$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

4 stars
220 Main Street, 220 Main Street, Houston, TX 77002
Best In Stay Elite
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
85 reviews
Amazing Weekend

My husband and I had never been to Houston before and had no idea what to expect. This hotel was... See full review

  • Tampa0427
  • Jun 6, 2014
Mixed Bag

I wanted to stay in a luxury hotel so after some research I chose this property. The junior suite... See full review

  • BB2012
  • Jan 14, 2014
Stylish, opulent downtown Houston hotel in historic building
Located in downtown Houston, Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection offers opulence and style with exquisite accommodations and luxury service. The hotel is a $35 million renovation of the landmark United Nation Bank building and features 12 stories of custom-designed furnishings, chic decor and original artwork. Business and leisure travelers feel pampered by sumptuous rooms, gourmet cuisine and sophisticated lounge space. Hotel ICON is close to many Houston attractions, restaurants, businesses and entertainment options
Highlights
  • Located in downtown Houston
  • AAA Four Diamond hotel
  • Stylish, opulent furnishings
  • Renovated landmark building
Rooms
Guest rooms at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection offer the ultimate in luxury, with rich colors, plush bedding, beautifully appointed baths and distinctive style. Every room features free Wi-Fi, seating area, down blanket, premium bed linen, oversized personal safes, twice-daily maid service and fully stocked refreshment center. Spacious, gorgeous bathrooms feature Gilchrist & Soames amenities and marble countertops. Superior king rooms boast downtown views and Jacuzzi tubs.

 

Property features
Guests recharge in the hotel's stylish fitness center, which features hardwood floors and exposed brick wall. The 24-hour center features Cybex, Precor and Nautilus circuit machines, free weights and personal entertainment consoles at some machines.

Relaxation abounds at the hotel's BALANCE Urban Spa. Guests luxuriate in massages, body wraps, facials and salon services.


The hotel provides a complimentary shuttle service going to areas in downtown Houston within three miles from the property.

Dining
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection is home to on-site restaurant Line & Lariat that features an elegant dining room and exemplary service, the restaurant offers modern American cuisine, with ingredients from South Texas and area farmers markets.
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (9.6 mi/15.5 km)
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (15.4 mi/24.8 km)
  • Complimentary car service to areas within a three-mile radius, based on availability
Nearby attractions

  • Downtown Houston (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Toyota Center (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Houston museum district (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Minute Maid Park (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
  • Reliant Stadium (6.1 mi/9.8 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting facilities
  • Free Wi-Fi 

 

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Market Square Park: 0.1 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.7 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.8 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.9 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 3 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.1 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.7 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.8 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.9 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 3 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 3.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 3.1 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 3.3 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 3.4 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.5 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 3.7 mi
  • Hermann Park: 3.7 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 4.1 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 5.5 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5.9 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 6.1 mi
  • Water Wall: 6.3 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 7.5 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 13 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 13.3 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.8 mi
  • Wortham Center: 18.7 mi

Dining

Line & Lariat
Line & Lariat celebrates the modern Texas cuisine influenced by the nearby Gulf coast and surrounding ranches

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tomball, TX
Nov 23, 2009

Very comfortable hotel

Very quiet room with very comfortable bed. A/C - heating unit kept room air at an exact tempurature with a good humidity level. The deep tub with attached hand shower was perfect for the days start and finish. Hot water was instantaneous and your whole body would be immersed to your neck, very relaxing. The shower was very clean and big. I highly recommend this hotel due to room comfort and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Nov 13, 2009

Read this before you book it plz!

It's a very high class hotel, everything is spotless in there. Seems very nice. But that is only the cover. The Bed is super soft that can't support your back. Far distance from restaurant, pharmacy store, and more. Area seems very down hills. and we are in downtown Houston. Need to pay Valet Parking for every night you stay $26/night. "Do Not Touch the MINI bar if you are not planning to drink anything from it, because they will charge you money once you touch or move them". People are friend because they want you to tip them. Money drainer hotel. After staying there for 3 night, I somehow got bites from some mystery insect on my thigh eventhough i wear tight pantyhourse every day, and not gone too far from the hotel. If you have a problem with your bathroom. Call [...] the redhead girl. She seems the "only ONE" in the hotel know what she is doing. Others are have no idea what they are doing. Do not depend on everyone. Put down $400 cash up front in case they will charge for any fees.Always make sure you bring extra $$money for your trip in case of emergency like this..It's on our black list so far.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Offer free charge 3 mile anywhere around the hotel. Mexican food bistrol restaurant across the hotel is wonderful. [...] is great person and driver to ask for food/resaurant and shopping. [...] is a great guide for entertaining. Pay $400cash at the frontdesk save your credit card bills because of the extra fees they charged.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Opera Goers
Business
Berkeley, CA
Nov 9, 2009

Bowled Over

Heavenly bed, quiet room and we loved the huge walk-in shower! Plush robes! We asked for early housekeeping while we were at breakfast and the room was immaculate when we returned. Fabulous valet service - we needed bouquets for the cast members at Houston Grand Opera and the valet gave spot-on recommendation. We will definitely be back and recommend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Voice, the in hotel restaurant was fabulous. We dined at another downtown high-end restaurant and it was no where near the quality of food as Voice. Luscious soup and tremendous entrees. A CHEESE Menu! A real winner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Global Consultant.
Business
King of Prussia, PA.
Oct 25, 2009

A Great Find.

The hotel is a 1911 bank building which was beautifully and carefully renovated in 2005. The public spaces are attractive in inviting, with a comfortable bar as one approaches the award winning restaurant. The staff were very welcoming, and the room had a bathroom comparable to 5 star hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northville, Michighan
Sep 27, 2009

Hotel Icon is the Tops

All of the employees at the Icon greeted us with a smile and always asked if they could be of any assistance. They have a wonderful courtesy wine get-together from 5-6 in the lobby where guests meet and get to know one another. A very friendly and luxurious vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The museum district is nearby and can be reached by taking the bus for $1. Minute Maid Stadium is less than a mile away. This hotel has the perfect location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weekend traveler to NYC
Business
Shreveport LA
Sep 6, 2009

Pleasant experience

Friendly, good price-value ratio, close to public transportation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Uber travel weekender
Business
Cedar Hill, Texas
Sep 1, 2009

Had a great visit at Hotel Icon

We were quite comfortable and took several pictures in the hotel. We particularly enjoyed the complimentary valet driver taking us to fun hot spots and great nearby eateries. The rooms are relatively small, but they are decorated so cute and are so comfortable that you barely notice. So the only negative with Hotel Icon was that they didn't have a pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Hotel Icon desk recommended the Breakfast Klub restaurant for breakfast. The complimentary valet took us there, picked us up afterwards and the food was fast and yummy. When you visit the Breakfast Klub try the catfish and waffles.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Aug 26, 2009

Eclectic, modern, elegant, and relaxing!

I found the room to be a great get away after a long day of work!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sedona, AZ
Aug 20, 2009

ICON Hotel, Houston

I have seldom, if ever, seen a more courteous staff throughout from the doormen, front desk, wait staff, housekeeping. Without being overly solicitous, they all greeted with sincerity and always offered to help. When I couldn't get the elevator to operate (they have installed new card key security), the staff didn't just tell me and redirect me, with apologies for not being clear, the front desk person came to the elevator to be sure it worked. Several small instances like this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DSG
Business
NYC
Aug 18, 2009

More Ice Please... (Icon Hotel)

I am from Houston, but now live in NYC. I frequently enjoyed the bar at Hotel Icon and thought that my stay would be equally enjoyable. There were several occurrences that challenged that idea throughout my 3 night stay. The hotel "appears" to be an upscale hotel. The "book cover" is beautiful... the people are smiling, the lobby is spotless. However, "the contents of the book" do not reflect the cover. In other words, the service was less than 3-5 stars. Aside from constantly having to request ice (and we needed it...it was 100 degrees this past weekend), our room service order was wrong. I waited about an hour for a grilled cheese sandwich after being sent a different sandwich. Nothing similar was on the menu and the waiter repeated my order back to me... Additionally, they forgot the ice 4 times throughout my stay. To top it off, after returning back to the hotel from the sauna outside, our room had not been cleaned, our bed was not made and there were no clean towels on two occasions. We had to leave again so that our room could be cleaned... It was a lot for one weekend. We did sleep well. I'm just not sure if it was because of the heat, the frustration with the bad service or the comfortable little bed (it was small). Maybe it was all of the above! I will not stay there again and will not recommend it to anyone that I care about... Too much money, too little quality service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top