$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

4 stars
View map of 220 Main Street, 220 Main Street, Houston, TX 77002

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tomball, TX
Nov 23, 2009

Very comfortable hotel

Very quiet room with very comfortable bed. A/C - heating unit kept room air at an exact tempurature with a good humidity level. The deep tub with attached hand shower was perfect for the days start and finish. Hot water was instantaneous and your whole body would be immersed to your neck, very relaxing. The shower was very clean and big. I highly recommend this hotel due to room comfort and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Nov 13, 2009

Read this before you book it plz!

It's a very high class hotel, everything is spotless in there. Seems very nice. But that is only the cover. The Bed is super soft that can't support your back. Far distance from restaurant, pharmacy store, and more. Area seems very down hills. and we are in downtown Houston. Need to pay Valet Parking for every night you stay $26/night. "Do Not Touch the MINI bar if you are not planning to drink anything from it, because they will charge you money once you touch or move them". People are friend because they want you to tip them. Money drainer hotel. After staying there for 3 night, I somehow got bites from some mystery insect on my thigh eventhough i wear tight pantyhourse every day, and not gone too far from the hotel. If you have a problem with your bathroom. Call [...] the redhead girl. She seems the "only ONE" in the hotel know what she is doing. Others are have no idea what they are doing. Do not depend on everyone. Put down $400 cash up front in case they will charge for any fees.Always make sure you bring extra $$money for your trip in case of emergency like this..It's on our black list so far.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Offer free charge 3 mile anywhere around the hotel. Mexican food bistrol restaurant across the hotel is wonderful. [...] is great person and driver to ask for food/resaurant and shopping. [...] is a great guide for entertaining. Pay $400cash at the frontdesk save your credit card bills because of the extra fees they charged.

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Opera Goers
Business
Berkeley, CA
Nov 9, 2009

Bowled Over

Heavenly bed, quiet room and we loved the huge walk-in shower! Plush robes! We asked for early housekeeping while we were at breakfast and the room was immaculate when we returned. Fabulous valet service - we needed bouquets for the cast members at Houston Grand Opera and the valet gave spot-on recommendation. We will definitely be back and recommend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Voice, the in hotel restaurant was fabulous. We dined at another downtown high-end restaurant and it was no where near the quality of food as Voice. Luscious soup and tremendous entrees. A CHEESE Menu! A real winner.

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Global Consultant.
Business
King of Prussia, PA.
Oct 25, 2009

A Great Find.

The hotel is a 1911 bank building which was beautifully and carefully renovated in 2005. The public spaces are attractive in inviting, with a comfortable bar as one approaches the award winning restaurant. The staff were very welcoming, and the room had a bathroom comparable to 5 star hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northville, Michighan
Sep 27, 2009

Hotel Icon is the Tops

All of the employees at the Icon greeted us with a smile and always asked if they could be of any assistance. They have a wonderful courtesy wine get-together from 5-6 in the lobby where guests meet and get to know one another. A very friendly and luxurious vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The museum district is nearby and can be reached by taking the bus for $1. Minute Maid Stadium is less than a mile away. This hotel has the perfect location.

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weekend traveler to NYC
Business
Shreveport LA
Sep 6, 2009

Pleasant experience

Friendly, good price-value ratio, close to public transportation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Uber travel weekender
Business
Cedar Hill, Texas
Sep 1, 2009

Had a great visit at Hotel Icon

We were quite comfortable and took several pictures in the hotel. We particularly enjoyed the complimentary valet driver taking us to fun hot spots and great nearby eateries. The rooms are relatively small, but they are decorated so cute and are so comfortable that you barely notice. So the only negative with Hotel Icon was that they didn't have a pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Hotel Icon desk recommended the Breakfast Klub restaurant for breakfast. The complimentary valet took us there, picked us up afterwards and the food was fast and yummy. When you visit the Breakfast Klub try the catfish and waffles.

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Aug 26, 2009

Eclectic, modern, elegant, and relaxing!

I found the room to be a great get away after a long day of work!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sedona, AZ
Aug 20, 2009

ICON Hotel, Houston

I have seldom, if ever, seen a more courteous staff throughout from the doormen, front desk, wait staff, housekeeping. Without being overly solicitous, they all greeted with sincerity and always offered to help. When I couldn't get the elevator to operate (they have installed new card key security), the staff didn't just tell me and redirect me, with apologies for not being clear, the front desk person came to the elevator to be sure it worked. Several small instances like this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington D.C.
Aug 17, 2009

Exceptional brunch!

We stayed here for a wedding of which the reception was held in the ballroom of the hotel. The room was lovely, the decor was very beautiful and certainly made the occasion that much more special. The brunch at the hotel restaurant, Voice, was SO GOOD (go for the french toast). The only complaint I had was that upon checking in, I was told that they would be charging an additional $70 to my card to cover any expenses that might be incurred during my stay. When I inquired further, I still could not get an answer as to the point of this charge (I assumed that any room service, other services etc. would be viewed on my final bill). Thankfully, it was refunded (it didn't show up on my credit card statement at all), but was a little weird. Also, and I am sure this is with any hotel, just don' touch the mini-bar. I brought home leftovers from the rehearsal dinner and wanted to put them in the fridge. I carefully moved three of the items and was promptly billed. Thankfully, they were very good about removing the charges once I explained the situation. Overall quite an enjoyable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top