$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

4 stars
220 Main Street, 220 Main Street, Houston, TX 77002
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
85 reviews
Amazing Weekend

My husband and I had never been to Houston before and had no idea what to expect. This hotel was... See full review

  • Tampa0427
  • Jun 6, 2014
Perfect nite

Staff was great, very helpful. Room was fantastic with a great veiw of the skyline! Perfect date-nite! See full review

  • Mike 77573
  • Apr 1, 2013
Stylish, opulent downtown Houston hotel in historic building
Located in downtown Houston, Hotel ICON offers opulence and style with exquisite accommodations and luxury service. The hotel is a $35 million renovation of the landmark United Nation Bank building and features 12 stories of custom-designed furnishings, chic decor and original artwork. Business and leisure travelers feel pampered by sumptuous rooms, gourmet cuisine and sophisticated lounge space. Hotel ICON is close to many Houston attractions, restaurants, businesses and entertainment options
Highlights
  • Located in downtown Houston
  • AAA Four Diamond hotel
  • Stylish, opulent furnishings
  • Renovated landmark building
Rooms
Guest rooms at Hotel ICON offer the ultimate in luxury, with rich colors, plush bedding, beautifully appointed baths and distinctive style. Every room features free Wi-Fi, seating area, down blanket, premium bed linen, oversized personal safes, twice-daily maid service and fully stocked refreshment center. Spacious, gorgeous bathrooms feature Gilchrist & Soames amenities and marble countertops. Superior king rooms boast downtown views and Jacuzzi tubs.

 

Property features
Guests recharge in the hotel's stylish fitness center, which features hardwood floors and exposed brick wall. The 24-hour center features Cybex, Precor and Nautilus circuit machines, free weights and personal entertainment consoles at some machines. Guests also have access to a personal trainer.

Relaxation abounds at the hotel's BALANCE Urban Spa. Guests luxuriate in massages, body wraps, facials and salon services.


Hotel ICON is close to numerous downtown Houston options for shopping, dining and entertainment.  The hotel provides a complimentary car service within a three-mile radius, based on availability.


Dining
Hotel ICON is home to VOICE Restaurant and Lounge, voted one of the top new restaurants in the state by Texas Monthly. With an elegant dining room and exemplary service, the restaurant offers modern American cuisine, with ingredients from South Texas and area farmers markets.
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (9.6 mi/15.5 km)
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (15.4 mi/24.8 km)
  • Complimentary car service to areas within a three-mile radius, based on availability
Nearby attractions

  • Downtown Houston (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Toyota Center (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Houston museum district (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Minute Maid Park (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
  • Reliant Stadium (6.1 mi/9.8 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting facilities
  • Free Wi-Fi 

 

Hotel Map

29.7625 -95.3606
Area served
Houston
Nearby airports
George Bush Intercontinental Airport, (IAH), 15.60, MI, S; William P Hobby Airport, (HOU), 9.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Market Square Park: 0.1 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.7 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.8 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.9 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 3 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.1 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.7 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.8 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.9 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 3 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 3.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 3.1 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 3.3 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 3.4 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.5 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 3.7 mi
  • Hermann Park: 3.7 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 4.1 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 5.5 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5.9 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 6.1 mi
  • Water Wall: 6.3 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 7.5 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 13 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 13.3 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.8 mi
  • Wortham Center: 18.7 mi

Dining

Line & Lariat
Line & Lariat celebrates the modern Texas cuisine influenced by the nearby Gulf coast and surrounding ranches

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Geauxsaintsfan
Jackson, MS
Jul 4, 2011

If you like good service stay elsewhere!

This was one of the worst experiences I've had at a hotel. The rooms are worn, peeling lampshades and old televisions. Hallways and rooms were dark and dingy. The bathroom has limited light. One of the two elevators didn't work, and fighting over the other with hotel employees was frustrating. Room service sent wrong order one day; another day returned from outing late afternoon and maid had forgotten to clean room; no apology for either instance; another day was ignored at lobby bar which closes early at 10pm; management was not accommodating in any way; wireless Internet was sluggish at best; dirty dishes were left in hallways for entire days; not even close to luxury or 4 stars in my opinion. I suggest looking for other downtown options!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Baseball at Minute Maid Park

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jackson ms
Jul 11, 2011

Stay elsewhere!

This is not a 4-star property. The lobby area is interesting and the best part of the hotel. However, the hallways are dark and rooms are dingy. I honestly felt like I was in a haunted mansion walking down the hall. Upon entering the room, the size was ok but furniture and fixtures were somewhat worn. Bathroom was nice but not much light. The service was terrible at the hotel! The room service brought wrong order, and then got it wrong a 2nd time! The housekeeping service was not good either, as the halls had dirty dishes practically all the time we were there, and we had to call for them to service our room after returning from a day trip. And the wireless did not work properly the whole time. The bar was disappointing, too, with a rude bartender. Management was less than helpful, and the "survey" we were promised was never sent. This is not an elegant property and I would not recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Astros game at minute maid park.

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston
Nov 13, 2009

Read this before you book it plz!

It's a very high class hotel, everything is spotless in there. Seems very nice. But that is only the cover. The Bed is super soft that can't support your back. Far distance from restaurant, pharmacy store, and more. Area seems very down hills. and we are in downtown Houston. Need to pay Valet Parking for every night you stay $26/night. "Do Not Touch the MINI bar if you are not planning to drink anything from it, because they will charge you money once you touch or move them". People are friend because they want you to tip them. Money drainer hotel. After staying there for 3 night, I somehow got bites from some mystery insect on my thigh eventhough i wear tight pantyhourse every day, and not gone too far from the hotel. If you have a problem with your bathroom. Call [...] the redhead girl. She seems the "only ONE" in the hotel know what she is doing. Others are have no idea what they are doing. Do not depend on everyone. Put down $400 cash up front in case they will charge for any fees.Always make sure you bring extra $$money for your trip in case of emergency like this..It's on our black list so far.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Offer free charge 3 mile anywhere around the hotel. Mexican food bistrol restaurant across the hotel is wonderful. [...] is great person and driver to ask for food/resaurant and shopping. [...] is a great guide for entertaining. Pay $400cash at the frontdesk save your credit card bills because of the extra fees they charged.

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DSG
NYC
Aug 18, 2009

More Ice Please... (Icon Hotel)

I am from Houston, but now live in NYC. I frequently enjoyed the bar at Hotel Icon and thought that my stay would be equally enjoyable. There were several occurrences that challenged that idea throughout my 3 night stay. The hotel "appears" to be an upscale hotel. The "book cover" is beautiful... the people are smiling, the lobby is spotless. However, "the contents of the book" do not reflect the cover. In other words, the service was less than 3-5 stars. Aside from constantly having to request ice (and we needed it...it was 100 degrees this past weekend), our room service order was wrong. I waited about an hour for a grilled cheese sandwich after being sent a different sandwich. Nothing similar was on the menu and the waiter repeated my order back to me... Additionally, they forgot the ice 4 times throughout my stay. To top it off, after returning back to the hotel from the sauna outside, our room had not been cleaned, our bed was not made and there were no clean towels on two occasions. We had to leave again so that our room could be cleaned... It was a lot for one weekend. We did sleep well. I'm just not sure if it was because of the heat, the frustration with the bad service or the comfortable little bed (it was small). Maybe it was all of the above! I will not stay there again and will not recommend it to anyone that I care about... Too much money, too little quality service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mr & Mrs T
TX
Jun 10, 2010

Not too thrilled about the service

The hotel itself was nice the rooms were on the small side but clean. We had the king room with jacuzzi. We requested ice shortly after arriving and did not get until after we requested it again 20 minutes later. We also requested the shuttle service and were told it would be a 15 min wait, 30 minutes later we asked about the shuttle and were told it would be another 15 min wait because of traffic delays. After that we requested a cab to be called. On the way back from our outing we called for the shuttle again and were told it would be there shortly 30 minutes later we called again and were told we should walk to a different intersection to meet with the shuttle...we are not from Houston so obviously do not know the streets. We informed them that we would wait where we were. Needless to say we were not too happy with the service!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are coming to enjoy the nightlife it is just a few blocks down Main Street.

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Katy,TX
Mar 14, 2010

Hotel Icon

Went to the rodeo with my significant other. The hotel was advertised as with a jacuzzi, this room had none. When asked at the lobby if the hotel had one, the reply was that jacuzzi's are only in the rooms. The hotel maid also tampered and threw away my significant other's anxiety medication, which we had to cut our trip early in order to get her a refill. When asking the customer relations about the maid, we were instructed that the hotel does not hire the maids themselves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
South Carolina
Apr 1, 2011

Nice hotel with friendly staff

We had a short stay at Hotel Icon. The standard room is very small with a gorgeous bathroom, but if you're looking for more space then you might want to spend more money and get the larger package. For the cost of the room though, there was nothing extraordinary about the room, or the hotel. We didn't dine in Voice Lounge, but from what I heard it was supposed to be a wonderful experience...from glancing at the menu, it was ordinary. The staff at Hotel Icon is WONDERFUL though. The valet parking staff were so helpful. One of them gave us tour guide material and reviewed several options to make our visit to Houston comfortable and exciting. The complimentary parking is great as well. As long as you travel within a three mile radius, they will take you to your destination and pick you up in a timely fashion. That was certainly a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to III Forks. It was amazing with friendly waiters!

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BB2012
Boston,MA
Jan 14, 2014

Mixed Bag

I wanted to stay in a luxury hotel so after some research I chose this property. The junior suite was a nice size and the large bathroom was why I initially chose this hotel. Large tub and shower but the faucets leaked and did not work properly. Also they made a lot if noise when turned on and off. In the morning we heard loud banging from the room next door that woke us up at 830 am. It was either pipes from their bathroom or housekeeping banging. Called the front desk and they did not seem too concerned. Room also had a musty smell to it and the windows were dirty along with the furniture in the room that had cup stains on it. Valet was fast and efficient. Room service quality was not good. The coffee was lukewarm. The hotel had character however for the price and bring part of the autograph collection it should have been impeccable. Not much to do in the area. It was like a ghost town on the Saturday afternoon we arrived. The rubber ducky in the bathroom is cute!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go or stay in Galleria area if you want food choices and shopping!

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wandering
Austin, TX
May 24, 2009

Great option in the theater disctict

Very professional and friendly staff, unexepected room upgrade, highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

On street parking is free from 6 PM on Saturdays until Monday. Avoid valet fee and parallel park yourself right outside the door.

Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
.LG.
Business
Western Massachusetts
Sep 29, 2012

Great and convenient downtown location, great value

Hotel is very convenient to downtown locations. Convenient location to a lot of nearby restaurants. The hotel recently (July 2012) went through a renovation so everything is clean and fresh. Style of the hotel is eclectic but nice, has a luxury feel to it. Complimentary coffee in the lobby is the best coffee I've had in a hotel, hands down. It's almost *$s quality. Your experience will vary based on the room you get. The "entry" level rooms are very small, so I would pony up the extra money and upgrade the room a bit - that's where the real value to the place is. The beds were comfortable - I travelled with some colleagues and the feedback was the same - beds are good, but some didn't like the "hallway" feeling to the rooms and the bathroom being small (again for their entry level room). The fitness center is pretty nice. No dip bars, and it only has an e-z curl bar, but beyond that you can pretty much do just about anything if you are into free weights. It has pull up bars, cables, free weights, treadmills, and some machines. Really quite a bit for the size of the fitness center. There is no pool so bear that in mind if that is a requirement for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Backstreet Cafe is less than four miles away and it is one of the best restaurants we visited in Houston. Their patio area is very nice, and their food was amazing. Hugo's (same owner) is an awesome continental mexican restaurant. Their Carne Brava and Lechon options were amazing.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search