$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Hotel Derek

4 stars
View map of 2525 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
193 reviews
Close to everything

I was visiting for a conference at the University. The room was spectacular and while the ambiance... See full review

  • Timothy NonUniqueNickname
  • Apr 22, 2015
Excellent Hotel

Hotel Derek is a great place to stay in the Galleria area of Houston. I rated evrything excellent... See full review

  • Potterman
  • Apr 18, 2015

Bold contemporary designs with features like hardwood and black granite floors, exposed pipes, and artwork by Arthur Meyerson ensure that Hotel Derek in Houston has a unique ambience compared with more understated accommodations. Drenched in southern hospitality, the AAA Four-Diamond award-winning restaurant serves hearty dishes like the Hangover Burger and Inverted Grilled Cheese, while chic cocktails and craft beers are available evenings at the bar. The only boutique hotel inside the Houston 610 Loop, splash out on a Penthouse Suite for floor-to-ceiling windows looking out over the Galleria, or try the urban Loft for a seating area and king-sized bed.

Key facts

  • Wedding venue accommodating groups up to 350
  • Business meeting rooms
  • Modern ballroom
  • Smoke-free
  • Terrace and splash pool
  • Starbucks on-site
  • Gym available 24/7
  • Choice between valet and self-parking
  • Chauffeured car service that operates within 3-mile radius of hotel
  • Pet-friendly (see hotel pet policy)

Neighborhood

The Derek Hotel Houston is centrally located in the heart of the city, close to the famous Galleria-which is the largest mall in Texas-as well as Greenway Plaza, meaning shopaholics are in good hands. Nature lovers can take a stroll around the trails of Houston Arboretum, while the aquarium and zoo are perfect for kids. A good selection of cultural museums, including the Museum of Fine Arts and Contemporary Arts Museum, are also situated in this neighborhood.

Hints and tips

Take advantage of the chauffeured car service operating within a three-mile radius of the Derek Hotel.

After a morning of exploration, hit the Caffeine Bar to replenish your energy with a drink mixed by the baristas, and see what concoctions you can come up with.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Derek also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Derek Rooms

Business Class
Business Class King - Complimentary Local Calls, High speed internet, VIP Turndown Service, and a Welcome Amenity.
Deluxe King
Deluxe King features: one king bed, complimentary internet access - high speed, internet access - wireless, premium TV channel(s), cable/satellite TV, pay movies, video-game console, custom bedding, climate control, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, blackout drapes, multi-line phone, free local calls, voice mail, minibar, coffee/tea maker, refrigerator (on request), wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), turndown service (on request), extra towels/bedding in room, makeup mirror, massage - available in room, sewing kit, bathrobes, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptop), clock radio, desk, electronic check-out, electronic/magnetic keys, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available.
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe Double Double features: two over-sized double beds, complimentary internet access - high speed, internet access - wireless, premium TV channel(s), cable/satellite TV, pay movies, video-game console, custom bedding, climate control, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, blackout drapes, internet access - complimentary, multi-line phone, free local calls, voice mail, minibar, coffee/tea maker, refrigerator (on request), wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), turndown service (on request), extra towels/bedding in room, makeup mirror, massage - available in room, sewing kit, bathrobes, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptop), clock radio, desk, electronic check-out, electronic/magnetic keys, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available.
Sky Floor King
Sky Floor King features: one king bed, complimentary internet access - high speed, internet access - wireless, premium TV channel(s), cable/satellite TV, pay movies, video-game console, custom bedding, climate control, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, blackout drapes, multi-line phone, free local calls, voice mail, minibar, upgraded coffee brewers, complimentary in room water, refrigerator (on request), wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), turndown service, extra towels/bedding in room, makeup mirror, massage - available in room, sewing kit, bathrobes, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptop), clock radio, desk, electronic check-out, electronic/magnetic keys, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available.
Sky Floor Double
Sky Floor Double features: two double beds, complimentary internet access - high speed, internet access - wireless, premium TV channel(s), cable/satellite TV, pay movies, video-game console, custom bedding, climate control, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, blackout drapes, multi-line phone, free local calls, voice mail, minibar, upgraded coffee brewers, complimentary in room water, refrigerator (on request), wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), turndown service, extra towels/bedding in room, makeup mirror, massage - available in room, sewing kit, bathrobes, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptop), clock radio, desk, electronic check-out, electronic/magnetic keys, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Wall: 0.5 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 1.6 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 1.6 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 2.4 mi
  • Beer Can House: 2.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 3.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.6 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.1 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 4.1 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.2 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 4.3 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 4.4 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 4.4 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Water Wall: 0.5 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 1.6 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 1.6 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 2.4 mi
  • Beer Can House: 2.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 3.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.6 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.1 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 4.1 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.2 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 4.3 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 4.4 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 4.4 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 4.5 mi
  • Hermann Park: 4.5 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 4.8 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 4.9 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 5.2 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 5.4 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 5.7 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 5.7 mi
  • Jones Hall: 5.7 mi
  • Toyota Center: 5.7 mi
  • Market Square Park: 5.9 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 5.9 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 6.6 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 6.6 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 6.7 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 7 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 7.8 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 13.5 mi
  • Wortham Center: 15.5 mi

Dining

Valentino
Breakfast (daily breakfast buffet is $16.00 plus tax) Monday thru Friday 6:30am - 10am, Sat, Sun 7am - 11am. Lunch Monday thru Friday 10am - 2pm, Sat/ Sun, 11am - 2pm. Afternoon Intermezzo Monday thru Sunday 2pm - 430pm. Cocktails & Bar Fare Dinner*** Monday thru Sunday 430pm - 11 or 12am (depending upon business levels). Bar Service Sunday until 12am Monday thru Saturday until 2am.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
When searching for a memorable alternative for your next Houston event or conference, look no further than Hotel Derek. As a high-profile hotel in a highly charged area for business, our Houston convention facilities cater to corporate business travelers by delivering friendly service in a sophisticated modern environment. Featuring more than 10,000 square feet of Houston Texas event space, Hotel Derek graciously welcomes groups from 10 to 500. Fully wired with the latest cutting-edge technologies to enhance your presentation, our event spaces are flexible enough to satisfy any need.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Derek

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 193
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RMS2012
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Feb 2, 2012

Very noisey from I-610

Stay away from this hotel. Rooms on the front side of the hotel get way too much noise from cars and trucks passing by on I-610. There are many other better choices in the Galleria area. Wired and wireless Internet also did not work. I had to use my tethered Android phone as a back up for Internet service on my laptop

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
n. r
Business
la
Aug 24, 2012

An experience I will not forget.

During my stay the power went out around 7:40 AM I was in my room thinking the power will soon be restored. After waiting 2 hours I decided to get out of the room and try to use the Fire Escape since no elevators were working. I was staying on the 5th floor. As I opened the Exit to enter the Fire Escape I realized they were no lights and it was dark and the doors will not stay open to give me some light, With my I phone I tried to make it to the next floor and all the time yelling for help, as I approached the 2nd floor I heard a noise and they also responded. It was the kitchen of the hotel and someone had opened the kitchen door when I realized I hade made it crawling to the second. It was a night mare I don't want to live again. As I approached the front desk I found out that the hotel had only one generator for emergency and that one had stop working also. The stairs had no Emergency light to guide the people who tried to escape. I thank God that I was capable to escape but in the event there was a fire and people were trying to move through with children or old adults, this would have been a total disaster. The Hotel has violated many Fire codes and I will never stay again .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Nov 10, 2009

Hidden charges.

Most of my concerns in travelling to his hotel was thier "pre auth" hold on 100$ per night and no self park, the 20$ a night needed to aprk your vehicle if you were driving was not optional, [...]As such I was short about $400 for my planned weekend trip because of this oversight. I don't believe I'll be staying at hotel derek again as it's nothing special and not wroth the hassle and loss of extra funds(which btw get returned 3-5 days after checkout.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Oct 7, 2007

Not what I expected

The hotel was nothing like I imagined. It began with parking options, there was only one valet, which would be fine, but I was in and out of the hotel constantly and that became a pain. My room was designed nicely, but there was a hole in the drop ceiling in the shower- on my last night my smoke alarm began to go off at 3 am. The hotel offered nothing to help you stay (without a hefty price tag, the razors were $6) If it wasn't for the staff, mainly security, I would have demanded some sort of compensation (other things happened valet couldn't find my car, and I missed an appt and I never got a sorry) I would not stay there again, but would like to thank night security for saving my night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 14, 2008

My review of Hotel Derek

I did not like that we had to leave the day after the hurricane with no where to go. They said we would be refunded our money, but it took me 3 weeks to even get through.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Galleria is across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Monica
May 25, 2008

Hotel was alright

No room in hotel has windows that open, hence AC for 3 nights was tough. Hotel staff is not 100% on service oriented. Nice rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Massive mall, about 1/4 mile away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 10, 2008

very guest friendly

THE DEREK WAS A BIT DISAPPOINTMENT THE STAFF WAS EXCELLENT HAD TO COMPLAIN ABOUT THE NOISE ABOVE MY ROOM THE CLERK KNEW MY COMPLAINT BEFORE I COMPLAINED SO WHY WOULD I GIVEN THIS ROOM TO BEGAN WITH WAS GIVEN A SECOND ROOM THAT HAD NOT BEEN CLEANED AFTER MOVING TO A THIRD ROOM JUST WANTED TO GET TO SLEEP AND GET OUT OF THIS PLACE OTHER HOTELS IN THE AREA GIVE A LOT BETTER SERVICE WILL NOT BE STAYING AT THE DEREK A SECOND TIME.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
aby
Business
miami
Jul 4, 2009

morless

I forgot a new cd drive that I bought in best buy and when I call they did'nt find it, and I am poitive that I left it, I cold not come back to the hotel because I was going to loose mi flight, but housekeeping told me that they did not find it, and is a lie

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Anaheim ,CA
Mar 29, 2010

ReviewI

It was too loud and the only other complaint I have is the water doesnt get very hot

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jdinark
Business
little rock, arkansas
Mar 9, 2009

tired makeover

I will start with the negatives. If the rooms matched up with the lobby it would have been great. However as with most of these makeover hotels the room itself remains a poorly disguised holiday inn and an old one at that. The hotel is very noisy from the traffic on the interstate to the guests it attracts ( I was there from Friday to Monday). The pillows are hard as rocks and between the road noise and that it makes it very hard to get a good nights sleep. The pluses are the price and location. It is a bargain hotel and its proximity to Houston shopping is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top