$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

4 stars
View map of 220 Main Street, 220 Main Street, Houston, TX 77002

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 90
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Drew86
Irvine, CA
Dec 17, 2012

Weekend getaway

Best shower I have ever experienced. I had to mention this first. I've stayed in many hotels and a good shower is right up there with having a clean room. I love the decor/style of the room. Staff was very helpful and made my stay very enjoyable. Only minor criticism are the pillows...just too small. I'm not looking for giant pillows but the pillows were child size. However this would not stop me from staying there every time I come to Houston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
.LG.
Business
Western Massachusetts
Sep 29, 2012

Great and convenient downtown location, great value

Hotel is very convenient to downtown locations. Convenient location to a lot of nearby restaurants. The hotel recently (July 2012) went through a renovation so everything is clean and fresh. Style of the hotel is eclectic but nice, has a luxury feel to it. Complimentary coffee in the lobby is the best coffee I've had in a hotel, hands down. It's almost *$s quality. Your experience will vary based on the room you get. The "entry" level rooms are very small, so I would pony up the extra money and upgrade the room a bit - that's where the real value to the place is. The beds were comfortable - I travelled with some colleagues and the feedback was the same - beds are good, but some didn't like the "hallway" feeling to the rooms and the bathroom being small (again for their entry level room). The fitness center is pretty nice. No dip bars, and it only has an e-z curl bar, but beyond that you can pretty much do just about anything if you are into free weights. It has pull up bars, cables, free weights, treadmills, and some machines. Really quite a bit for the size of the fitness center. There is no pool so bear that in mind if that is a requirement for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Backstreet Cafe is less than four miles away and it is one of the best restaurants we visited in Houston. Their patio area is very nice, and their food was amazing. Hugo's (same owner) is an awesome continental mexican restaurant. Their Carne Brava and Lechon options were amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Will33
Business
Center, TX 75935, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Staff was the best part of the Hotel

The hotel was great but the staff was awesome! Michael, at the Voice, was excellent. The voice will be the reason we come back next month!! Professional, courteous, helpful, but not in your face. My wife and I really enjoyed our stay and this will be our Downtown Hotel from now on! The Hotel did not get a perfect rating, because no one is perfect.....but that are really close! Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at the Voice, the Chef is great as well as the staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
af140
Business
San Bruno, CA, USA
Sep 8, 2011

It's a nice hotel

It's a nice hotel, It's a old bank building change to classic hotel inside has newly remodel and room is comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jackson ms
Jul 11, 2011

Stay elsewhere!

This is not a 4-star property. The lobby area is interesting and the best part of the hotel. However, the hallways are dark and rooms are dingy. I honestly felt like I was in a haunted mansion walking down the hall. Upon entering the room, the size was ok but furniture and fixtures were somewhat worn. Bathroom was nice but not much light. The service was terrible at the hotel! The room service brought wrong order, and then got it wrong a 2nd time! The housekeeping service was not good either, as the halls had dirty dishes practically all the time we were there, and we had to call for them to service our room after returning from a day trip. And the wireless did not work properly the whole time. The bar was disappointing, too, with a rude bartender. Management was less than helpful, and the "survey" we were promised was never sent. This is not an elegant property and I would not recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Astros game at minute maid park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans
Jul 4, 2011

The Hotel was Beautiful and the service

Hotel Icon's Mission Statement is "...make it extrordinary" which every member of the staff did from the time we arrived to the time we left. The decor was elegant, the bathrooms were perfect and the service was second to none.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Geauxsaintsfan
Business
Jackson, MS
Jul 4, 2011

If you like good service stay elsewhere!

This was one of the worst experiences I've had at a hotel. The rooms are worn, peeling lampshades and old televisions. Hallways and rooms were dark and dingy. The bathroom has limited light. One of the two elevators didn't work, and fighting over the other with hotel employees was frustrating. Room service sent wrong order one day; another day returned from outing late afternoon and maid had forgotten to clean room; no apology for either instance; another day was ignored at lobby bar which closes early at 10pm; management was not accommodating in any way; wireless Internet was sluggish at best; dirty dishes were left in hallways for entire days; not even close to luxury or 4 stars in my opinion. I suggest looking for other downtown options!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Baseball at Minute Maid Park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Conroe, TX
Apr 19, 2011

Great romantic evening

Our trip was a fantastic one, don't think we can top that stay. Everything about it was great, the hotel was just beautiful, the room was great. Room service great. Nothing could beat this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
South Carolina
Apr 1, 2011

Nice hotel with friendly staff

We had a short stay at Hotel Icon. The standard room is very small with a gorgeous bathroom, but if you're looking for more space then you might want to spend more money and get the larger package. For the cost of the room though, there was nothing extraordinary about the room, or the hotel. We didn't dine in Voice Lounge, but from what I heard it was supposed to be a wonderful experience...from glancing at the menu, it was ordinary. The staff at Hotel Icon is WONDERFUL though. The valet parking staff were so helpful. One of them gave us tour guide material and reviewed several options to make our visit to Houston comfortable and exciting. The complimentary parking is great as well. As long as you travel within a three mile radius, they will take you to your destination and pick you up in a timely fashion. That was certainly a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to III Forks. It was amazing with friendly waiters!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
South Carolina
Apr 1, 2011

Nice hotel with friendly staff

We had a short stay at Hotel Icon. The standard room is very small with a gorgeous bathroom, but if you're looking for more space then you might want to spend more money and get the larger package. For the cost of the room though, there was nothing extraordinary about the room, or the hotel. We didn't dine in Voice Lounge, but from what I heard it was supposed to be a wonderful experience...from glancing at the menu, it was ordinary. The staff at Hotel Icon is WONDERFUL though. The valet parking staff were so helpful. One of them gave us tour guide material and reviewed several options to make our visit to Houston comfortable and exciting. The complimentary parking is great as well. As long as you travel within a three mile radius, they will take you to your destination and pick you up in a timely fashion. That was certainly a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to III Forks. It was amazing with friendly waiters!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
folateboy
Business
Austin, TX
Feb 1, 2011

Hotel Icon

excellent staff, large rooms,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top