City, LA
Jul 16, 2009

Great hotel!

Great hotel, really good deal when in comes to the price, but had to spent extra $30+ for valet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver
Jul 13, 2009

Great Hotel

nearly perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is one block from the Light Rail Station. The light rail takes you to great eating, and entertainment for $1.25. Plus you don't have to look for a place to park.

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Edna, Tx
Jul 11, 2009

Great Hotel

Great Hotel and staff. We went to the Astro's game. The hotel had first come first serve complimentary shuttle. The Voice Restaurant has marvelous food. The hotel is old and does smell that way, but a really great place to stay. Be aware of valet parking expense($27/night).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

really great food

Back to menu Return to top