Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$169
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 12, 2016 Check-out: Feb 13, 2016

Great and convenient downtown location, great value

Would recommend Sat, Sep 29, 2012
Hotel is very convenient to downtown locations. Convenient location to a lot of nearby restaurants. The hotel recently (July 2012) went through a renovation so everything is clean and fresh. Style of the hotel is eclectic but nice, has a luxury feel to it. Complimentary coffee in the lobby is the best coffee I've had in a hotel, hands down. It's almost *$s quality. Your experience will vary based on the room you get. The "entry" level rooms are very small, so I would pony up the extra money and upgrade the room a bit - that's where the real value to the place is. The beds were comfortable - I travelled with some colleagues and the feedback was the same - beds are good, but some didn't like the "hallway" feeling to the rooms and the bathroom being small (again for their entry level room). The fitness center is pretty nice. No dip bars, and it only has an e-z curl bar, but beyond that you can pretty much do just about anything if you are into free weights. It has pull up bars, cables, free weights, treadmills, and some machines. Really quite a bit for the size of the fitness center. There is no pool so bear that in mind if that is a requirement for you.

Dining

Backstreet Cafe is less than four miles away and it is one of the best restaurants we visited in Houston. Their patio area is very nice, and their food was amazing. Hugo's (same owner) is an awesome continental mexican restaurant. Their Carne Brava and Lechon options were amazing.

| Western Massachusetts Business

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Staff was the best part of the Hotel

Would recommend Mon, Oct 3, 2011
The hotel was great but the staff was awesome! Michael, at the Voice, was excellent. The voice will be the reason we come back next month!! Professional, courteous, helpful, but not in your face. My wife and I really enjoyed our stay and this will be our Downtown Hotel from now on! The Hotel did not get a perfect rating, because no one is perfect.....but that are really close! Thanks

Dining

Eat at the Voice, the Chef is great as well as the staff.

| Center, TX 75935, USA Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

It's a nice hotel

Would recommend Thu, Sep 8, 2011
It's a nice hotel, It's a old bank building change to classic hotel inside has newly remodel and room is comfortable.

| San Bruno, CA, USA Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Stay elsewhere!

Would not recommend Mon, Jul 11, 2011
This is not a 4-star property. The lobby area is interesting and the best part of the hotel. However, the hallways are dark and rooms are dingy. I honestly felt like I was in a haunted mansion walking down the hall. Upon entering the room, the size was ok but furniture and fixtures were somewhat worn. Bathroom was nice but not much light. The service was terrible at the hotel! The room service brought wrong order, and then got it wrong a 2nd time! The housekeeping service was not good either, as the halls had dirty dishes practically all the time we were there, and we had to call for them to service our room after returning from a day trip. And the wireless did not work properly the whole time. The bar was disappointing, too, with a rude bartender. Management was less than helpful, and the "survey" we were promised was never sent. This is not an elegant property and I would not recommend!

Entertainment hint

Astros game at minute maid park.

| Jackson ms Friends

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

The Hotel was Beautiful and the service

Would recommend Mon, Jul 4, 2011
Hotel Icon's Mission Statement is "...make it extrordinary" which every member of the staff did from the time we arrived to the time we left. The decor was elegant, the bathrooms were perfect and the service was second to none.

| New Orleans Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

If you like good service stay elsewhere!

Would not recommend Mon, Jul 4, 2011
This was one of the worst experiences I've had at a hotel. The rooms are worn, peeling lampshades and old televisions. Hallways and rooms were dark and dingy. The bathroom has limited light. One of the two elevators didn't work, and fighting over the other with hotel employees was frustrating. Room service sent wrong order one day; another day returned from outing late afternoon and maid had forgotten to clean room; no apology for either instance; another day was ignored at lobby bar which closes early at 10pm; management was not accommodating in any way; wireless Internet was sluggish at best; dirty dishes were left in hallways for entire days; not even close to luxury or 4 stars in my opinion. I suggest looking for other downtown options!

Entertainment hint

Baseball at Minute Maid Park

| Jackson, MS Couples

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Great romantic evening

Would recommend Tue, Apr 19, 2011
Our trip was a fantastic one, don't think we can top that stay. Everything about it was great, the hotel was just beautiful, the room was great. Room service great. Nothing could beat this trip.

| Conroe, TX Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Hotel Icon

Would recommend Tue, Feb 1, 2011
excellent staff, large rooms,

| Austin, TX Business

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

excellent location for price

Would recommend Mon, Jan 31, 2011
The staff was perfectly trained, right down to the car valet, who had my name on his list when I drove up. The rooms were clean and the linens crisp. The Service was excellent. The walls and woodwork are painted in very dark deperssing combination.

| Corpus Christi Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great stay at Icon

Would recommend Mon, Jan 31, 2011
We had a quick stay at Hotel Icon, but the room was great and the service was very professional and friendly.

| Houston, TX Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5