$124 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 2, 2014

Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

4 stars
220 Main Street, 220 Main Street, Houston, TX 77002
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
158 reviews
Amazing Weekend

My husband and I had never been to Houston before and had no idea what to expect. This hotel was... See full review

  • Tampa0427
  • Jun 6, 2014
Perfect nite

Staff was great, very helpful. Room was fantastic with a great veiw of the skyline! Perfect date-nite! See full review

  • Mike 77573
  • Apr 1, 2013
Stylish, opulent downtown Houston hotel in historic building
Located in downtown Houston, Hotel ICON offers opulence and style with exquisite accommodations and luxury service. The hotel is a $35 million renovation of the landmark United Nation Bank building and features 12 stories of custom-designed furnishings, chic decor and original artwork. Business and leisure travelers feel pampered by sumptuous rooms, gourmet cuisine and sophisticated lounge space. Hotel ICON is close to many Houston attractions, restaurants, businesses and entertainment options
Highlights
  • Located in downtown Houston
  • AAA Four Diamond hotel
  • Stylish, opulent furnishings
  • Renovated landmark building
Rooms
Guest rooms at Hotel ICON offer the ultimate in luxury, with rich colors, plush bedding, beautifully appointed baths and distinctive style. Every room features free Wi-Fi, seating area, down blanket, premium bed linen, oversized personal safes, twice-daily maid service and fully stocked refreshment center. Spacious, gorgeous bathrooms feature Gilchrist & Soames amenities and marble countertops. Superior king rooms boast downtown views and Jacuzzi tubs.

 

Property features
Guests recharge in the hotel's stylish fitness center, which features hardwood floors and exposed brick wall. The 24-hour center features Cybex, Precor and Nautilus circuit machines, free weights and personal entertainment consoles at some machines. Guests also have access to a personal trainer.

Relaxation abounds at the hotel's BALANCE Urban Spa. Guests luxuriate in massages, body wraps, facials and salon services.


Hotel ICON is close to numerous downtown Houston options for shopping, dining and entertainment.  The hotel provides a complimentary car service within a three-mile radius, based on availability.


Dining
Hotel ICON is home to VOICE Restaurant and Lounge, voted one of the top new restaurants in the state by Texas Monthly. With an elegant dining room and exemplary service, the restaurant offers modern American cuisine, with ingredients from South Texas and area farmers markets.
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (9.6 mi/15.5 km)
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (15.4 mi/24.8 km)
  • Complimentary car service to areas within a three-mile radius, based on availability
Nearby attractions

  • Downtown Houston (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Toyota Center (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Houston museum district (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Minute Maid Park (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
  • Reliant Stadium (6.1 mi/9.8 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting facilities
  • Free Wi-Fi 

 

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.7625 -95.3606
Area served
Houston
Nearby airports
George Bush Intercontinental Airport, (IAH), 15.60, MI, S; William P Hobby Airport, (HOU), 9.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Oceanfront

Nearby points of interest

  • Market Square Park: 0.1 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.7 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.8 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.9 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 3 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.1 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.7 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.8 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.9 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 3 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 3.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 3.1 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 3.3 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 3.4 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.5 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 3.7 mi
  • Hermann Park: 3.7 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 4.1 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 5.5 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5.9 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 6.1 mi
  • Water Wall: 6.3 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 7.5 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 13 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 13.3 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.8 mi
  • Wortham Center: 18.7 mi

Dining

Line & Lariat
Line & Lariat celebrates the modern Texas cuisine influenced by the nearby Gulf coast and surrounding ranches

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (158)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
158 out of 158
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Drew86
Irvine, CA
Dec 17, 2012

Weekend getaway

Best shower I have ever experienced. I had to mention this first. I've stayed in many hotels and a good shower is right up there with having a clean room. I love the decor/style of the room. Staff was very helpful and made my stay very enjoyable. Only minor criticism are the pillows...just too small. I'm not looking for giant pillows but the pillows were child size. However this would not stop me from staying there every time I come to Houston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Will33
Center, TX 75935, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Staff was the best part of the Hotel

The hotel was great but the staff was awesome! Michael, at the Voice, was excellent. The voice will be the reason we come back next month!! Professional, courteous, helpful, but not in your face. My wife and I really enjoyed our stay and this will be our Downtown Hotel from now on! The Hotel did not get a perfect rating, because no one is perfect.....but that are really close! Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at the Voice, the Chef is great as well as the staff.

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
af140
San Bruno, CA, USA
Sep 8, 2011

It's a nice hotel

It's a nice hotel, It's a old bank building change to classic hotel inside has newly remodel and room is comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
af140
San Bruno, CA, USA
Sep 8, 2011

It's a nice hotel

It's a nice hotel, It's a old bank building change to classic hotel inside has newly remodel and room is comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jackson ms
Jul 11, 2011

Stay elsewhere!

This is not a 4-star property. The lobby area is interesting and the best part of the hotel. However, the hallways are dark and rooms are dingy. I honestly felt like I was in a haunted mansion walking down the hall. Upon entering the room, the size was ok but furniture and fixtures were somewhat worn. Bathroom was nice but not much light. The service was terrible at the hotel! The room service brought wrong order, and then got it wrong a 2nd time! The housekeeping service was not good either, as the halls had dirty dishes practically all the time we were there, and we had to call for them to service our room after returning from a day trip. And the wireless did not work properly the whole time. The bar was disappointing, too, with a rude bartender. Management was less than helpful, and the "survey" we were promised was never sent. This is not an elegant property and I would not recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Astros game at minute maid park.

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jackson ms
Jul 11, 2011

Stay elsewhere!

This is not a 4-star property. The lobby area is interesting and the best part of the hotel. However, the hallways are dark and rooms are dingy. I honestly felt like I was in a haunted mansion walking down the hall. Upon entering the room, the size was ok but furniture and fixtures were somewhat worn. Bathroom was nice but not much light. The service was terrible at the hotel! The room service brought wrong order, and then got it wrong a 2nd time! The housekeeping service was not good either, as the halls had dirty dishes practically all the time we were there, and we had to call for them to service our room after returning from a day trip. And the wireless did not work properly the whole time. The bar was disappointing, too, with a rude bartender. Management was less than helpful, and the "survey" we were promised was never sent. This is not an elegant property and I would not recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Astros game at minute maid park.

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Geauxsaintsfan
Jackson, MS
Jul 4, 2011

If you like good service stay elsewhere!

This was one of the worst experiences I've had at a hotel. The rooms are worn, peeling lampshades and old televisions. Hallways and rooms were dark and dingy. The bathroom has limited light. One of the two elevators didn't work, and fighting over the other with hotel employees was frustrating. Room service sent wrong order one day; another day returned from outing late afternoon and maid had forgotten to clean room; no apology for either instance; another day was ignored at lobby bar which closes early at 10pm; management was not accommodating in any way; wireless Internet was sluggish at best; dirty dishes were left in hallways for entire days; not even close to luxury or 4 stars in my opinion. I suggest looking for other downtown options!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Baseball at Minute Maid Park

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Orleans
Jul 4, 2011

The Hotel was Beautiful and the service

Hotel Icon's Mission Statement is "...make it extrordinary" which every member of the staff did from the time we arrived to the time we left. The decor was elegant, the bathrooms were perfect and the service was second to none.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Geauxsaintsfan
Jackson, MS
Jul 4, 2011

If you like good service stay elsewhere!

This was one of the worst experiences I've had at a hotel. The rooms are worn, peeling lampshades and old televisions. Hallways and rooms were dark and dingy. The bathroom has limited light. One of the two elevators didn't work, and fighting over the other with hotel employees was frustrating. Room service sent wrong order one day; another day returned from outing late afternoon and maid had forgotten to clean room; no apology for either instance; another day was ignored at lobby bar which closes early at 10pm; management was not accommodating in any way; wireless Internet was sluggish at best; dirty dishes were left in hallways for entire days; not even close to luxury or 4 stars in my opinion. I suggest looking for other downtown options!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Baseball at Minute Maid Park

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Orleans
Jul 4, 2011

The Hotel was Beautiful and the service

Hotel Icon's Mission Statement is "...make it extrordinary" which every member of the staff did from the time we arrived to the time we left. The decor was elegant, the bathrooms were perfect and the service was second to none.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Conroe, TX
Apr 19, 2011

Great romantic evening

Our trip was a fantastic one, don't think we can top that stay. Everything about it was great, the hotel was just beautiful, the room was great. Room service great. Nothing could beat this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top