$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

4 stars
View map of 220 Main Street, 220 Main Street, Houston, TX 77002

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 90
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
solo downtown
Business
Texas
Jun 5, 2009

Hotel ICON June 2009

The staff was marvelous, kind and helpful. I always felt comfortable and safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of good restaurants, and the hotel staff will help you find one to your liking

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buzzsaws
Business
El Paso, TX
Jun 1, 2009

Elegant and comfortable

If you like the European style of hotel, you will like the ICON. The rooms are small but have high ceilings and everything is efficeintly arranged. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. In/out valet parking was very easy. For a downtown hotel that is very comfortable and affordable, this is the place. The only problem I had was finding it. The name on the hotel is tiny and obscure. Thank goodness for GPS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Places to eat close by were diverse in their cuisine and affordable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
Jul 15, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

none

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Aug 3, 2010

very charming

perfect for business trips in Houston, great value for the money, unique hotel, very nice bar, lobby area where people hang out in the evening, very friendly service personnel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Campo, tx
May 24, 2009

10 yrs Anniversary

It was great, we were able to, dine, dance, and relax. The only thing bad, was the fact that our room faced a Jazz cafe across the street and we could here everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Edna, Tx
Jul 11, 2009

Great Hotel

Great Hotel and staff. We went to the Astro's game. The hotel had first come first serve complimentary shuttle. The Voice Restaurant has marvelous food. The hotel is old and does smell that way, but a really great place to stay. Be aware of valet parking expense($27/night).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

really great food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Will33
Business
Center, TX 75935, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Staff was the best part of the Hotel

The hotel was great but the staff was awesome! Michael, at the Voice, was excellent. The voice will be the reason we come back next month!! Professional, courteous, helpful, but not in your face. My wife and I really enjoyed our stay and this will be our Downtown Hotel from now on! The Hotel did not get a perfect rating, because no one is perfect.....but that are really close! Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at the Voice, the Chef is great as well as the staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nghiem
Business
USA
Apr 20, 2008

Not as good as I thought it would be

Hotel Icon was very beautiful and the decor was gorgeous in lobby. The staff at the front desk was very nice and courteous, though the staff on the floor I was on was not helpful at all. I asked him where the ice was and he told me to check in some dirty janitor room and then preceded to tell me to go to the upper levels to get ice myself. None of the levels had ice and later when I called the room service, they sent the ice up for me. I found out later that the staff was responsible in getting the ice for me, instead he just brushed me off and made me get it myself. Other than the fact that they gave me a room for the handicapped, my stay was ok at Hotel Icon, but I don't think I'll be returning there any time soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Toyota Center and Minute Maid Park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans, LA
Jun 2, 2010

Iconic Stay

I went online and read many reviews on this hotel before deciding to stay here. The room was a nice size and the bed was sooooooooo comfortable. The bathroom was nice and the shower was HUGE and the rain shower was awesome. [...] The fitness center was sexy which I know isn't really a good way to describe a fitness but all the equipment was red which is a very different but great look. Overall I would definetly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a lot of clubs and restaurants downtown within walking distance to this hotel. But directly across the street is a jazz club called The Red Cat Cafe, if your into jazz you will have a blast!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington D.C.
Aug 17, 2009

Exceptional brunch!

We stayed here for a wedding of which the reception was held in the ballroom of the hotel. The room was lovely, the decor was very beautiful and certainly made the occasion that much more special. The brunch at the hotel restaurant, Voice, was SO GOOD (go for the french toast). The only complaint I had was that upon checking in, I was told that they would be charging an additional $70 to my card to cover any expenses that might be incurred during my stay. When I inquired further, I still could not get an answer as to the point of this charge (I assumed that any room service, other services etc. would be viewed on my final bill). Thankfully, it was refunded (it didn't show up on my credit card statement at all), but was a little weird. Also, and I am sure this is with any hotel, just don' touch the mini-bar. I brought home leftovers from the rehearsal dinner and wanted to put them in the fridge. I carefully moved three of the items and was promptly billed. Thankfully, they were very good about removing the charges once I explained the situation. Overall quite an enjoyable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top