$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 18, 2015 Check-out: Apr 19, 2015

Hotel Derek

4 stars
View map of 2525 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Derek

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
175 out of 175
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 10, 2008

very guest friendly

THE DEREK WAS A BIT DISAPPOINTMENT THE STAFF WAS EXCELLENT HAD TO COMPLAIN ABOUT THE NOISE ABOVE MY ROOM THE CLERK KNEW MY COMPLAINT BEFORE I COMPLAINED SO WHY WOULD I GIVEN THIS ROOM TO BEGAN WITH WAS GIVEN A SECOND ROOM THAT HAD NOT BEEN CLEANED AFTER MOVING TO A THIRD ROOM JUST WANTED TO GET TO SLEEP AND GET OUT OF THIS PLACE OTHER HOTELS IN THE AREA GIVE A LOT BETTER SERVICE WILL NOT BE STAYING AT THE DEREK A SECOND TIME.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Big City Lights Mike
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jun 16, 2007

My review of Hotel Derek

The valet parking was extremely poor. The rooms appeared out dated, and the bathroom was small. There were stains on the carpet and furniture. The location is conveniently close to the freeway and within walking distance of the mall. I felt that this was the hotels best asset. My expectations for this hotel were pretty high, but unfortunately were not lived up to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

An upscale shopping mall is located near the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Feb 15, 2010

Not impressed...

We went for a Valentine's weekend. You can ONLY valet your car ($20 a night they don't tell you about online). The shuttle was supposed to be available till 2:00 a.m. but was not. Housekeeping knocked on the door THREE times before our check out time. Called valet from our room and they didn't get our car until we got downstairs with the claim check.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Autumnly
Business
Yukon
Apr 6, 2015

Gross

We booked this hotel at the last minute for a charity event that was happening close by in the Galleria. The room was obviously dated, they had attempted to update it, but it was cheaply done (still dark and popcorn ceiling). We had one meal at the restaurant, but the service was horribly slow. Our friends had booked their room with a groupon, we weren't so fortunate. I would not stay there again unless it was free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
aby
Business
miami
Jul 4, 2009

morless

I forgot a new cd drive that I bought in best buy and when I call they did'nt find it, and I am poitive that I left it, I cold not come back to the hotel because I was going to loose mi flight, but housekeeping told me that they did not find it, and is a lie

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
Aug 10, 2010

great for a trip with pets

Iloved the hotel but the pictures made pool look alot bigger then it was. I was not happy with the pool area at all also it is blocked by building so it gets no sun. Staff was very nice room was beautiful and they really are pet friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

alot of local shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rojer
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jun 27, 2012

One night stand

Hotel was a bit pricey and valet parking is a pain, since the parking garage is adjacent to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Le Peep for breakfast is 2 doors down on Westheimer

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Txvirago
Business
New Mexico
Dec 4, 2012

Beware of parking costs!

Overall our stay at Hotel Derek was pleasant. The location with relationship to shopping (The Galleria is within walking distance) is fabulous. MY BIG COMPLAINT is the cost for mandatory valet parking that is not listed anywhere. The cost is $20/day. I booked this hotel because of the value and was definitely not happy with an additional $60 plus tax in parking my car over night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Galleria I, II, and III.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JIMJAM1
Business
Houston, Texas
Sep 30, 2013

Thought is would be better

It took forever to be helped by valet. Front desk girl wasn't nice. Came in late due to flight delay & restaurant was already closed. Pool was closed due to renovation. Sheets where not soft. Average stay for travel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston
May 11, 2010

Not Impressed

This hotel is in a great location, but besides that, I felt it was over priced, in every other area. The rooms are nothing special at all, and very small. You get way overcharged for parking more than one car, so make sure everyone rides together.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top