$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2014 Check-out: Jul 27, 2014

Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

4 stars
220 Main Street, 220 Main Street, Houston, TX 77002
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
158 reviews
Amazing Weekend

My husband and I had never been to Houston before and had no idea what to expect. This hotel was... See full review

  • Tampa0427
  • Jun 6, 2014
Perfect nite

Staff was great, very helpful. Room was fantastic with a great veiw of the skyline! Perfect date-nite! See full review

  • Mike 77573
  • Apr 1, 2013
Stylish, opulent downtown Houston hotel in historic building
Located in downtown Houston, Hotel ICON offers opulence and style with exquisite accommodations and luxury service. The hotel is a $35 million renovation of the landmark United Nation Bank building and features 12 stories of custom-designed furnishings, chic decor and original artwork. Business and leisure travelers feel pampered by sumptuous rooms, gourmet cuisine and sophisticated lounge space. Hotel ICON is close to many Houston attractions, restaurants, businesses and entertainment options
Highlights
  • Located in downtown Houston
  • AAA Four Diamond hotel
  • Stylish, opulent furnishings
  • Renovated landmark building
Rooms
Guest rooms at Hotel ICON offer the ultimate in luxury, with rich colors, plush bedding, beautifully appointed baths and distinctive style. Every room features free Wi-Fi, seating area, down blanket, premium bed linen, oversized personal safes, twice-daily maid service and fully stocked refreshment center. Spacious, gorgeous bathrooms feature Gilchrist & Soames amenities and marble countertops. Superior king rooms boast downtown views and Jacuzzi tubs.

 

Property features
Guests recharge in the hotel's stylish fitness center, which features hardwood floors and exposed brick wall. The 24-hour center features Cybex, Precor and Nautilus circuit machines, free weights and personal entertainment consoles at some machines. Guests also have access to a personal trainer.

Relaxation abounds at the hotel's BALANCE Urban Spa. Guests luxuriate in massages, body wraps, facials and salon services.


Hotel ICON is close to numerous downtown Houston options for shopping, dining and entertainment.  The hotel provides a complimentary car service within a three-mile radius, based on availability.


Dining
Hotel ICON is home to VOICE Restaurant and Lounge, voted one of the top new restaurants in the state by Texas Monthly. With an elegant dining room and exemplary service, the restaurant offers modern American cuisine, with ingredients from South Texas and area farmers markets.
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (9.6 mi/15.5 km)
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (15.4 mi/24.8 km)
  • Complimentary car service to areas within a three-mile radius, based on availability
Nearby attractions

  • Downtown Houston (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Toyota Center (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Houston museum district (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Minute Maid Park (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
  • Reliant Stadium (6.1 mi/9.8 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting facilities
  • Free Wi-Fi 

 

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.7625 -95.3606
Area served
Houston
Nearby airports
George Bush Intercontinental Airport, (IAH), 15.60, MI, S; William P Hobby Airport, (HOU), 9.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Oceanfront

Nearby points of interest

  • Market Square Park: 0.1 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.7 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.8 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.9 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 3 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.1 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.7 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.8 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.9 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 3 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 3.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 3.1 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 3.3 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 3.4 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.5 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 3.7 mi
  • Hermann Park: 3.7 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 4.1 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 5.5 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5.9 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 6.1 mi
  • Water Wall: 6.3 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 7.5 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 13 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 13.3 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.8 mi
  • Wortham Center: 18.7 mi

Dining

Line & Lariat
Line & Lariat celebrates the modern Texas cuisine influenced by the nearby Gulf coast and surrounding ranches

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (158)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
158 out of 158
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BB2012
Boston,MA
Jan 14, 2014

Mixed Bag

I wanted to stay in a luxury hotel so after some research I chose this property. The junior suite was a nice size and the large bathroom was why I initially chose this hotel. Large tub and shower but the faucets leaked and did not work properly. Also they made a lot if noise when turned on and off. In the morning we heard loud banging from the room next door that woke us up at 830 am. It was either pipes from their bathroom or housekeeping banging. Called the front desk and they did not seem too concerned. Room also had a musty smell to it and the windows were dirty along with the furniture in the room that had cup stains on it. Valet was fast and efficient. Room service quality was not good. The coffee was lukewarm. The hotel had character however for the price and bring part of the autograph collection it should have been impeccable. Not much to do in the area. It was like a ghost town on the Saturday afternoon we arrived. The rubber ducky in the bathroom is cute!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go or stay in Galleria area if you want food choices and shopping!

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Will33
Center, TX 75935, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Staff was the best part of the Hotel

The hotel was great but the staff was awesome! Michael, at the Voice, was excellent. The voice will be the reason we come back next month!! Professional, courteous, helpful, but not in your face. My wife and I really enjoyed our stay and this will be our Downtown Hotel from now on! The Hotel did not get a perfect rating, because no one is perfect.....but that are really close! Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at the Voice, the Chef is great as well as the staff.

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nghiem
USA
Apr 20, 2008

Not as good as I thought it would be

Hotel Icon was very beautiful and the decor was gorgeous in lobby. The staff at the front desk was very nice and courteous, though the staff on the floor I was on was not helpful at all. I asked him where the ice was and he told me to check in some dirty janitor room and then preceded to tell me to go to the upper levels to get ice myself. None of the levels had ice and later when I called the room service, they sent the ice up for me. I found out later that the staff was responsible in getting the ice for me, instead he just brushed me off and made me get it myself. Other than the fact that they gave me a room for the handicapped, my stay was ok at Hotel Icon, but I don't think I'll be returning there any time soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Toyota Center and Minute Maid Park

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
solo downtown
Texas
Jun 5, 2009

Hotel ICON June 2009

The staff was marvelous, kind and helpful. I always felt comfortable and safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of good restaurants, and the hotel staff will help you find one to your liking

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
af140
San Bruno, CA, USA
Sep 8, 2011

It's a nice hotel

It's a nice hotel, It's a old bank building change to classic hotel inside has newly remodel and room is comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
.LG.
Business
Western Massachusetts
Sep 29, 2012

Great and convenient downtown location, great value

Hotel is very convenient to downtown locations. Convenient location to a lot of nearby restaurants. The hotel recently (July 2012) went through a renovation so everything is clean and fresh. Style of the hotel is eclectic but nice, has a luxury feel to it. Complimentary coffee in the lobby is the best coffee I've had in a hotel, hands down. It's almost *$s quality. Your experience will vary based on the room you get. The "entry" level rooms are very small, so I would pony up the extra money and upgrade the room a bit - that's where the real value to the place is. The beds were comfortable - I travelled with some colleagues and the feedback was the same - beds are good, but some didn't like the "hallway" feeling to the rooms and the bathroom being small (again for their entry level room). The fitness center is pretty nice. No dip bars, and it only has an e-z curl bar, but beyond that you can pretty much do just about anything if you are into free weights. It has pull up bars, cables, free weights, treadmills, and some machines. Really quite a bit for the size of the fitness center. There is no pool so bear that in mind if that is a requirement for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Backstreet Cafe is less than four miles away and it is one of the best restaurants we visited in Houston. Their patio area is very nice, and their food was amazing. Hugo's (same owner) is an awesome continental mexican restaurant. Their Carne Brava and Lechon options were amazing.

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marky D
Business
NYC
Feb 1, 2010

Really luxurious and interesting

The hotel is beautiful (former bank, including a vault door behind the main desk), and the room was very big and very nice. I thought the restaurant was over-priced and there aren't a lot of other dining options right nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
chicago
Jul 15, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

none

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marky D
Business
NYC
Feb 1, 2010

Really luxurious and interesting

The hotel is beautiful (former bank, including a vault door behind the main desk), and the room was very big and very nice. I thought the restaurant was over-priced and there aren't a lot of other dining options right nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveller Jim
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 6, 2009

Houston Trip

The hotel was in a great location, which was one of the primary factors affecting the decision to stay there. It was very expensive to valet park the car overnight, there was no pool, and items in the hotel were overly expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a guided tour of Minute Maid Park, home of the Houston Astros located within 5 blocks from the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top