$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 4, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

4 stars
View map of 220 Main Street, 220 Main Street, Houston, TX 77002

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DSG
Business
NYC
Aug 18, 2009

More Ice Please... (Icon Hotel)

I am from Houston, but now live in NYC. I frequently enjoyed the bar at Hotel Icon and thought that my stay would be equally enjoyable. There were several occurrences that challenged that idea throughout my 3 night stay. The hotel "appears" to be an upscale hotel. The "book cover" is beautiful... the people are smiling, the lobby is spotless. However, "the contents of the book" do not reflect the cover. In other words, the service was less than 3-5 stars. Aside from constantly having to request ice (and we needed it...it was 100 degrees this past weekend), our room service order was wrong. I waited about an hour for a grilled cheese sandwich after being sent a different sandwich. Nothing similar was on the menu and the waiter repeated my order back to me... Additionally, they forgot the ice 4 times throughout my stay. To top it off, after returning back to the hotel from the sauna outside, our room had not been cleaned, our bed was not made and there were no clean towels on two occasions. We had to leave again so that our room could be cleaned... It was a lot for one weekend. We did sleep well. I'm just not sure if it was because of the heat, the frustration with the bad service or the comfortable little bed (it was small). Maybe it was all of the above! I will not stay there again and will not recommend it to anyone that I care about... Too much money, too little quality service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington D.C.
Aug 17, 2009

Exceptional brunch!

We stayed here for a wedding of which the reception was held in the ballroom of the hotel. The room was lovely, the decor was very beautiful and certainly made the occasion that much more special. The brunch at the hotel restaurant, Voice, was SO GOOD (go for the french toast). The only complaint I had was that upon checking in, I was told that they would be charging an additional $70 to my card to cover any expenses that might be incurred during my stay. When I inquired further, I still could not get an answer as to the point of this charge (I assumed that any room service, other services etc. would be viewed on my final bill). Thankfully, it was refunded (it didn't show up on my credit card statement at all), but was a little weird. Also, and I am sure this is with any hotel, just don' touch the mini-bar. I brought home leftovers from the rehearsal dinner and wanted to put them in the fridge. I carefully moved three of the items and was promptly billed. Thankfully, they were very good about removing the charges once I explained the situation. Overall quite an enjoyable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
france
Aug 5, 2009

VERY CHARMING HOTEL

Excellent food enjoyed my dinners

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

If you want to go shopping you need to take the hotel limo to go to the Galleria

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin
Jul 28, 2009

ICON See Myself Staying Again!

Historic yet trendy; interesting room layout; great location for my particular business needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sdrozdz
Business
Bossier City, LA
Jul 16, 2009

Great hotel!

Great hotel, really good deal when in comes to the price, but had to spent extra $30+ for valet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver
Jul 13, 2009

Great Hotel

nearly perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is one block from the Light Rail Station. The light rail takes you to great eating, and entertainment for $1.25. Plus you don't have to look for a place to park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Edna, Tx
Jul 11, 2009

Great Hotel

Great Hotel and staff. We went to the Astro's game. The hotel had first come first serve complimentary shuttle. The Voice Restaurant has marvelous food. The hotel is old and does smell that way, but a really great place to stay. Be aware of valet parking expense($27/night).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

really great food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveller Jim
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 6, 2009

Houston Trip

The hotel was in a great location, which was one of the primary factors affecting the decision to stay there. It was very expensive to valet park the car overnight, there was no pool, and items in the hotel were overly expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a guided tour of Minute Maid Park, home of the Houston Astros located within 5 blocks from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jun 29, 2009

Awesome, awesome, awesome.

Absolutely flawless service, excellent stay. I love the beautiful building and exquisitely decorated rooms. For $100 a night, WAY better than the bargain places!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lumberton, TEXAS
Jun 29, 2009

Hotel ICON

John and I enjoyed a delightful weekend (overnight) in Houston! Here's a quick recap: Iced tea and delicious little snack in very nice theater restaurant "Cabaret" matinee - great! Hotel check-in - Hotel ICON - a real beauty! Mom would LOVE it! Dinner - walked to tasty Italian place near hotel Astros game - walked to Minute Maid stadium from hotel only about 5 blcoks away) - My "treat" and alsa, we got free tickets! Astros won. Walked around checking out local music venues Listened to great live jazz at Black Cat Jazz Club - didn't chg. us cover 'cause we were hotel guests! AC was broken - ask John how hot it was! Enjoyed a free drink (on the hotel) at the very snazzy ICON lobby bar - you'd all like it there AM - room service breakfast Toured Houston Holocust Museum - quite awesome - could have spent much more time there and hope to return - free Went to Memorial Park and shared picnic lunch with birds Went to Japanese Garden to reminisce about time there with Raym and Judy Headed home in John's car with no AC (It was about 102 outside!) Jumped in our pool to cool off - water temp 94! We were only gone for an overnight, not even 48 hrs., but did a lot of varied, fun/interesting things. Wish we could have shared it all with YOU!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel provides ride to local spots....Dining ALL within two blocks.Nightlife ALL in walking distance.Museumn reach by rail train minutes from hotel..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top