$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 13, 2015 Check-out: Jun 14, 2015

Hotel Derek

4 stars
View map of 2525 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Derek

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
195 out of 195
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelerT
Business
New Britain, CT, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Great Hotel

I went in not expecting as nice and trendy of a hotel as I got. The room was huge and comfortable, the staff great, and asides from a somewhat small bathroom, the place was significantly beyond the value amount I paid for it. I love the wrap around couch to boot. Definitely a good place to stay, especially with the great location. Only draw back to the location is the traffic when trying to enter/exit the hotel lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Couples Night Out...
Business
Houston, Texas
Apr 28, 2010

Nice...but i expected more.

I just expected more. Its nice, but based on all the hype I have heard regarding the hotel, I just expected more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Mar 9, 2008

Great Location

We found this location to be very convenient for a weekend visit. We were able to get many places quickly and easily, and many stores, resturants, sites and restuarants were not far away, we did not have to always get on the highway system. The Bed was comfy with the big down comforter. Only 2 DVD players available for the whole hotel, and we did not get one when we requested one upon check-in. Staff very friendly always, minus one front desk person--he needs to be in a position that does not require conversation. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Paso, Texas
Apr 24, 2011

Not worth the price

I stayed at Hotel Derek for one night. I was surprised to find out there was no parking, and you have to pay valet parking of $20 if I wanted to park my vehicle. Although my room was very clean, it had a connecting door, which my next room neighbor kept trying to open. The wall were very thin and I could hear my neighbors arguing, slamming doors, and returning at 2:30 a.m. I was also disappointed to find that the hotel expected us to pay for anything in the hotel- even a first aid kit! Most hotels will offer razors or other small amenities if you ask for him, but not this one! Needless to say, too expensive for what I got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Galleria, is just across the highway

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AmyLynnSchex
Business
Lafayette, LA
Mar 29, 2011

Nice, Excellent Service

this is my go-to Hotel in Houston - I never stay anywhere else! Always good price, always great service - plus it's in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The galleria is only a couple blocks away - plus they have a shuttle, in case you just don't want to walk - or you spend too much to carry back!

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shopping Partner
Business
Tyler, TX
Mar 30, 2011

Great Stay

Hotel was in perfect location for our trip. I had to do a little business while my wife went shopping at the Galleria. We also went shopping down the road on Westheimer.Also, there were plenty of eating places close to hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shopping and eating go left form hotel on Westheimer.

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Paso, Texas
Jun 25, 2010

More pros than cons on

I traveled two days (one-night stay) on business. I was impressed by the room service food, the friendly staff and valet guys, the clean and modern room, and great comfy bed. I was disappointed at the pool hours (only 8 to 8). Another CON was the slow drain in the shower. That was BAD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cassan
Business
Austin
Sep 19, 2011

Derek

Fantastic location if you need to be in the Galleria area. If you need to go to midtown, expect cab rides from 12-15 dollars - which I did not love - but just a heads up. Parking overnight is $19 pn - unless you have a hybrid - I really appreciated the half off for the hybrid. The bar crowd was not great. The bar could be made to be a little cozier - seemed TGIFriday or Chilli's like - not swanky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RyanBrown76
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Mar 14, 2011

It was OK . . . a deal in the Galleria

Overall a nice boutique hotel -- maintenance and upkeep was poor, most everything else was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Oct 10, 2010

Comfortable and a great location

We had breakfast in bed; the kids loved it. The food was excellent and hot. It was expensive, but nonetheless a nice splurge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The room service breakfast was delicious.

Back to menu Return to top